You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 44: See || Hear || Feel - Win HIVE

Oh man! 'Sophies choice' almost!

I am blind as a bat without my glasses already so can possibly empathise with this to a degree, but not at all to the degree of total and utter blindness. I have experienced marked hearing decline over the last couple of years due to working in a noisy factory, even with ear protection and am having a lot of frustration at not quite catching entire conversations, or the nuance of lower register conversation.

But the idea of not feeling a hug from those most important to me, that's unthinkable! I am dangerously close to abstaining from a choice and being like a rebellious politician who will not vote in favour of a paycut, even though the country and the people are going to shit and have nothing...

I am gonna deflatedly choose to have a hearingectomy and hope that I have enough amazing music tracks memorised inside my head to play out the soundtrack to my life whenever I need them because the idea of living without music or my family's voices is a tough decision.

Let's all hope that the ravages of ageing spare us total loss of any of our senses even though we know there will likely be a decline in some of them. We really do need the combination of them all to live a full and fruitful life. I'm sure many will feel a surge of gratitude for the simple things in life that are actually not simple at all when contemplating this topic. Maybe also contemplate the lives of those not as fortunate but who have adapted in as many ways as they can to enjoy life to the fullest.

Happy weekend to you all, may it be one that sees you make the very most of all 5 senses alongside a liberal dose of fun, family, friends and fulfilment. 👍😎

Sort:  

So did you tell us which sense you'd shitcan? I'm not sure what I just read. Point it out to me would'ya!

I am gonna deflatedly choose to have a hearingectomy 👈👈👈

Jeez do I have to do all the heavy lifting for ya Days?

I am gonna deflatedly choose to have a hearingectomy? 👈

Do you see it now, already given up the eyesight??? Blink once for y...

Gahhh why bother, sometimes I think I'm the only one with any professionalism round here... mumbles incoherently while exiting the fray...

Blink once for y has never been so funny in my life! If I had to explain why I'm laughing right now they'd never understand.

THIS! 👆☝

Literally how I feel about the internal monologue or scenario of events being played out in my head constantly... Like ya say Brother, they'd never understand... ((Even after I explain)).

Lol he writes quite the long comments sometimes but that's the fun part about him!

I think loss of hearing is a popular choice and makes sense but there's arguments against it too. Let's hope we never have to choose huh?

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Yeah I think losing ones hearing could be manageable if you have a decent sound track to live your life by! I can say that the best music is probably behind us, so not listening to any of the horse shit that comes out nowadays is probably a good thing lol.

I think I would go mad though, only hearing my own voice inside my head! I hear it enough as it is lol

I can say that the best music is probably behind us.

Haha I was actually thinking that when I wrote it lol. I always have a tune whirling round in my head, so think the internal sound system would still work.

I think I would go mad though, only hearing my own voice inside my head! I hear it enough as it is lol

This made me laugh, I say to my family and workmates all the time, you think you have it bad, you can walk away from me, I can't. Even when I sleep I cannot switch this bloody annoying voice off!