Useful Tools I'm Using

in Programming & Dev4 years ago

This is just a short list of programs that I use while/for programming. Useful for me in the future and you might get something out of it too. Not all are just directly related to programming, some are just peace of life things and I wanted to compile into this list because they relate in some way.

Pretty Much The Entire Jetbrains Suite

https://www.jetbrains.com/

I use Webstorm and Pycharm pretty frequently. Very good IDE's for their respective languages. I've got some of the other ones installed and launch them up every once in a while(mainly IDEA as well). Its like VSCode but the plugins are already installed. I find them very easy to use and it makes setup for projects immensely easy. I use VSCode as well, but for large projects, I'll take one of the JetBrains IDE any day.

Mac Media Key Forwarder

http://milgra.com/downloads/mmkf/

This is only for apple users, but if you want the audio keys to ALWAYS route to Spotify while its open, this is a life saver. Thanks to @someguy123 for telling me about this. Being able to always hit pause and it pauses the song instead of pausing the youtube video I launched up is amazing.

Macdown

https://macdown.uranusjr.com/

I end up needing to write markdown files. VSCode works well enough, but this is a lot better. If you are on Catalina(Shitlina as @someguy123 says) don't use 0.7.2. It has some issues and the entire program flashes when you press any key. I use 0.7.1 myself and 0.7.3 is out but I'm not going to update just because this works good enough for me.

VSCode

https://code.visualstudio.com/

Marky praises it a lot, Deathwing won't switch to any other IDE. It's good and useful. I love it for smaller projects and quickly editing a file. I don't have it setup too much but if I spent the time, I could get it similar to the IDEs I use. It's good and only getting better. Its probably the only thing from MSFT that I don't hear a lot of complaints about. Hell, I don't think I've even heard a single complaint on it.

MYSQL Workbench

https://www.mysql.com/products/workbench/

I use mysql often enough and I need to access it and this has been a good way to do so. I've also got Datagrip from JetBrains but haven't gotten around to trying that out yet and so for now this is my go to for anything SQL related.

Postman

https://www.postman.com/

Anything API related goes straight to postman. It makes it insanely easy and effective to do any sort of request. Plus it saves old queries so I can instantly go back to them instead of having to refill out the data. This is especially useful for going back to an older project that I've forgotten how it works.

Github Desktop

https://desktop.github.com/

Git kraken is more powerful, but for a simple desktop git ui I love GitHub desktop. Makes integration with git very easy. Just select what you want to commit and hit push.

Termius

https://termius.com/

This is very much worth paying for. Its makes SSH and SFTP very easy. It sync up with my phone/other devices on their paid plan and I'm quite fond of that. Simple to connect to my servers without needing to pull up the password or specify the location of my private key every single time. I love the built in SFTP as well and don't need to deal with filezilla wanting to tell me to update every single time I open it.


This list is definitely not done. I'll be adding to it with time and things will get replaced(just about a year ago I wouldn't have termius, Macdown, Mac Media Key FOrwarder, and the Jetbrains Suite in here and would have added in a few other tools). I like finding new cool things to play with so make your comments.

Sort:  

Your current Rank (107) in the battle Arena of Holybread has granted you an Upvote of 67%

JetBrains sucks.

Why do you say that?

Too confusing, terrible UI. Especially for Spaces. Atlassian wins.

I love their UI haha, everything is there but can be tucked away if you aren't using it.

Spaces is a bit different. What does Atlassian have other than JIRA?

Congratulations @rishi556! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4500 replies. Your next target is to reach 4750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
Update for regular authors

OhMyZsh terminal awesomeness. https://ohmyz.sh/

I use that too, love the way it shows git.

I use Github Desktop too! 😅
I mean why force myself to use it by writing commands in the Terminal if I'm already used to the simple UI?

Firefox now supports media keys so this is a problem for me...

image.png

I'm on windows though so not gonna be so useful to me.

Most of these tools I use myself. Thanks for sharing with the programming community!

The Jetbrains suite I started using because of you. Someguy is an influence on a lot of these.

Have you tried Sublime Text? What's your experience with it? I found it's pretty good compared to VSCode. Often due to too much extensions, I find VSCode distracting for myself. Still I find it hard to choose between Sublime Text and VSCode.

I did, but didn't really like it. I went from sublime to atom to vs code. I liked each one more and more and now I use VSCode and the JetBrains ide.