Working With Others - Communication

in Programming & Dev4 years ago

Working with others becomes a pretty necessary part of programming. One of which I've been doing a lot of recently and thought I'd share one part of my experience.

Screen Shot 20200825 at 12.12.23 AM.png
Some code. I own the image. Took a screenshot off a project of mine.

Unless you like doing everything for yourself and can somehow make a living off that(in which case can we switch lives?), you'll have to end up working with others. Others can be friends, coworkers, or complete strangers on the internet that you are willing to share private keys to accounts holding some crypto.

Communication is key. Start up with a plan before you write a single damn line of code. You'll end up wasting a ton of time by not properly communicating. You might have done your part correctly, but be forced to wait nearly an eternity because the React developer out there didn't design their system as envisioned by you, and so you are waiting for them to fix their stuff to meet specs before you continue working and have taken up and finished other projects during that time as well as have deiced to write some blogs. Also for some stupid reason they chose React, the language of the gods that no mortal should ever touch, which you learn first hand by touching it and getting burnt.

It's hard getting your exact ideas onto words, especially when you don't live in the same time zones and neither of you is the best at explaining. But do try your best and create some user scenarios, as it does seem to have worked for me.

Talk about what you are going to do, so you don't double up the time doing the same thing. Talking helps a lot. Thats my biggest point of this entire article. Have good communication with your team and it helps you tons. If not, it hurts you as you guys might be working on separate things that won't link up together at all.

Sort:  

Ah, wise words I'll definitely take into consideration once I start working on projects with other people.

It's fun and different from working by yourself. I usually enjoy it, especially since the people I work with(most of them anyways) are willing to be jokey and aren't so serious which makes it a lot more fun.

You might have done your part correctly, but be forced to wait nearly an eternity because the React developer out there didn't design their system as envisioned by you

Oh, I didn't realise you never had to change your code, mr good caching system with many game support...

Also, didn't you say you were going to stop slagging me off because you tried react and never wanted to go back. Also, you promised to do the work for me, so I don't see the issue here:

image.png

Thanks for posting in the Programming Community.

What? How tf do you duel in programming 😅🤣

😂😂😂 lol

Some parts of this post were written before I attempted react.

Back into the React Gulag with you!

We have learned WireFrames for the front-end help a lot.

and an active discord channel just for "talking"

We also just built in JIRA issue logging to our coding, this lets anyone on the team login to JIRA and tackle an issue they see.

It appears you're not very fond of React. What do you prefer? I don't like it much either and use VueJs for lots of my works. Recently I did some work in plain JS as well. It was a bit more challenging and fun.

I hate UI in general. It makes no sense and it just seems like its a bunch of stupid fixes that themselves are needed because of your other stupid fix to another problem. (Is this correct @cadawg?) I rarely work with UIs and when I do, I use pure html/css(HA, maybe like 1 line, Bulma is my go to)/JS(the easy part). Backend is so much better. Just deal with logic instead of trying to beautify stuff :)

Yeah, frontend is fucky.

Fair enough. I, on the other hand, do not like working a lot at the backend simply because I'm not very good at it. I can get the job done but it would probably be spaghetti. I like working with designs, user interactions, consuming APIs, all those stuff. :)