An Inkwell Prompt story: The Magical Camera

in The Ink Well2 years ago (edited)

Hello. This is my first time entering the inkwell prompt or posting on the community in general, I decided to enter this prompt because I really like the prompt.
So here is my story I hope you enjoy...

The Magical Camera.

camera-820018__480.webp
source
My ear goes banging early in the morning due to the alarm clock next to my bed. Still half a sleep I am able to stand up but I soon fall back down due to my weak legs. I decide to just sleep for another couple of minutes,but just as i am about to close my eyes I look at the time and realize that it is nearly 9:00am.

I quickly dash to the bathroom and freshen my self up as I think how mad my boss would be, this time I would get fired for sure. I rush my cereal and burst out the door with my coffee in my hand. I attempt to drink it while still running in order to catch the bus.

I finally get to it and take a seat inside. I sat next to an old man who looked at me. I tried to avoid eye contact and started to think of the consequences of waking up this late. I could not afford to lose this job I only nearly managed to get employed.

I began to feel very uncomfortable as the man continued to stare I was about to break out and yell at the man to cut it out. But we had already reached my stop so I just grab my side bag and rush out the bus and cross the street to see my boss outside on a call.

As I got there he hang up his call. I wanted to say something, but decided to just proceed inside the building but he stopped me. I couldn't tell if he was mad or he just wanted to chit chat, but whatever it was I knew it would not be good. He told me then to leave that I was fired . In the mist of my disbelief I could only hear that he said I'm on fire. But I was told to leave immediately.

I left the building almost crying why would a a grown man cry? So what lost you're job get a new one you might say. But that was the only job that could accept me and I screwed it up.

Later in the night....

I was left sort of felling ashamed coming to ask my friend mark for help but he too wasn't even able to help me.

I walked back home while the rain poured down on my coat I decided to wait it out suiting on a bench under some shade.

Then all of a sudden I felt that same discomfort I felt earlier... I looked to my right to find the exact same man from earlier on the bus.

old-man-6939927__480.jpg
source
At this point I was starting to get a feeling of fear how did this man get here?, has he been following me?, I would have noticed if he was.

Before I could ask him any of these questions he stood up from the bench and walked away. I noticed that he left something on the bench so I decided to try and take it back to him, but I then realized that he was gone I looked around and couldn't find him.

I then noticed that the thing he left was a camera. I looked into the lenses of it and took a picture....

Instantly it felt like I was transported and when I opened my eyes I was in bed again.

I stood up unsure if that was just all a dream, but I then saw the camera the same camera next to me. I couldn't even very recall what happened. Assuming it was a dream I stood up and repeated the same actions although this time on the bus the man wasn't next to me. And when i got to work I was told to get inside. This was strange indeed, then that gave me even more confirmation that it was just a dream but then how did I get that camera?

Was I drunk last night I don't remember drinking. A dream was the only solution I could think off.

*Later in the night"

I came back from work and settled down on my couch. I saw the camera next to me where i had left it in the morning. And to test my theory that this was indeed a dream I would have to take another picture. Though the idea sort of scares me a bit, I decided to do it.

I picked up the camera looked through the lenses and pressed the button and took a picture
rain-5917792__480.jpg

source
And as before I felt like I was transported back to the exact same place where I took the first picture in the rain on the sidewalk on the night holding the camera. What was this was I dreaming of me dreaming? No this was all real but how?.

For days I tried to see how this could be possible, and I continued to try to take pictures and I continued to come back and fort from the two different situations of my life.
I concluded that it must be that this camera somehow literally let's me see and participate in life through a different angle, through a different lens.
End

I hope you excel in whatever you do.

Sort:  

interesting and the last lines are really impressive 💪

😀

Thanks

Welcome to The Ink Well @exceltogaming, you write a very nice story as debut here in the community.

A very good implementation of the prompt with the magical camera and the lens that guy uses to change his world.

Now that you're here, please have a look around and get to know how our community works. You can find our community rules at the top of The Ink Well home page. We ask everyone who posts in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other writers' work in the community for every story published.

Engagement through comments helps you and the community to grow and thrive.

Welcome again, we look forward to read more of your stories.

Thank you.
I'll try my best to abide by the community's rules.

I like yor writing @exceltogaming, and your first story in here was very interesting.

I'd love me such a magical camera, it can solve so many troubles. 🙂

Lovely and interesting story. Welcome to The Ink Well!

Keep on writing!

Thank you very much.

Don't we all wish that😂

Yes indeed, we all do. 😁

Congratulations @exceltogaming! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Our Hive Power Delegations to the February PUM Winners
Today is the beginning of a new Hive Power Up Month!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Amazing one, it was quite the thrill to read.

Thank you glad you liked it.

Yo, welcome to the Ink Well! The mods are great and give great feedback. If you wanna improve as a writer this is the place to be. 👍

But I see you already have a good grasp of things - this was a really solid showing. The use of the prompt was great, and your writing just kinda flows. The only critique I'd give is that your punctuation needs work in several places. You know the story you wanna tell, and you know how to tell, now it's time to understand the reader's side of things. 🙂

If you want I can give you detailed examples of which sections I'd sproosen up with some better punctuation. But if you're serious about getting better, you should be able to identify those areas.

Anyways, have a good one and I hope to see you improve! 🍻

Thanks very much yeah I noticed those areas thanks for pointing it out.

Welcome to The Ink Well, @exceltogaming. Fantastic story. I really enjoyed it! You have an excellent story premise, and write well. The metaphor of the lens for seeing life through different angles is great. I hope you continue to share your stories in The Ink Well!

One tip for you: In the context of one story, it's best to write in present tense as you do in the beginning, or in past tense as you do in various places in the story. In other words, you don't want to switch back and forth between present and past tense writing. It's confusing for the reader. Here is where you first switch from one to the other:

I finally get to it and take a seat inside. I sat next to an old man who looked at me.

For consistency, you would want to write "I sit next to an old man who looks at me." And then maintain the present tense throughout. I hope that helps you with future stories!

Thanks for tip!

Happy to help!