The New World (Short Story)

in The Ink Welllast year (edited)

I came up with the idea for this story this morning. I was outside lost in thought as a man zoomed past on one of those E-Scooters, the thing that stood out to me though was the fact that he was in his late 60s; instantly, I thought of this general idea and when I got a chance to start writing, it morphed into this story.



Source


Act - 1 - Will be replaced soon.


Source

Act - 2 - Will be replaced soon.


Source

Act - 3 - Will be replaced soon.

Sort:  

Doro is a man that many readers could not help but to love. A widowed man in turbulent times, technology changing the genetic capabilities of those around him... You take a classic tale of 'the grumpy old man' and give it a fresh spin here, with plenty of grit to match the glamour of this futuristic world! The range of emotions you carry us through is seamless, your descriptions and character development are stunning! Thank you for sharing this fascinating story with us, and for your engagement with other members of the community.

I think that's one of the nicest and most thoughtful comments I've received on one of my stories, thank you so much. I'm so happy I was able to capture a few ranges of emotions while going through Doro's day.

Yeah, 100%, when I saw the older guy riding his E-Scooter it popped into my head about an older guy living in a futuristic sci-fi world, and I couldn't help but imagine what kind of gripes they might have with their world/ society, and also, what kind of challenges would they go through.

I found writing for him a bit of a challenge because I didn't want to be insensitive and I wanted to do him justice. I also found it a challenge because I've never tackled writing for a significantly older character, but I think it paid off. Writing short stories, based around certain characters is great for world-building/ exploration, but most importantly, practicing writing in different voices.

Thanks again for your encouraging words and review of this story, I'm glad you liked it!

Hey man! It was awesome to see your story on The Ink Well feed! Hope you come by for a prompt sometime if you're looking for inspo ever! :)

This story straight up breaks my heart, but... I tend to really like that in a story, so that's not a complaint by any means !LOLZ 🤣

Very real subject matter here, robotic enhancements could easily be a cell phone or whatever... so many elders bitterly resist the change in times, trying to hold onto what they know. You detailed that so well here, from the intro, to the description of his pad being more beat up than before... Just wicked well done!

Thanks for sharing 😁!LUV !PIZZA

What did the retired detective call his new real-estate business?
Sherlock Homes.

Credit: reddit
@killerwot, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @grindan

(4/4)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

Thanks so much for the words of encouragement. The idea just popped into my head when I saw the old guy riding an E-scooter, I was thinking to myself that I've never actually written for an older character, and I was trying to do it to the best of my ability, without being too silly about it.

I don't think there are many science fiction stories told from the perspective of an old character, I mean, obviously, they'd be somewhat used to their futuristic city as it wouldn't change all that rapidly in fifty years or so, but it was fun to think of that perspective, considering how some people can't handle the advances we've made.

Yeah, this is the first time in a while writing in The Ink Well, I focused more on Scholar and Scribe when I was writing serial content, but for the last while I've been writing short standalone stories set in the same world, not only to expand on it but also to practice different voices in a way. I'm glad you liked it, and for sure, I'll join one of the prompts!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
grindan tipped killerwot (x1)
@killerwot(5/10) tipped @arduilcelebren (x1)

It is fascinating how this story transports us to that futuristic city full of chaos and technology Between the lines it can be interpreted that no matter how advanced the society, we will always be human with defects and virtues. Wonderful story, something worthy of a book.
Thanks for sharing.
Good day.

Wow, that means a lot and I'm glad you were able to take some enjoyment out of this one. I'm a big science fiction fan and love big worlds that kind of show a darker side to humanity. I don't know if we'll ever live in some utopia - as nice as it would be - because I think no matter how far we come as a species we'll always have that underlining issue of greed and cruelty. Not everyone, but some of us, and realistically, it can only take one person to ruin your day.

You are quite right in that human beings will continue to preserve our animal instincts despite the fact that a utopia may be consolidated.

You have a talent for writing keep going!
Good day.

Great story. Very captivating.

Thank you very much.

Congratulations, @killerwot! Your story has been chosen as one of the best of the week and is part of the highlighted author magazine #99.
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@theinkwell/the-ink-well-highlights-magazine-99

Thank you so much, I'm sorry for the delayed response, but that means so much to me! I found this one a lot of fun to write, and I'm glad you liked it enough to add it to the author highlights list.

Pictures are amazing. I can just want to point that out. They've helped me a lot on imagining things 🙏👏👏👏

I also love it when he is bleeding and still making political comments about the guns ahahah that cracked me unexpectedly 😄👏👏

Hahaha thanks so much, I'm glad you got a buzz out of this one.

I found it a challenge, because I've never written for a significantly old character, and I think making him a bit cantankerous really worked to set his mood and the overall tone.

Thanks again for you comment, I'm glad you liked it!

!PIZZA