The Mantra Is YOLO

in The Ink Welllast month (edited)

Generated by me using BingAI

"Liam..." she stood frozen in the doorway, her voice trying so hard not to reveal her emotions.

Liam turned his head slowly, his eyes meeting hers with a mixture of surprise and sadness.

"Maya?" he said, his voice barely more than a hoarse whisper. "Is that really you?"

Maya nodded, "mhmm". She murmured, unable to speak past the lump in her throat. She only stared at Liam who lay in the hospital bed, looking so frail and pale, he was nothing like the vibrant boy she remembered from high school. She couldn't take her eyes off the man she was once happy he was her man. She couldn't believe how much he had changed from terminal sickness. She also couldn't control the emotions lodged within her from escaping.

"What are you doing here?" Liam asked again. This time a heartfelt smile on his face.

"To see you?"

Liam studied her for a moment, his eyes searching her face as if to find the truth. Then, with a ghost of a smile, he asked, "See me? Well, are you here to see me, Maya, or are you really gonna stand at that door all day?"

Tears welled up in Maya's eyes as she crossed the room to his bedside. "I'm here, Liam," she said, taking his hand in hers. "I'm here."

Liam managed a weak smile. "Thanks for coming."

Maya nodded. She let her eyes drift in his small ward, trying so hard not to stare him in the eyes so as not to get emotional. He was surrounded by medical equipment and photographs of happier times.

There was silence.

"Did you get my flowers?" Liam asked.

"So it was you?"

"Hmmm"

"Why did you have to send them anonymously for years?*

"Because I didn't know if you still despised me for years over a mistake I made in highschool. I really did regret my actions. I shouldn't have slept with Jenny".

"Can we not talk about that?" Maya said, trying not to open fresh wounds.

"I wish I could make things better now and make it up to you."

"Shh Liam," Maya said softly, taking his hand in hers. "I'm so sorry too. I wish there was something I could do to help"

Another silence.

"What if there was?" Liam asked gently, looking her straight to the eye.

"Something like?" Maya returned the look.

Liam hesitated, then took a deep breath. "Do you still remember all the things I told you I wanted to do back in highschool. All the places I wanted to see, all the adventures I wanted to have. And now...now.. maybe I have limited time left for a few of it"

Maya felt a lump form in her throat. She knew what Liam was getting at. She remembered his bucket list and his mantra YOLO (YOU ONLY LIVE ONCE) which made him live recklessly. That even got him in his present condition. And now it seems like he wanted to live his remaining days to the fullest, to tick off every item on his bucket list before it was too late.

"Yes Liam… yes I remember"

"But how can I do any of that when I'm stuck here, tethered to this hospital bed?" Liam said, frustration creeping into his voice. "We don't know if there's an afterlife. So why don't I just live this one to the fullest. Remember Maya, you only live once" he repeated his mantra again

Maya's heart ached for him. She wanted to help, to make his final days as memorable as possible. But she also knew that she had responsibilities of her own. Bills to pay, a job to keep, a life to lead.

"I wish there was something I could do," Maya said, her voice barely above a whisper.

Liam looked at her then, his eyes bright with determination. "There is something you can do, Maya. You can help me live out my dreams. You can come with me."

Maya's jaw dropped. Yes she lived reckless too but ehe had never considered such a thing. Leaving everything behind to go on an adventure with a sick man? It was madness, a risk she wasn't sure of.

"But Liam, I can't just drop everything and go gallivanting off into the sunset with you," Maya protested.

"Why not?" Liam challenged. "You only live once, Maya. Don't you want to make the most of it?"

Maya didn't have an answer. She felt torn between her sense of duty and her desire to honor Liam's final wishes. Could she really leave everything behind to go on this crazy adventure for a few days? Did she have it in her to be so bold, so reckless?

"If I can recall Maya, most of those items were on your bucket list too, and you haven't ticked anyone" Liam paused, holding her hands. "Please Maya"

She looked at their interlocked hands and to Liam, she could see fire burning in his eyes, just like the days he played for the soccer team in highschool. He wasn't ready to give up, not yet. Neither was she. And that was exactly the reason she loved or still loves Liam. Even though it's been years they've been apart.

"Okay," Maya said, her voice steady despite the turmoil raging inside her. "Okay, Liam. You're right. You only live once. Let's do it. Let's go on this crazy adventure together." she squeezed Liam's hand. "But, what's the plan, Liam?"

Liam's eyes sparkled with determination. This was what he was good at coming up with plans for adventures like this "Well, the nurse administers my drugs every twelve hours. So, we could take that time frame to go see the Lakers play for a start. It's about a three-hour journey by road before the game starts. We'll make it back in time for my next treatment, and nobody will even notice we are gone."

Maya's eyes widened in surprise. "That's brilliant! But what about after that? What about our bigger adventures? Remember it requires travelling the world "

Liam grinned mischievously. "We'll speak to the doctor about how we can make it work. I won't miss my treatment, Maya. But we'll find a way to jet off and see the world together."

Maya felt a surge of excitement and responsibility wash over her. She was glad to help Liam live his last wishes on Earth.

"We can do this, Liam," Maya said, her voice filled with determination. "Together."

And with that, they began to plan their first adventure, their first step towards embracing the mantra of "you only live once" and making every moment count.

Sort:  

Awwww
Maya was such a lovely woman who helped the sick Liam filled his dream.
I’m glad Liam had a good time, sure it was his time and we only live once

Hello @marriot5464,
The story is written well. You capture the scene with detailed descriptions. We understand the motivation of each character. However, it is difficult for us to make the leap and understand how this couple could realize Liam's plan.

Most readers have been in the hospital, or have had relatives who were in the hospital. Twelve hours between treatments--usually that means someone is hooked up to an IV. And twelve hours between treatments means the patient will be very sick in that time. Are the treatments without side effects? It's a terminal illness. One would imagine the treatments are powerful. And, Maya will leave everything behind, drop her life and obligations for this man she hasn't seen for years? This is a hard premise for readers to accept, and generally readers have to believe in the underlying theme of a story.

Thank you for sharing this with us, @marriot5464. It was an interesting, engaging read.