You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ask the Hive: What communities would you like to see kickstarted on Hive?

in Ask the Hive3 years ago

No worries, was caught off guard as I couldn't see all the comments on hive.blog but noticed the amount of them just now. Probably cause I muted teknow some time ago due to constant pessimism. Like yes, we get it, there are still issues, account creation is still a bit flaky some times, learning curve is still a bit steep depending on which dapp you start off with and people seem to get tired over time, with that I mean curators. Seems there's a need for constant fresh blood to be incentivized to go out and look for genuine new users to curate that don't start off on communities directly. On top of it all there is so much abuse and plag attempts that just taint it for newcomers chances of being seen and given the benefit of the doubt and adding so much extra work to curators to do background checks before they curate them. It's a lot to think about and I keep wondering how it can be improved - and don't get me wrong, I'm one of those who usually thinks "vote first - check later", as I'm not someone who cares about maximizing rewards or don't want to risk unvoting/downvoting what we've voted up. There's hivewatchers and others getting paid to make sure they track them down so it shouldn't always be on the curators to check that a post and account are legit but then there's also the "if you feed them and they see they can get away with some rewards here and there before they are caught they will keep trying and multiplying".

Anyway, I think communities will be a nice defense against this but the biggest issue right now is lack of consumption and engagement. It's like we've built this amazing platform that works well and can scale well but too few are daring to enter to try it out and many I've invited literally tell me I must be joking cause it sounds too good to be true considering all advantages we have here so they don't bother trying.

But yeah, be my guest. Will have to read all this in the morning though as it's getting late here and I just did a voting round of the communities.

Sort:  

Well I wont go into to many details since I left about a dozen and a half books across your page. I'm sure it must have been confusing with a muted user in the debate! More less what I was eluding to, there are flaws but many aspects are not considered because we are too focused on our own individual vison rather than try to see things from someone else's perspective...like an iceberg. There is a lot of moving parts.

However I think the marketing is going in the wrong direction as far as consumption, you can find details in the mess below if you dare. 😂😂 Right now everybody wants to write, those are the ones who join the platform. The consumers are those we share it to on other media. That's where marketing and devs should focus on. indirect traffic, people that are here and don't even know it...reading our content. Also reducing the need to scale since only those who wish to publish are here, those who wish to read only have a bridge to what they consider normal. Crypto is niche, there is a whole untapped world of consumers glues to their phones 24/7out there for free. Bridge that gap and let people slowly dip their toe in. Once they realize they have been using it unknowingly for months just reading cool content, they might take the plunge...try before you buy sorta deal.

Thanks for all you do around the platform! I know you care. also unrelated I wanted steps to delegate to ocdb (that's your project right?)since i'm still kinda crypto dumb and I don't know how without a link or how to undelegated later. If you could help me out with that it would be great. (I can just see you face palming right now! 😂)

Sorry, still didn't get around to read through this post haha, doesn't help that much of the discussion doesn't seem to be about what I asked to begin with. xD Will check soon.

About @ocdb, just delegating to it (easiest to do is through peakd.com in the wallet there) will get you on the list after 1 payout and then daily rewards in liquid hive straight after: https://thegoodwhales.io/delegators.html

ps. to show up on the list you have to delegate at least 250hp to prevent spam, but everyone gets daily rewards as long as it's not under 0.001 hive.

I'll try again tomorrow to read through these, the new expansion release of WoW has been keeping me busy lately I have to admit. :p

ok, maybe I'm trying to delegate to something I'm not sure about now! I'm glad I asked. What is it that you run like ocd that just helps random users with unrecognized good content that curators wrangle up, that's what I'm looking to delegate to, not a subscription bot of some sort. I'm confused at all the payout and spam bla bla bla now?

Anyways no worries about reading all that crap or not. It was never intended to happen, the convo got carried away with others, I get it. Sorry for that. However it could be relevant to some point taking strain off curation teams with other measures in place for taking care of oneself and missed opportunities for the platform. I just didn't know people were not using communities until you pointed it out.