You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ask the Hive: What communities would you like to see kickstarted on Hive?

in Ask the Hive3 years ago (edited)

BE THE CHANGE YOU WANT TO SEE.

The platform has many flaws and many clicks yes, these clicks result from years of engagement together, in other words, form your click, it takes time...like a lot of it, Something one only comes to understand years down the road. The key is to socialize and engage like on the various engagement contests around the platform. If there is nothing of your taste, then create it!

I know not everyone is meant to be content creators and are better consumers. This is essentially your blank canvas to make it what you want.

I tried to connect with newbies by commenting on their posts and sharing some of their work and most of them can't be bothered to reply. So fail #1 on their part. There are greeters, @brittandjosie are excellent in that department. I'm mostly quiet on the blockchain but I watch who does what. When I hear complaints of no attention and hard to earn, I issue contests to try to give back to the more entry level users, who participates? higher level users. Maybe they do well because they participate in things in one form or another. In other words, engage.

I understand Hive is the wild wild west and life ain't easy in them darn hills so cheer up and come visit my contest where there are other links to other engagement posts where lots of nice people hang out. Come make some friends and be noticed.

Sorry @acidyo not trying to spam your page with my contest, just trying to help a brother out.

Also it's good that we talk about these things out loud and fix it together. We all have a different vision and experience.

Sort:  

The change is HIVE NEEDS TO DO SOCIAL without patchwork. I can't be that change because that needs to be coded into the system by those that can code. I often get the code to my building incorrect!

You asked why Hive can't retain users so then that's your answer, which you actually deflected of as a non-issue. No offense to you, but that's part of the problem. Not enough people demanding it in order for the coders to make this web_3.0 actually superior.

Like imagine a new university trying to poach students from a big time university but then telling them "you'll need to bring your own library of knowledge or use the one down the road.."

I think your commitment is admirable btw, that's a thing which Hive CAN celebrate but the glue that keep users connected and ON HIVE is crucial or else it's an uphill battle.

I'm not trying to dismiss a problem, it's even funny that you suggest that since I'm the one that brought up talking about these issues before going to town on communities.

4oappq.jpg

Code-wise I know nothing. Social wise, probably not that much more but slightly. I see there are problems, perhaps I just see them differently then you do as well. We all have different perspectives and that's why it's good to talk about it. We can't change everything as individuals and that's overwhelming at times but you can also make the best of what you have available and have fun with it. Perspective is still a choice.

We have a series of archived great users how to posts that just went and died into nothingness. If there was a way to have them all pinned in some easy to access hive for newcomers section. There...that's a community you should support if anyone would create. There better suited then myself writing hive-how-to out there as we speak. The material is there, people have to look for it or ask for help or direction.

you can also make the best of what you have available and have fun with it.

That's the difference.

I'm only focused on the fundamentals. If the platform lacks those vital tools which support growth and retention then it's like cutting an artery and putting a bandaid on it.

I get what you are saying. Just keep in mind sometimes coders also forget the social aspects just like we the more social ones forget the coding aspects. Nobody is good at everything, we just need to come together and find a way because this place has great potential, lets not let it go to waste.

Yeah completely agree. That's why I see this as two separate evolution processes. The community is amazing. THE REAL VALUE HERE.

The development then is lacking and not catering to the needs of the collectives. Which is why I believe people need to make more noise.

See, recently there was an "askHive" of what was missing here. That post got a lot of suggestions and the two that got repeated was the same two I hold vital. A mobile app that brings traffic and ways for Hive to retain that traffic (social tools.)

YET...
What happened?
NOTHING.

Even certain "whales" said, "hey Hiveans we heard you." but hey those whales make their bread regardless. If there were follow ups and an actual roadmap then things could move efficiently.

Anyway I admire your mindset.
You're the very type that's keeping this alive so well done for what you do here and what your committed to do for others to improve their experience on Hive.

I agree 100 % ..."That's why I see this as two separate evolution processes. The community is amazing. THE REAL VALUE HERE."

Everybody that is committed and still here has a great vision, all are different rather than competing this could be an epic product if social and coding could get along into one vison, I know it's not in the cards for computer robots to mingle with social butterflies. They have their vision to, which is different than ours as dedicated users just as much as coders(no mater how fucked up this place gets). I know my opinion will be like a fart in the wind because I come out once a year with the same speech and like you said, we heard you "community" then womp womp. Somethings change but...other set backs appears. I think everyone here is still trying their best in the end and that's why this place is still alive, talking about this...once again. With that being said, I also don't see the need to throw out the baby with the bathwater because it's not progressing the way or as fast as I would like since I just know how to take pictures and write, not the technical coding stuff to build something.

Thank you for your kind words😍🥰

You as content readers @teknow @ladybug146 @nonameslefttouse , read the posts that are originally in Spanish? that's a doubt I have been having because for me it's doesn't necessary to traduce it in other languages in the same post because for that Google translate give you the option to traduce the web page. but a lot of people doing it and well doesn't know if that really helps people that don't speak Spanish could read the post

sorry for changing the conversation, but it would nice if you tell me your opinion D:

No bud...charge in like a buffalo! By all means! I try to read spanish posts, in reality I'm french and it's similar I can somewhat understand key words, I also like to support content outside of my circle or social background because I know it can makes a difference to those under different circumstances than us. Sometimes I just support people I have nice conversations with. You are right, it doesn't translate very well into english but you can do paragraph by paragraph ... Work in progress...right! Once upon a time, people offered popular authors to translate their posts for a portion of the reward generated, perhaps hooking up with someone fluent in both languages as a service and set as a beneficiary for the post to original author...doesn't fully solve the problem but it used to work when we had more users.

With Spanish posts, if the thumbnail catches my eye I might click but if the headline is Spanish, I don't understand. I might take a wild guess and end up inside a shit post. I will translate some posts though. I mainly consume English content, since that's all I speak naturally.

Are there a fair amount of Spanish speaking members holding enough stake to support the community?

Hermano yo soy salvadoreño y cien por ciento creo que la comunidad de Latin America deserve mas reconigcion aqui. Mi español escrito no es tan bueno pues yo appravocho de posts que escriben en las does lenguas. Un dia yo creo que esta cosa Hive va poder darle mas reward a la gente Latino. Eso es la razon porqué trato de convincir a otros que el systema necsita cambios y improvimientos.

Siguen luchando hombre, tu contribucion le da mucho valor a esta platforma!

No worries, was caught off guard as I couldn't see all the comments on hive.blog but noticed the amount of them just now. Probably cause I muted teknow some time ago due to constant pessimism. Like yes, we get it, there are still issues, account creation is still a bit flaky some times, learning curve is still a bit steep depending on which dapp you start off with and people seem to get tired over time, with that I mean curators. Seems there's a need for constant fresh blood to be incentivized to go out and look for genuine new users to curate that don't start off on communities directly. On top of it all there is so much abuse and plag attempts that just taint it for newcomers chances of being seen and given the benefit of the doubt and adding so much extra work to curators to do background checks before they curate them. It's a lot to think about and I keep wondering how it can be improved - and don't get me wrong, I'm one of those who usually thinks "vote first - check later", as I'm not someone who cares about maximizing rewards or don't want to risk unvoting/downvoting what we've voted up. There's hivewatchers and others getting paid to make sure they track them down so it shouldn't always be on the curators to check that a post and account are legit but then there's also the "if you feed them and they see they can get away with some rewards here and there before they are caught they will keep trying and multiplying".

Anyway, I think communities will be a nice defense against this but the biggest issue right now is lack of consumption and engagement. It's like we've built this amazing platform that works well and can scale well but too few are daring to enter to try it out and many I've invited literally tell me I must be joking cause it sounds too good to be true considering all advantages we have here so they don't bother trying.

But yeah, be my guest. Will have to read all this in the morning though as it's getting late here and I just did a voting round of the communities.

Well I wont go into to many details since I left about a dozen and a half books across your page. I'm sure it must have been confusing with a muted user in the debate! More less what I was eluding to, there are flaws but many aspects are not considered because we are too focused on our own individual vison rather than try to see things from someone else's perspective...like an iceberg. There is a lot of moving parts.

However I think the marketing is going in the wrong direction as far as consumption, you can find details in the mess below if you dare. 😂😂 Right now everybody wants to write, those are the ones who join the platform. The consumers are those we share it to on other media. That's where marketing and devs should focus on. indirect traffic, people that are here and don't even know it...reading our content. Also reducing the need to scale since only those who wish to publish are here, those who wish to read only have a bridge to what they consider normal. Crypto is niche, there is a whole untapped world of consumers glues to their phones 24/7out there for free. Bridge that gap and let people slowly dip their toe in. Once they realize they have been using it unknowingly for months just reading cool content, they might take the plunge...try before you buy sorta deal.

Thanks for all you do around the platform! I know you care. also unrelated I wanted steps to delegate to ocdb (that's your project right?)since i'm still kinda crypto dumb and I don't know how without a link or how to undelegated later. If you could help me out with that it would be great. (I can just see you face palming right now! 😂)

Sorry, still didn't get around to read through this post haha, doesn't help that much of the discussion doesn't seem to be about what I asked to begin with. xD Will check soon.

About @ocdb, just delegating to it (easiest to do is through peakd.com in the wallet there) will get you on the list after 1 payout and then daily rewards in liquid hive straight after: https://thegoodwhales.io/delegators.html

ps. to show up on the list you have to delegate at least 250hp to prevent spam, but everyone gets daily rewards as long as it's not under 0.001 hive.

I'll try again tomorrow to read through these, the new expansion release of WoW has been keeping me busy lately I have to admit. :p

ok, maybe I'm trying to delegate to something I'm not sure about now! I'm glad I asked. What is it that you run like ocd that just helps random users with unrecognized good content that curators wrangle up, that's what I'm looking to delegate to, not a subscription bot of some sort. I'm confused at all the payout and spam bla bla bla now?

Anyways no worries about reading all that crap or not. It was never intended to happen, the convo got carried away with others, I get it. Sorry for that. However it could be relevant to some point taking strain off curation teams with other measures in place for taking care of oneself and missed opportunities for the platform. I just didn't know people were not using communities until you pointed it out.

So true dear and this would be an excellent entry for the contest by @jaynie aboitvyour thought on hive. I am gonaa see what contests you have running now. Thanks for the compliment and mention I appreciate it.

Haha, I should have, this was suppose to be a short comment! lol I didn't know it would snowball mad. You are welcome, you do a lot around here. It's not fair to say nobody is doing it when some like you are so dedicated to it.