You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ask the Hive: What kind of services/projects/businesses would you like to see more of with a stable HBD?

in Ask the Hive3 years ago

I've been trying to figure out what HBD is for a while now and so far have just converted it over into Hive. Is it suppose to be $1 USD or something else?

If it's truly a stable coin and earning I think 3% right now that's pretty powerful. Banks don't pay nearly that in interest! Could be a awesome asset for Hive and I might start holding on more to the HBD.

As for projects I have to say I'm enjoying what you all have built here so far. NFTShowRoom is an amazing place to share and sell my NFTs. This is something I'm going to continue to purse. What I'd really like to see is a really good solid alternative to youtube where I can earn ad revenue from my videos. I haven't yet found a good platform for that yet.

Sort:  

When you're pricing your NFTs, that's in HIVE, correct? Does the fluctuating token value create a bit of a headache? As in one day you're asking too much, then next you're ripping yourself off, but on the day of minting it was perfect. If it does cause a bit of a headache, would pricing using a stable HBD be like taking an Advil?

It's been a bit of a pain as of late especially with more NFTs listed. The price swings of $0.20 doesn't seem like much but at hives price it's rather large percent wise. It's been a little wild the last few days.
HBD stable coin if it's pegged to $1 would be nice.
They also use Swap.Hive which adds another step complicating the buying process and I feel limits reach a good deal. It's not easy for one of viewers to try and buy hive, go on hive engine, convert it to swap.hive and then order. Would like a simplified process if possible.

A lot of things were overlooked as society rushed in. I've been an artist/content creator mixed in with this crypto scene since the start. I've yet to mint an NFT(even though Acidyo here keeps bugging me to do it already).

Traditional business models don't always work and things are definitely spiraling into somewhat of a consumer nightmare, especially with this chain of tokens where one leads to the next, then the next, and the next; from one app to another, then another and back. I can show examples I found while playing the role of consumer as I'm studying this where I'm attracted to an art post here, then at the bottom is a link to an NFT, and I'm led to some random site I never heard of outside of Hive ecosystem, and wouldn't even know where to begin acquiring the necessary tokens needed to make a purchase. That was an instant lost sale for that artist and a frustrating consumer experience.

It's confusing simply placing the product on the shelf, now imagine what it would be like for those on the outside, if it's even confusing for those on the inside to make the purchase. This needs work.

I already knew you'd agree a stable coin would be the way to go. Otherwise we're not in control of our profit margin. So this might be a good use case for HBD and take care of a few other problems at the same time.

These things take time, patience. Mistakes will be made and solved. Growing pains never seem to go away in this industry but that feeling is also known as progress.

You should create a NFT even if it's just one! Acidyo better keep after you lol

I've really been enjoying Hive so far on a community level and so far people have been very nice and welcoming it's really amazing to have that type of support when first joining and learning how best to use the platform.

Because of that I firmly believe that Hive will be able to take our feedback along with others and create a more streamlined version of everything. There seems to be a lot of good and talented people here.

Like you said it takes time and growing pains.

I know I should! I'm excited about this stuff. Somewhere around early 2017, I had sold one unit, digital art, and accepted HBD (SBD at the time). This was long before many people even realized that could be a thing in crypto. The NFT approach, even with the growing pains, is way better than doing it caveman style, which is how I did it back then. Eventually I started to take a shining to the way I could create, share, entertain, earn, and give back to those supporting instead of handing that percentage over to someone who's just going to buy another car to keep on their yacht in case of emergency. That business model blows my mind to this day and when I feel like boring people to death, that's all I'll talk about.

You have yourself a nice day.

Trippy artwork I like it! You should write more about it. I bet it would make for some interesting reads.
Have a good day as well!

Ahahaha 😭😭😭😭 this.

Yeah it's supposed to be a stablecoin and will most likely function properly that way after conversion from hive->hbd in the next hardfork as only hbd->hive conversion has existed so far.

That's a good point, tbh, we do have bigger content creators on Hive and it has also caused a ruckus some times when all they do is just cross-post their content onto Hive and receive a lot of autovotes but don't really engage in other ways or value Hive to give back to the platform in more ways. I think these people are used to adrevenue and think Hive works the same way, but matter of a fact is that we have yet to take advantage of advertisement money. @leofinance does this in a way, where they take the ad revenue and buy back their own token so all holders get rewarded for it long term but I would definitely like to see some more options to reward the content creators based on views and clicks and maybe even their readers. The BAT model could easily be implemented onto Hive front-ends, maybe @peakd has some plans to do something with this in the near future. It would be important for bigger content creators like yourself who get a lot of views but the revenue generated from just the Hive rewardpool may not be that great at these prices.

This sounds very interesting, as a creator who used to earn from ad revenue but now music royalties is meeting up to it - it could definitely inspire those to make the leap over to the platform. I have liked the community and platform for years so for me it is less about the rewards and more about sharing art and things but I can’t front and say that I’m earning anything near an income as of yet from it.

but I can imagine those out there that are already struggling as a creative and earning NIL that need that do need that income so there is that factor too but HIVE is a perfect platform for this as a small time youtuber for example could make more from one post than they would from ad Rev from a video in a month so 📈❤️