My Hive Access is Limited, What Happened?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago

I have a strange problem, perhaps someone can help me out. On the first of the month, I powered up 10 HIVE, but then was immediately kicked off the site. What appeared on my screen was a Cloudflare 502 "bad gateway" error message, telling me that the problem was Hive itself. My connection was fine (supposedly), and Cloudflare was working (supposedly).

However, this problem seems to be limited to my desktop computer, which is what I was using at the time. I was able to access Hive on other devices, but I couldn't post anything for a few days afterward. If I tried to post using my potato laptop (which I am now using to type this post), I got another error message as soon as I clicked "post": "obsolete form of transaction detected, please update your wallet." As it turns out, my wallet was frozen, and I couldn't redeem rewards.

This problem fixed itself a few days later, and I am now able to access my Hive wallet and redeem rewards, even on my desktop - but I still can't access my blog on my desktop, as I still get the 502 error message specifying that the problem is Hive, regardless of which browser I use. For the record, I have restarted my computer, but that doesn't solve the problem.

Oddly enough, this is a problem unique to Hive on that machine, as I can still access PeakD - but I can't log in to PeakD, as Hivesigner doesn't like any of my keys, for some reason. Does anyone know how I can fix this? I'd rather not have to be stuck using my laptop to post to Hive.

I've made a gripe about this already on my WordPress blog (link under the "resources" tab on my website), and I contacted @jacobtothe via Diaspora about the issue, but I haven't gotten a response. If I can't fix it, then I'm abandoning Hive permanently, and the stuff that I post here will henceforth be distributed between WordPress, SubscribeStar, and Diaspora (links to my pages are scattered about my website and WordPress blog under the "resources" and "about" tabs).

Sort:  

Wish I had a more definitive answer for you... but I don't! I know that some of the intermittent errors you experienced, like the "obsolete transaction" error were a temporary glitch due to some changes associated with the HardFork taking place over the next few days.

Are you able to access hive.blog at all on your desktop? For example can you see your settings options but not any blog content? If that's the case then you might try switching the node/API endpoint in the advanced settings.

If the entire page is throwing an error which I assume is the case, it almost seems like it would have to be browser related? Have you tried clearing your browser cache/cookies etc? Those may not be "cleansed" by a restart of the computer itself.

I am primarily a PeakD user myself, but hive.blog seems to be fine on my end. When it comes to Hivesigner I think the most common error some users make is trying to put in their public key and not their private key, so perhaps double check that for your troubles there. Overall I mainly use the Hive Keychain plugin whenever possible instead of Hivesigner. It's always seemed smoother and more user friendly for me, so it would be another option to look at if you want to get up and running on PeakD or other Hive based sites in general.

Lastly, if you have a self hosted Wordpress blog are you aware of the Steempress plugin? As far as I know it hasn't been renamed yet... but it's a plugin that did make the changeover from Steem to Hive earlier this year. It allows you to post to Hive direct from your Wordpress blog, integrate Hive comments on your wordpress blog if you choose, etc. Well worth the look if you haven't seen it before.

Thanks for all the info. I had no idea about the Steempress plugin, will definitely check it out.

I cleared the cache and cookies in my main browser, and that solved the problem. I really should learn to try that sooner when I have problems, rather than trying everything else first.

Excellent, glad you got it sorted!

I've just recently started trying to rebuild an online site of my own... have a long way to go, but here's a test post I linked over that shows the Steempress integration of a Hive based comment system on a personal site. Of course if you're currently taking the time to mirror some of your content here manually, it could just be a nice timesaver to use regardless. When I've posted direct from WordPress in the past, I have still needed to clean up a bit of the formatting to be happy with it, but SteemPress works well overall.

The project has been a bit stale lately, but I exchanged some comments with the developer not long ago who assured me it's not a dead project by any means. He's become one of the more core developers of the Hive blockchain since its launch, so time has just been at a premium. Of all the Hive based projects, I honestly believe SteemPress' ability to infiltrate the Wordpress market has so much potential for onboarding and adoption.

Congratulations @steampunkkaja! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 200 replies. Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day

Sorry about not responding on diaspora. I'm not on very often. I have no idea why there might be issues.

I figured, judging by your posting history, that I might be waiting for a response for a while. Anyway, the problem has been solved. I feel like a blithering fool for not clearing my cache and cookies first thing, but whatever.

Well, if anyone else has this problem, now you know: clear cache, clear cookies, clear login info, log back in, and that should restore access.