Bike Repair

in The Man Cave4 years ago (edited)

Hi fellow Hiveians and Man Cavers!

Today here with a fun little DIY post for the little ones in our lives!

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Repair Services

So one of the best things recently was that our (not so young anymore ☹️) toddler has gotten a bike off someone for free! We were like hell yeah, we'll take a free bike I don't care what it looks like. I can't tell you how excited the little man was!

One of the things I didn't realize for a little bit was that the back tire was completely flat. The training wheels and the tire were level to the ground so I didn't really think anything of it until he got stuck in a little hole and I saw the tire was flat. I went out and bought a little tire patch kit, knowing that he would love to help me fix his bike!

So I unfortunately don't have as many pictures as I would have liked for the process but here's what I've got.

What I ended up doing first is seeing if I could get to the hole in the tire without actually taking the whole wheel off. Anyone who has fixed a bike tire before will know that the rear tire is more difficult than the front because of the chain and stuff. The children's bikes are no exception, in fact they are more challenging which is a great thing because the tire won't fall off. I didn't mind having the extra work! You can see below that extra piece of metal on the other side of the tire is screwed onto the frame of the bike, preventing the tire from falling off if the bolts somehow get undone. I was really impressed with that!

I stuck a screw driver in between the rim of the tire itself and pried it loose to get at it. I pulled part of the tire out and inflated it but realized the hole was near the air flange after listening to it leak out when I inflated it and trying to hear where it was coming from, which was next to the flange, so I had to take it all apart. No biggie but always worth the try to see if I can do it without taking the tire off.

4814383171234B808F22BC99C8CD9F40.jpeg

To take the tire off, I had to first take the training wheels off of course, because behind those bolts were the actual rear tire bolts.

AE3E6F2F7EBC438F9B06DB569EDA716F.jpeg

You can see the small hole right there, really close to the flange so there was no way I could do that without taking the tire off. It's been a while since I've fixed a tire so I read the instructions and you have to scrape the rubber a bit to give it some roughness otherwise the glue has a tough time sticking. I roughed it up a bit and applied the rubber cement.

2DA50B756A7440C490034E8B47B27F78.jpeg

You apply the cement then the sticky rubber patch. What I made the mistake of doing the first time was holding it down for about a minute then figuring it was good to go and I put the tube back in and put the tire back onto the bike. I smelled it first, then I heard it. No, that's not the scenario of someone ripping some nasty ass, though it is eerily similar to that. (cracking myself up reading that, lol). That's me realizing that the patch had let go because I didn't give it enough time to set and become permanent. So I had to take all of it off once again, that was a bit annoying but that's what happens when you try to go quickly!

95DE839823844584B32DC6BB23566B51.jpeg

So, take it all off once again..

CAC826D080D545D79199C397F97CCA4D.jpeg

That's the little munchkin helping out! He has so much fun using tools, bolts, screws and everything. He gears up for when we are working, evident with the ear muffs lol he didn't care for the sound of the air compressor pumping some air into the tire!

865F1D9F09B04EDEA8057328C25F5072.jpeg

I had waited two days for the thing to dry and set up. It said 24 hours should be enough but it worked out because we ended up getting some rain the next day so we could let it dry longer. Now that it was officially good to go, I put the tube back in and I reversed the process to get the tire itself back on. Using two screw drivers (can't show that holding the camera of course) I use one to hold it in place and the other one to pry the tire back onto the frame.

6C2501DB8A084806A00D34EC54147A28.jpeg

Got it all buttoned back up and gave it a good spin!

8D9B33C2AF4E4E59BC4F152D97B92F0D.jpeg

Painting Time

The next one I will be doing is painting the bike. I am thinking of making it a nice white or blue. We don't really care about the color but I think it will be fun to put a little mask on him and let him spray away at the bike and put a color on it of his own. We have to buy it of course, so that will have to wait for the next edition!

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!
Did you enjoy this post or my other posts? Please consider following me for more! @cmplxty

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 1,415 PRE tokens, with a market value of $27.57. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


peak.JPG

Still using hive.blog? Upgrade! PeakD is a much better user-interface, gives loads more information at your fingertips and has some of the best developers behind it. Give it a try, go to www.peakd.com and see how much easier it is. You just need to use Hivesigner or Peaklock some of the most secure ways to log into other Hive frontends.

Sort:  

Shared on Twitter with some great tags! $posh!

Thank you for sharing an interesting post. I remembered the years when I helped my nephew repair his bike. It was cool. Good luck to you.

Thanks for checking my post out! I appreciate the comment!

It’s definitely a lot of fun doing all these new things with him and watching him grow. I’m glad that you were there for your nephew at least once, that’s very special! How old is he now?

He is now 19 years old. Already a big guy.

Aw he must be stoked. Jamie LOVES working on bikes.. he did up a couple of wrecks when we were on the canal in the UK so we could cycle to Bath.

Should I have posted my Landie post in the man cave lol..

The little man must be stoked. Nice memories right there. Such funny things, kids, about sounds and smells. I hope to have a pic of him riding it soon!!

9w6zq6.jpg

If there’s one thing he loves as much as he loves his bike, it’s PUDDLES! He was so excited to combine those lol

That’s a ninja turtle helmet. I’m pretty damn jealous he’s cooler than I was as a kid lol

Our kids got the ears of a bat I swear. He hears things that I don’t at all lol takes after the wife! Unreal hearing and taste lol

You should post the next Landy post in the man cave! Who cares? It’s a good spot!

Nice, Jamie sounds like a guy that I would have a lot of fun with, working on shit! I love to tinker with things, I hope when I have a garage someday I can find some fellow tinkers to have fun with lol

Hello dear friend @cmplxty good night
Congratulations for the great work done, repairing the tires can be an odyssey, you have done very well,
I think the blue color could look good
thank you very much for sharing this experience
have a wonderful night

Thank you for stopping by and checking out my post, I appreciate the great comment!

Tires can indeed be a challenge, finding the hole the air is coming out of can be challenging on adult bike tires. If I had to do those, the fastest way is to stick it in a bucket of water when it’s filled with air and find where the bubbles come out of. It’s still fun doing this type of stuff, especially with our son!

I think blue would look good as well, a nice darker blue would be nice!

If dear friend @cmplxty you are very right, this type of work gives you a unique experience.
My parents separated when I was little, these types of arrangements I had to learn as a child to repair my things myself, another thing I loved to repair was the soccer ball every time it had a hole and lost air.
Your post has brought me many memories, thank you very much for that.
I wish you happy dreams

You really did a great job.. I see the young man was busy all through

Thanks for stopping by and the comment my friend! I appreciate it!

The young one definitely had a lot of fun, anytime he gets to use tools with me he’s ecstatic!

Congratulations @cmplxty! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5000 replies. Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Nice read. I'm sure your boy will be knocked off his sock when he gets all kitted up for the paint job.