My self-intro post - but not my first post πŸ˜‚

in OCD β€’ 3 years ago

"All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy"

I love this proverb so much as it encourages everyone to have fun besides working.

pexels_helena_lopes_4453153.jpg
Source

You can call me Jack because I always want to remember we are more than our jobs.

I had written some posts before this introduction. I delayed this post until now as I had no idea how to introduce myself in the most impressive way. I was always the kid who only told everybody about his name in self-introduction session. Quite boring, huh?

I traded crypto for a while before running into Steemit. Some years later, I found out a similar platform named Hive. That's how I first know about this gorgeous community.

Q: Who am I?

A: I'm a dad πŸ‘ΆπŸΌ and a husband πŸ‘«

pexels_josh_willink_69096.jpg
Source

If you read my latest post, you would know I'm a dad and a husband. I work hard to provide the best support for my small family. I always believe that my kids and my wife deserve the best things on earth.

Raising children is never easy I think. Especially, in times of pandemics when you have to work from home, it takes double or triple effort to focus on your work while your kids are crying out loud. One second to send my respect to all parents 🎁

I also want to share some tips on parenthood in the later posts. Who knows if my own experiences as a dad might be helpful to other parents?

βž•βž– I'm an actuary βœ–οΈβž—

This short cartoon describes quite well the definition of an actuary:


Source

In case you don't want to watch the cartoon, I would summarize what I do as an actuary. Not all actuaries do the same scope of work though. Below are my responsibilities at work:

  • Build pricing models to develop life insurance products.
  • Calculate probability to monitor and measure risks in company's investments.
  • Prepare monthly reports to managers and directors, quarterly and yearly reports submitted to Ministry of Finance.
  • And even when I graduated from university long time ago, I still have to take exams πŸ“Actuaries do have a habit to make jokes about the exams βŒ›

image.png
Source

When people ask what industry I am working in, the moment I reply "I'm working in insurance", they immediately back up. The next thing they say will be something like "Oh! You sell insurance policies? I just bought one contract two days / three weeks / four months ago. Sorry I can't buy one more from you. Next time, if any of my acquaintances want to buy insurance, I will introduce you to them". And I'm like "Not everyone who work in insurance sell insurance policies. There are a lot of people in the back office working with numbers and paperwork only", then they gave me a surprised Pikachu face.

pikachu.jpg
Source

Why am I here and What's Next?

I'm an introvert and I don't normally express my thoughts and feelings through daily conversations. Thankfully, human beings have more than one way to communicate. I feel much more comfortable to share my thoughts and experiences through writing. I'd like to write about my experiences as an actuary, dad and husband, and how I learn to develop myself in these different roles.

I'm also excited to review more games because playing games is a part of me. Developing games is just a hobby. I'm still lacking a lot and I promise to improve my skills so I can deliver higher quality games in the future.

Follow me if you have the same hobbies with me or feel related to my position as a dad or a gamer or a worker in financial sector. We will have a lot to discuss when it comes to career and life planning.

Thanks for reading my self-introduction until this point 🀟 I hope this post is not too boring to such a creative community like Hive. I believe Hive will grow into a giant in technology πŸ“ˆ and all of us will become billionaires 😎

Sort: Β 

Welcome to the Hive Blog
I hope you have a great times here. πŸ™‚

Congratulations @actuarialuk91! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 12