In The Old Town

in OCD4 years ago

A beautiful part of my city. Old Town. A place where I really like to walk. A place where I was forbidden to arrive during lockdown. Now, fortunately, the ugly part is over and I have the freedom to walk where I want again.

For a better location and understanding, I must mention that it is about the city of Bucharest.

Bucharest is one of the big cities in Europe. It is a city of contrasts due to the fact that the long communist period managed to ruin much of its original beauty. Fortunately, communism was removed before it managed to ruin everything.

The old center is such a place with buildings and streets that have remained unchanged from the last century, the beginning of the last century.

In the middle ... of the middle, where I want to start the short presentation, is the National Bank building.

IMG_20200608_114708.jpg

Now the walk is just a pretext to see which stores have opened. I think now it is understood that I am not alone in this walk, I am with a shopping lover (... my wife, of course!).
A few words about the Old Center. It has become the most famous place in the city due to its many restaurants and terraces. Most tourists come especially, especially on weekends, to spend beautiful evenings and nights here. The recent pandemic hit hard in this place, all restaurants and terraces were closed. Now are the first signs of return to normal and we came here to see what terraces have opened.

IMG_20200608_114310.jpg

IMG_20200608_114549.jpg

IMG_20200608_124612.jpg

IMG_20200608_114622.jpg

The real life on these streets happens at night, now I notice only some weak attempts to arrange the terraces.

IMG_20200608_115036.jpg

IMG_20200608_114836.jpg

In fact, the main activity is to measure the distance between the tables on the terrace. One of the conditions to receive the consent to open the terraces, keeping the social distance. The police are here to check this.

IMG_20200608_114847.jpg

This is the narrowest street in town. I came to it because it is bordered by many shops.

IMG_20200608_114854.jpg

That's how we actually got to the purpose of the visit, as they say ... because it's Friday, it's of course #MarketFriday and @dswigle is watching over us!
A small demonstration of how to buy a pair of boots ...

IMG_20200608_115208.jpg

IMG_20200608_115713.jpg

IMG_20200608_115554.jpg

IMG_20200608_115552.jpg

IMG_20200608_115553.jpg

IMG_20200608_115743.jpg

IMG_20200608_115749.jpg

IMG_20200608_115753.jpg

Well, a long search and check, fine leather boots, light but unfortunately were not bought. Because once they were worn, they did not correspond to the needs, that is, they were much more beautiful in the window than on the floor. I was sorry, they weren't very expensive either.

Thus, the quick walk on the old streets in the center ended in a store, with a long search for boots that I really didn't need (my wife didn't need). I didn't even buy them.

It was hard for me to go home without looking for the latest news, new stores.

IMG_20200608_120720.jpg

Of course I took a lot of photos and I noticed that there are many who came to take pictures here.

IMG_20200608_120711.jpg

I wanted to make a circle and finish this short presentation in the place where I started it, near the National Bank.

IMG_20200608_120822.jpg

In police novels there is this expression when the reason for a crime must be found ... "cherche la femme" , "looking for the woman", of course. I change this with a new expression, "cherche la fleur" because we always need a flower, @alwaysaflower! A flower from my garden, very little garden.

IMG_20200607_125240.jpg

Irish Flourish SVG Cut File 10557.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you!

Cool! Kind of miss Bucharest. It is almost an year since I last came for a short business trip.

I'm glad this is happening, @alexvan! Bucharest is a city that you like but hate almost at the same time. Bucharest is a beautiful city in small portions, you must know how to find them.
The cities in Transylvania, you know much better because if I'm not mistaken you grew up in Arad, they have kept much more generous parts of the architectural beauty of the past. Thank you for finding time for my post as well.

This looks like a place of fantasy. It's incredible! Thanks for sharing. I'm so happy that you can walk those streets. I think that during the quarantine I have valued even more the streets of my city and every detail of those I know I will pay more attention. Unfortunately even we are prevented from touring the city

Thank You! I'm happy țo se You like. I think it is our duty to show what the country is like and the city or town where we live. We will definitely find something beautiful and interesting to share with others.

"Cherche la fleur" I love it!!! Truly! I wish I had thought of that! :)

Bucharest is so beautiful. I am so glad that you have gotten back downtown again. I have to say that people visit Bucharest, and it is an incredible city, but to really understand it, you need to immerse yourself in it an all the wonderful things about it. You won't get that with a couple days of vacation. I was thinking about this as I looked through your post.

The Palace of the National Bank down there and Rope Street, that tiny little street!! I have to wonder if they built it that way on purpose to be the narrowest city in Europe? The architecture of the city is amazing and the shopping, as you and your wife demonstrated is superb! I love your city and truly enjoy it when you bring it beauty into our houses.

Thank you so much for taking the time to join the challenge! I appreciate the love and support you are giving to #MarketFriday! Without you and people like yourself, I wouldn't be able to have such a successful challenge! I know that at this time, it is harder to find something to fit the challenge. On a good day, it takes a lot of time and effort to be part of, so it means a lot to me that you participate. I hope you know that there is great latitude in what Market means. It can be typical of where you shop for food, or it can be a unique place that you visit. Thank you again for being a part of all this and I hope that you will, indeed, have a great day and week ahead! If you or any of your friends are in doubt about how to participate, this should clear it all up!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

Yes, Denise, @dswigle! It's getting harder and harder to write in #marketfriday but this is also becoming a challenge (in a different sense than the classic one) ... it requires imagination and more work and that seems attractive to me. Fortunately #marketrfiday can be combined with #travel, #food, #cooking, #alwyasaflower, #music, #photography ...
"Cherche la fleur" is for you! You may think that you said for the first time, I give it with the greatest pleasure.

🎁 Hi @bluemoon! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank You!

It is always my pleasure!

Beautiful old town. The downtown where I live is Old Town. I love the quaint atmosphere around there. Thanks for sharing. Have a wonderful weekend, @bluemoon, and take care 🥰🌺🤙

Thank you very much! I'm glad you live in Old Town and you like it.
We must rejoice in what those who were before us have left us.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #892.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you! A real pleasure for me to be there.