ENGAGE ON HIVE: 🌄 One Hundred Adventures

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

If you're looking for some wild adventures around the world, you've come to the right place!

When HIVE launched, I was really inspired to write a series about my adventures all over the globe. When I read about the Engage on HIVE challenge from @galenkp, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to look back at some of my adventures and also to give all you awesome HIVERS a chance to see what's coming up next!

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
Mark Twain

Different adventures will appeal to different people, so I've added links so you can go directly to the adventures that interest you most! Feel free to ask questions about any of the adventures that interest you and I'll try to answer as many as I can.

Austria

I haven't had much opportunity to experience the snow, since I was born in Africa, so I was really excited for my skiing trip to Austria.

I spent two weeks in the tranquil village of Hopfgaarten learning to ski. The first day was a real challenge, but by the end of my stay I was quite comfortable on skis. I fell over into the snow many times, but it's all part of the fun - just get up and try again!

Paragliding

Skiing


South Africa

I was born in South Africa and I've lived most of my life there, so of course many of my early adventures take place in this beautiful and diverse land.

Some of my adventures were part of my training for sailing and SCUBA diving and others were just for fun.

Rock Climbing

Canopy Tour

Surfing

Skydiving

Firefighting School

Powerboat Qualification

SCUBA

Waterski

Cyprus

I've lived in Cyprus for a few years and the Mediterranean is an amazing experience by itself. For mother's day, I wanted to do some special posts featuring @pandamama, my mom. Adventures are far better when they are shared with friends and family!

I'll be sure share some more Mediterranean adventures soon!

Parasailing

Jetski

Thailand

Thailand is one of favorite places and I've traveled all over the wonderfully diverse country, from the mountains of Chang Mai in the north, to the exquisite islands in the South.

So far I've only written about my sailing adventures, but I have a lot more to share in the future about my adventures in Thailand, like the incredible SCUBA diving experience I had on Koh Tau (Turtle Island).

Sailing

Special Thanks

@abh12345 - @tarazkp - @meesterboom - @galenkp


Thank you for joining me on my adventures and I hope to see you again soon!

Sort:  

It sure looks like you've had a lot of adventures! Thanks for adding your entry to the posting initiative and supporting hive with your top quality post. We're a few days away from judging so keep an eye out for the announcement of the winners. They will be tagged in the announcement post.

Thanks for the compliments and the awesome initiative! Looking forward to hearing the results!

You're welcome and the best of luck.

wow you did so many many things, i envy you! the questions is how did you manage to do all that? I am also asking it from the "courage" side. what for example drive you to challenge yourself and do it?

Thank you, that is an excellent question!

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
Mark Twain

This quote is the first part of my answer and it's a very important part of my journey, so I'm going to add it to the top of the post as well.

The second answer is TRUST. With rock climbing you learn to trust in your belay and know that the rope is there to catch you when you fall. With skydiving I had to trust that I was in the hands of a professional with 4000 jumps worth of experience. With SCUBA you always dive with a buddy that you can trust to be there when you need them.

Lastly remember that no-one experiences "courage", we all experience fear. Then we must choose whether to give in to that fear, or to overcome it.

what an excellent answer! thanks a lot for that

Your adventures have encouraged me to seriously think about what I have done lol. I have always liked South Africa, I hope to visit it someday. Good post. Greetings from Venezuela.

Awesome, I hope I've inspired you to go on an African adventure!

I've never been to Venezuela, but when I was a teenager I visited Rio and Buenos Aires - South America is really beautiful!

I hope that one day you will be encouraged to visit Venezuela, which is a wonderful country despite the crisis we are currently experiencing. There are impressive natural wonders, especially the Angel Falls, the highest waterfall in the world.

Nothing is impossible, someday I will be in South Africa Lol.

So much fun seeing all of these in one post - and nice to be featured in some of them

Yeah, it took a while to get all the links together - glad we've got to share some of the adventures!

Wow, you’ve lived and gone to exciting places and have had amazing adventures! So fun to see. Happy for you! And I agree, adventures are more fun when shared with family and friends. Am sure @pandamama felt special with your tribute post to her. Wonderful mom and a treasured friend!

Thank you so much for the kind words and all your support on my posts!

Very proud of all your achievements bro. I'll bet there are not many people out there that can boast so many adventures. Well done.

Thanks, little sis! So glad we got to share some Thailand adventures!

Me too - special memories