Reflecting on an unexpectedly Blessed day

in OCD4 years ago

Yesterday was the nicest day I've had in a long time. Started the day with the assumption, that I had to work in the evening. So I made it a point to enjoy the morning to the fullest. I'd grown tired of arriving at work, with the feeling that I'd done nothing for myself.

I was awoken early by a text from my pastor, announcing the streaming of the Sunday worship service. So I clicked the link, and layed on my bed as the worship music played. I eventually got out of bed, and made breakfast while the service played.

received_265604821254145.jpg

Once breakfast was ready, I went and sat on my back porch. I enjoyed my breakfast, as I listened to the worship service, while keeping my friend Norman in my prayers. Having promised a friend to watch the stream from his church in Aspen. I followed up the worship stream with, the live worship from his local church. This isn't my norm, yet I enjoyed it.

After the service I sat in the sun, and wrote a an entry into the #freewrite challenge. Hosted by @mariannewest, and supported by the #freewriters community. You can visit that post below.

Sundays 5 minute freewrite, and a prayer request
https://hive.blog/hive-161155/@dreamingirwin/sundays-5-minute-freewrite-and-a-prayer-request

Then I began to get ready, and head out to work. The weather was perfect. The sun was shining. The cool breeze carried with it the smells of Sunday BBQs and grilling. I wasn't excited about going to work, but at least I had had a good start.

IMG_20200516_165538.jpg

It wasn't until I arrived at work, that I realized. I had not been scheduled. Getting out of my car, I headed towards the entrance. Several coworkers including my manager were outside. I was greeted by my boss. He looked at me inquisitively. Then said, "I felt bad for having you work so much. So I gave you today off." I couldn't help but smile. Remembering my mental note earlier in the day. I specifically said to myself, "I need to look at the schedule."

I hung out at the store for a little bit. Everyone there was in an unusually good humor. I ordered myself some hot wings, and decided to go wander around the town. It was the perfect day to gather material for future post. Like this one, written about a small free-standing library, I passed by while roaming the town. Here's that post:

A perfect day, and a great little community gem.
IMG_20200524_183641.jpg
https://hive.blog/hive-148441/@dreamingirwin/a-perfect-day-and-a-great-little-community-gem

I wondered around the town for most of the day. As the sun started to set, I headed back to my car. On the way there I passed a restaurant where people were still dining outside. Seeing an opportunity to create a #beersaturday challenge entry, and the smell being so enticing. I decided to treat myself to a good meal, and a nice cold #beer. Feel free to visit that post.

A nice place, good food, and a tasty beer
IMG_20200524_210012.jpg
https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@dreamingirwin/a-nice-place-good-food-and-a-tasty-beer

My frugal side felt a little guilty for splurging. Yet it's not an everyday occurrence for me, so I got over the feelings quickly. It was worth it.

After a nice steak, and a couple cold beers. I headed home. I was looking forward to the sorting through the pictures I'd taken. About 45 minutes later I arrived at my house. Because of my work, I hardly pay attention to holidays. I'd almost forgotten that it was Memorial day weekend, here in the states. That was until I got home.

My street was packed with cars. People visiting friends and family. It became apparent that my neighbors/friends/family were outside enjoying the day. After dropping off my stuff inside the house. I decided to stop by.

Immediately I was offered a beer, and my perfect day continued.

IMG_20200524_222701.jpg

I get so wrapped up in busy, I literally have to remind myself that I'm blessed. Even though we're neighbors. I hardly ever spend time with my these and other friends. It's not intentional. I'm trying to get myself into a place where I can be a blessing to others. Yet while chasing the future. I'm afraid I've sleep walked through the present. Luckily for me, they are better at being friends then I have been. It was a wonderful reminder of what I'd been missing.

We had a great time. I saw several of friends I hadn't seen in a while. We ate.
We drank. We shared stories, and laughed. It was unplanned, and absolute delightful. I did my best to capture that moment in a post. Your welcome to check it out

A perfect end to a great day
https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@dreamingirwin/a-perfect-end-to-a-great-day

I'll say it again I'm blessed. I would've never imagined having the day I had. It was an unexpected blessing.

I hope you too find yourself having a wonderful day. Thanks for sharing with me.
God bless.

Sort:  

Amen. 🙏
And how is your friend's health, I have included it in my prayers.

His wife has been keeping us posted. Seems to be healing nicely.

Glad you had a good day. Here's a !BEER

IMG_20200528_022658.jpg

Don't mind if I do. :)