Hive Creative Contest | Lost Baby Snake [EN] – Mekanın Sahibi Küçük Prenses [TR]

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

I still cannot decide if I had one of the best childhoods ever, or the worst. You decide:

My dad was the principle of a vocational school, and we lived in a residence in the school garden for five years – I was seven when we moved in, and I went to a boarding school when I was twelve, just before my dad was appointed to another school in another city.
The school garden was enormous.
When you are little, everything seems enormous, true; but the garden wasn’t small, that’s for sure.
There was an apple orchard next to our house. With hundreds of trees, it seemed endless to me, and I never ventured alone to the far end of it. Still, the trees closer to home were my playground. My knees were always scratched from climbing the trees.
There were ateliers across the orchard: woodworking, motor vehicle repair, mechanical drawing, electric system, electronics… At breaks, students would sneak to the orchard to smoke under the apple trees and from the branch I perched, I would tease them, threatening to snitch on them to my dad.
There would be always one or two new boys who started begging, on the edge of crying, “No, no, please don’t tell on us, please.”

Little Princess of The Premises

My daddy was a frightening man in the eyes of others – what an epiphany! At that point, it didn’t take me long to realize that not only students but also teachers were a bit scared of him.
Children are little snakes – they can be as crafty as they are innocent at the core.
So I declared myself the Little Princess of The Premises.

I have to admit, the following years were great fun.
My dad’s school was on the outskirt of a small city. He or his driver would take me to and from my own school, so I had hours to kill till dinner time after my own classes. I started hanging out at the ateliers. I would have my bicycle serviced at the motor vehicle repair. Teachers were responsible to find the accessories I demanded. My bicycle was equipped with front lights, reflectors, horn… In retrospect, I think they paid out of pocket for them!
When I wanted to do some painting, I would go to the mechanical drawing atelier. They had rulers and compasses in all shapes and sizes. I was always welcome to interrupt the class, getting one of the students to remove his drawing table.
I walked around, bossing around!
I even got one of the woodwork teachers to give an homework to carve wooden toys.
At lunch breaks, some unlucky students who decided to play table tennis, or simply who were hanging out there, would have to play it with me till I got bored. I played dodgeball with students in P.E. classes several times.
When I couldn’t think of anything more interesting, I even played chess with teachers at the teachers’ room – at the age of 8.
My dad’s assistant taught me to touch-type – at the age of 9.
My dad’s driver taught me to drive – at the age of 10.

Now, you might be wondering that what part of this happy childhood was supposed to be the worst? It takes a village to raise a child; it took a school, in my case -what harm could it do?
First, it is sad that how lonely I was.
It is sad that I had all such free time.
What my mom was doing in the meantime is another story, but my dad never knew half of my doings in his school. In fact, I told him the half he knew, and I don’t think he believed even the half of that half.
At the time, my parents never suspected a thing.
And weirdly enough, nobody ever told on me.
Or not weird at all - I was doing nothing bad, nothing harmful; I was a cute little snake.
And it is sad that I'd grown into a spoiled girl who was about to be dethroned and taught her place.

When we first moved in years ago, we made an ‘expedition’, going for a walk as a family to the edge of the garden, where I saw beyond the low walls of the school was a vineyard stretching down to the sea.
“There must be snakes here,” said my mom, frightened.
She forbade me to go that far, and as I mentioned above, I never did. Tsss! Snakes! Ick!
Five years later, one Sunday afternoon, I saw a little snake in the grass, literally. Figuratively, “snake in the grass” means a deceitful or treacherous person in British English.
I was terrified, naturally. Think about it; all those fairytales where snakes were the bad guys must have been still fresh in my memory. A terribly dangerous creature! So I run to the security guard, crying out loud, and he killed it without batting an eyelid.
Years later I read that there are no poisonous snakes living in this little part of the world.
It was a lost baby snake.
Then, a few weeks later, I left the paradise for a boarding school!

Hive Creative Contest by @zord189


MEKANIN SAHİBİ KÜÇÜK PRENSES [TR]

Şu hayattaki en güzel çocukluklardan birini mi yaşadım, yoksa olabilecek en kötü çocukluk muydu, hâlâ emin değilim. Siz karar verin:

Babam endüstri meslek lisesi müdürüydü, bu yüzden beş yıl boyunca babamın okulunun bahçesindeki lojmanda yaşadık. Taşındığımızda yedi yaşındaydım; babamın başka bir ile tayini çıkmadan hemen önce yatılı okula gitmek için oradan ayrıldığımda ise on iki.
Okulun bahçesi muazzam büyüktü.
Tamam tamam, biliyorum, küçükken her şey insana çok büyük görünür. Ama bu bahçe gerçekten hiç küçük değildi, orası kesin.
Evin yanında bir elma bahçesi vardı. İçinde yüzlerce ağaçla bana sonsuz gibi görünürdü ve hiçbir zaman tek başıma en ucuna kadar gitmeye cesaret edemedim. Öte yandan eve yakın ağaçlar benim oyun bahçemdi. Ağaçlara tırmanmaktan dizlerim hep yara içinde gezerdim.
Elma bahçesinin karşısında atölyeler vardı: ağaç işleri, motor, teknik resim, elektrik-elektronik… Teneffüslerde çocuklar elma ağaçlarının altında sigara içmeye kaçardı. Tünediğim daldan seslenir, babama söylemekle tehdit edip onlarla dalga geçerdim. Ağlamanın eşiğinde titreyen sesleriyle bana yalvarmaya başlayan bir iki çocuk çıkardı daima: “Hayır, hayır, n’olur babana söyleme, n’olur.”

Kayıp Bebek Yılan

Babam başkalarının gözünde korkutucu bir adamdı. Aydınlanmaya bakar mısınız? O noktadan sonra sadece öğrencilerin değil öğretmenlerin de babamdan çekindiğini keşfetmem uzun sürmedi.
Çocuklar özünde masum oldukları kadar da kurnazlar. Küçük yılanlar!
Böylece Mekânın Sahibi Küçük Prenses’liğimi ilan ettim.

Sonraki birkaç yıl gerçekten çok eğlenceliydi.
Babamın okulu kentin bayağı dışındaydı, bu yüzden beni kendi okuluma ya o ya da şoförü götürüp getiriyordu. Kendi derslerim bittikten sonra da akşam yemeğine kadar öldürecek tonla vaktim oluyordu. Böylece atölyelerde takılmaya başladım. Bisikletimi servise motor atölyesine götürürdüm. İstediğim aksesuarları bulmaktan öğretmenler sorumluydu. Ön farlar, reflektörler, zil falan, bisikletim bir güzel donatıldı. Şimdi düşününce, bunların parasını kendi ceplerinden ödemiş olmalılar.

Canım resim yapmak mı istedi, makine ressamlığı atölyesine gidiyordum. Boy boy, çeşit çeşit cetvelleri ve pergelleri vardı. Ayrıca canım ne zaman isterse sınıfa dalmama kimse bir şey demiyordu. Öğrencilerden birini dersin ortasında çizim masasından kaldırıp yerine geçiyor, sanatımı konuşturuyordum.

Okulda oradan oraya mekânın sahibi gibi dolaşıyordum.

Ağaç işleri atölyesinden bir öğretmenin öğrencilere tahtadan oyulmuş oyuncaklar yapma ödevi vermesini bile sağladım.

Öğle arasında masa tenisi oynamaya karar veren veya masanın oralarda takılma hatasına düşen bahtsız öğrenciler ben sıkılana kadar benimle masa tenisi oynamak zorundaydı. Beden eğitimi dersinde benimle yakar top oynadıkları da çoktur; gerçi bundan şikâyetçi olduklarını sanmam.
Yapacak daha ilginç bir şey bulamadığımda öğretmenler odasında öğretmenlerle satranç bile oynuyordum – 8 yaşındayken.
Babamın sekreteri bana on parmak yazmayı öğretti – 9 yaşındayken.
Babamın şoförü bana araba kullanmayı öğretti – 10 yaşındayken.

Şimdi, bu mutlu çocukluğun tam olarak hangi kısmının kötü olduğunu merak ediyor olabilirsiniz.
Bir çocuğu yetiştirmek için koca bir köy gerekir; beni koca bir okul yetiştirmiş işte. Bunda ne kötülük olabilir ki?
Bir kere, baksanıza nasıl yalnızım; çok üzücü değil mi?
Bu kadar çok boş vaktimin olması da ayrıca üzücü.
O sıralar annemin beni hiç gözü görmeyecek kadar neyle meşgul olduğu ayrı bir hikâye ve babamın da yaptıklarımın yarısından bile haberi yoktu. Haberi olan yarıyı da aslına bakarsanız ona zamanla parça parça ben anlattım. Duyduklarının yarısına bile inandığını sanmam.
Yani annemle babamın dünyadan haberi yoktu.
Ve tuhaf bir şekilde kimse de beni şikâyet etmedi.
Ya da belki o kadar tuhaf değildir – sonuçta en temelde kimseye bir zararım yoktu, oyalanmaya çalışan küçük şirin bir yılandım.
Ah, şımarık bir kıza dönüşmem de elbette üzücü ama merak etmeyin, kızcağız tahttan indirilip haddi bildirilmek üzereydi.

İlk taşındığımızda ailece bahçede keşif turuna çıkıp elma bahçesinin uzak ucuna yürümüştük ve okulun alçak duvarlarının ardında denize kadar uzanan bir üzüm bağı olduğunu o zaman görmüştüm.
“Burada yılan da vardır şimdi,” demişti annem korkuyla.
Bahçenin bu ucuna yalnız gelmem o gün yasaklandı ve yukarıda da söyledim ya, ben de bir daha o kadar uzağa hiç gitmedim.
Tıss! Yılan! Iyyy.
Beş yıl sonra bir pazar öğleden sonra çimlerin arasında bir yılan gördüm. Doğal olarak acayip korktum. Okuduğum masallardaki kötü yılanların hatırası hâlâ zihnimde taze olmalı o yıllarda. Annemin korkusu falan da düşünülürse, korkunç tehlikeli bir yaratıkla karşı karşıya olduğumu sanmış olmalıyım. Çığlık çığlığa bekçiye koştum ve o da gözünü kırpmadan yılanı öldürdü.
Yıllar sonra bir yerlerde benim yaşadığım bölgede öyle pek fazla zehirli yılan olmadığını okudum.
Yazık, yolunu kaybetmiş bir bebek yılandı.
Birkaç hafta sonra da işte, cennetten kovulup yatılı okula gittim.

Hive Creative Contest by @zord189

Sort:  

What a cute story :D

Muchas gracias. Espero que voy a escribirlo en espanol un dia ??
I hope I'll write it in Spanish one day:))

Ah, por supuesto!

I suppose the boarding school came as a very big shock to you!!

Oh, you have no idea!

Congratulations @ecotone! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 80 posts. Your next target is to reach 90 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Bu yazı Curation Collective Discord Sunucusunda küratörlere önerilmiş ve manuel inceleme sonrasında @c2-turkish topluluk hesabından oy ve reblog almıştır. @c-squared hesabı topluluk witness'ı olarak faaliyet göstermektedir. Projemizi desteklemek isterseniz bize buradan witness oyunuzu verebilirsiniz.
This post was shared in the #turkish-curation channel in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c2-turkish community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

A good life, until the day of the boarding school...

Yeah, it hit bottom when I went to boarding school.