You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A trip down memory lane | About dead Accounts, Online friends and Hive Birthdays

in OCD3 years ago

What an awesome and melancholy post. I sometimes go back to look at people's blogs who used to thrive here and the memories always flood back. I used to follow many of the same people you talked about, I even presented with a few in Amsterdam in 2016. Seeing those old posts from 2016-17 remind me of how strong the community used to be and how much engagement there once was. It also brings me back to the first couple of SteemFests. Life is always changing but sometimes it's nice to take a stroll down memory lane and give thanks for what was.

Sort:  

It was really a nostalgic and melancholic post, I got a little bit sad when I was writing it, and I think that helped me put into words what I felt when scrolling the list. It was trully a strong and small community back then, not better nor worse than today, just different. I was able to attend the second SF, not the first, and I do think that those were amazing days. I was never in touch with you but I do know your name from way early, I'm glad to see you're still roaming these lands man.

I'm sure you felt a lot of emotions while writing it. I look back to those first few years (2016-18) as one of the best periods of my life, just because so many dreams came to fruition. I'm still connected with a few people who left Steemit/Hive on other social media platforms, most have moved on with their lives and no longer blog but many are still involved in crypto in some capacity. I don't have anywhere near the following or engagement that I once did but I still enjoy writing and curating here. I'll stay as long as it still brings me some kind of joy. Thanks for the post, it was a good walk down memory lane! Take care.