Feather-light conscience: A Faith and G-dog text exchange

in OCD3 years ago

I'll be honest, the title doesn't match my actual conscience, it's more of a wish-list title, something I aspire to but rarely attain, certainly when it comes to making dinner as you'll see below.

Yesterday Faith and I took a little break and headed to the river with our kayaks for a paddle. After a day of kayaking we ended up going to the pub for dinner and then we camped out overnight. We'd planned some more yakking early this morning and a hike but we only got the yakking done with a 0530 start (5:30am). We had to return as we got a call and Faith had to do some stuff, appointments, which I'll not talk about here, so we were home around early afternoon.

I ended up doing some organising and stuff around my workshop whilst Faith was doing her thing and before long the day wore down to one of my favourite parts of the day; Dinner time.

The following text communication between Faith and I tells the rest of the story. I kick it off with what I'd say is a typical husband thing to say.

Don't worry, she's not abusive, the use of the word idiot is a term of endearment...There's worse she could call me, and I'd deserve it mostly too! 😁 Clearly, on this occasion, I was trying to avoid cooking as I wasn't in the mood. Back to the text exchange.

After thirty three years together she knows pretty much everything about me including when I am grumbling about having to cook dinner on a day when I'm not feeling it...Which is most days. Back to the texts.

As you can see I made a valiant effort at lying, for a whole minute. Then I relent a little...And then come clean altogether. The fact she just waits for me to do so is another indication of how well she knows me. And...Back to the texts.

Fear not hivers...Faith wouldn't dare stab the G-dog; She knows how much y'all would miss me. She's just making a point. We're almost there...Back to the texts.

And there it is...She relents and I get my way! Now that's how it's done folks!

The pizza has now been consumed, along with a hot garlic bread and I had a gin and tonic...All without getting stabbed too. We had a nice chat over dinner; I caught up on the happenings of her unexpected appointments and I filled her in on what I'd done for the day: Clean and stow the kayaks and equipment and bugger around in the workshop organising gun stuff...I didn't tell her about the mid-afternoon snooze though, she guessed that for herself!

She's off having a bath now and we'll be holding the couch down for a few hours watching a movie. Is my conscience clear, feather-light? Or should I feel guilty at the Faith-pizza manipulation? You be the judge...I can't think straight, I ate too much pizza.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  

G-dog seems like a good name for pickup artist/ relationship/ texting coach. Maybe you could do this a side job or a hobby. At least you prove that you get the results you wanted so people will know that this is not a scam😜

Haha, yeah I think it would make a good business venture although I'm not sure how sound my advice would be. Maybe a what not to do relationship coach? Although, Faith and I have been together for thirty three years and are still in love and passionate about each other, so maybe I'm onto something?

Thanks for your comment.

!ENGAGE 25

I don't want marriage or kids. But thirty three years together? that sounds... Legit.

Everyone is different so all good. Whatever makes you happy. ✅

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hahaha!😂😂
You're very good at manipulating, though You shouldn't.

My father doesn't like to cook either, in fact, at the second he steps on the kitchen floor he becomes Hulk. And when we ask him if he is angry he says "No" and goes back to be @hlezama... At least for 5 SEC. He knows my mom would stab him, hahaha.😂

It is impressive how much Faith knows you! This was a very fun conversation. Greetings for her.🤗

Next time, cook. 🙏😂

I actually cook sometimes, without protest, but yesterday I wasn't in the mood. We are fairly simple people so don't go in for very complicated recipes and most of our dinner-meals consist of salad, roasted or steamed vegetables and stuff like that. Add in some chicken or fish (Faith is vegetarian but easts seafood) and we're done. Simple food for simple people...And sometimes pizza. (Which usually we make ourselves.)

I like that line about your mum actually stabbing your dad...I bet she would too. You Latin-American ladies have a reputation of being feisty and excitable. 😂

Pizza was here Sunday night. I cooked tonight. (Tues) 4 large Oven baked potato. And 4 small steaks on the half way rebuilt grill.

Like I have said before...

Parallel Universe.
Screenshot_20210105230001_1.jpg

It's like we're in the Twilight Zone.

Bahahaahahahahaaa XD

I read this out to my sister and we agreed that if we were Faith you would have been cooking every day for at least the next two weeks XD

In reality I can't say much as J does all the cooking XD

Lol, yeah I get away with it quite lightly...I didn't cook tonight even! Faith did, a nice pasta...And she's doing the cleaning up whilst I respond to you! 🙄

You don't cook much either?

I'm kind of dangerous in the kitchen (could burn water, J reckons I should get a job as a particle accelerator XD).

Jeez dude you better clean up a hell of a lot more regularly (and the rest of the house while you're about it) the way you're going XP

I cleaned up a little this morning, now I expect a medal! 😂

LoL! XD

🥇

Gave myself one.

Faith must love you until the moon and back 😜

If you are already thinking about that if your conscience is clear or not, you are in the good path to do it right next time. Although, it was a funny conversation, and you may attempt to do it again if similar situation appears, just because it was actually a conversation that brought some smile to your face. Am I right?

😂

Faith must love you until the moon and back

She does, mostly. I can be a frustrating chap at times but thirty three years later and she's still here...And hasn't stabbed me at all...Not even a little bit.

In respect of the text exchange...We have some fun with each other and to be honest she doesn't care too much if I cook or not, or if I order pizza...Mostly. She thinks we could have done something different with the money tonight, like buy an ounce of silver, but it is what it is and we're certainly not going to have an argument about cooking. Lol.

I'm a lucky guy to have a partner like Faith, however if you ask her in isolation from me she'd say the same thing.

We have some fun with each other

Without this, 33 years would not be the same. This is one of the signs of a healthy relationship ❤️

Arguing is healthy too, and we have one now and then...Not that often though, mostly when I'm an idiot! 😂

how are you @galenkp good day.
What a beautiful day you have had, and how well I had started doing a fun activity, I'm sorry that it came out unexpectedly and cut the fun.
The conversation with his wife is typical of couples who have been together for many years, this is done when there is a lot of knowledge and trust with the other person.
I think that nobody likes to prepare dinner, I think it is a chess game, where strategies count
Happy New Year, may happiness and peace always be in your home, and may health and prosperity never be lacking

My dinner-making-avoidance strategies were in full-effect tonight. 😂

I just can't stop laughing 😂

Lol...Well, I'm always happy to know I've brought a laugh to someone. Faith and I have a bit of fun with these text messages and I'm happy to share some...Some I can't share, or won't, but I'm happy to share one now and then and if somebody gets a laugh then it's job done.

You're doing it wrong. What Shaun does is cook something so awful (sometimes even he doesn't like it), no-one wants him to cook again...ever! He now no longer gets asked to cook. He doesn't even order food, because he says that me ordering it saves myself from having to cook, so that's better for me.

Haha, yes I'm familiar with the mess it up so badly you'll never get asked again strategy but I have to mix it up lest my ruse be discovered. So, I play dumb sometimes too, which seems to come quite easy.

Also, just on making things so bad no one else will eat it, and sometimes it being so bad one won't eat it oneself...Been there. Lol.

Also, just on making things so bad no one else will eat it, and sometimes it being so bad one won't eat it oneself...Been there. Lol.

I believe that is quite a talent. Considering Shaun will eat almost anything, I was quite surprised when he messed it up that badly. On the rare occasions he made something really nice, he conveniently forgot how he did it.

Haha, yeah it's a real art to make something that bad.

I remember a while back, I lived with @tarazkp for a while in FNQ and we'd shop together, pool our money and all, and make joint meals etc. Well, this one particular day we put a few things together, that probably had no place being together and it came out looking like...Well, mush. Still, we ate it and made it again...From that point on it was officially called mush. Please don't ask me the recipe, that sort of evil is best left alone. :)

So...Even something as evil as mush is edible...Shaun is clearly a next-level innovator.

That was an amusing exchange, thanks for the chuckles. I am pretty sure I have had similar exchanges with various people, with me on differing ends.

Yeah, we have a laugh with each other sometimes...Sometimes those exchanges have amore serious note...I won't share those ones though because it's usually me getting in trouble! 🙄

Hahah I think this shows how well you can start to get to know your loved one after so many years