You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The token

in OCD4 years ago

I think your Nana would have appreciated those items! I have made up those tokens for the same reason as you did. I called my mum's mother Nana also, by the way. Funny that, huh? On my dad's side it was grandma.

I've pretty much done the eulogy...Just have to go through it again and proof it a couple times...I'll have it done, along with the other messgaes all typed, printed and ready by tomorrow night.

We are taking one of my dad's paintings to the funeral home to place next to his coffin at the service, some photos frames and his remembrance cards also...Final meeting with the funeral directors Thursday morning and then we're good to go for Monday.

I believe my dad is already in a better place, that he is with my mum. I don't know where it is, or what it might be like but he is at peace. He believed the soul leaves the body after death and that funerals are for those left behind. I agree with him. He will always be with me and I believe will be there on Monday to help ease our loss and to remind us that life goes on.

Sort:  

Yup my Mums Mum too. Funny that she was 82 when she left and I still classed her as one of my greatest ever mates. Wicked sense of humour, so warm and always surprised at how everyone she met liked her. I forget whether it was you or Taraz who said that your Dad had a sincerity that was disarming, yes that is how I would describe my Nana too.

The painting is a wonderful touch, I'm sure he would be thrilled at that.

You and I have a very similar thought about what happens after life! I was given several glimpses a few years back that reinforce that belief knowledge massively I have never been the same man since. That transformation in me taught me more than anything else that no matter how brutal life seems at times, no matter how cruel fate can seem and no matter how much these things leave us feeling trampled and broken at times. The story is far bigger than I ever dared believe.

Thinking of you all my friend. Sorrow and optimism so often come as an entwined pair.