You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beginning of forever

in OCD4 years ago

Oh, the ending!
So sad!

My favourite part was in the middle:

The door creaked as it opened and her steps echoed back into the empty house as the heels of her boots struck the porch; They felt like hammer-blows to my heart, destroying it...But no, that couldn't be; It had broken last night when she said she was leaving.

If you some day decide to leave your work you can always become a writer. Such a good story. And I love short stories.

Sort:  

Oh thanks for that! I wasn't sure how people would take this piece...Well, or as an abject failure. It wasn't the easiest thing to write for me, being a blokey bloke and all...But I thought, right before I clicked post, that it was ok. I then felt worried that it sucked and people would judge me poorly for it.

I'm really glad you liked it and yes, I like that bit too...That was easy, I just imagined someone leaving me...That's how I would feel I guess. I wrote the piece from a man's perspective as I don't know what woman would feel in this situation...Might be worth giving it a go, but I'd maybe mess it up.

I'll take your last line a a compliment. Thank you so much.

Not all an abject failure! I had to check that word from a dictionary and was surprised that you even thought of that. Abject. No, no, no. :)

But I thought, right before I clicked post, that it was ok. I then felt worried that it sucked and people would judge me poorly for it.

This is the thought I go through almost every time I write a post or a comment or answer. And too many times I cancel the answers because, well, you know "I then felt worried that it sucked."

I wrote the piece from a man's perspective as I don't know what woman would feel in this situation...

I don't know either. People are so different. Perhaps it's a mix of the hopes and dreams that get shattered and after few moths it's also the bond that has been built every hour of every day with that new person growing inside. And the constant fear coming true that you couldn't protect that helpless little creature even though you should have and that was your only and most important job. And it's the change in your body during pregnancy. Although body changing is pretty fast but it's slow enough that you get used to it and if suddenly something gets taken away from your body, you feel empty inside. Literally and figuratively.

But what I would imagine would be pretty much the same or close to losing a child during pregnancy is when the child is born and you get to spend few moths really close to the child creating a tight bond. Having happy moments but also worrying and checking every other hour if the child is still breathing when they sleep.

At least that's what I think might cross any parents mind in this kind of terrible situation.

Might be worth giving it a go, but I'd maybe mess it up.

You should try! And I think you shouldn't think of it too much how a woman would feel because they are a woman. Make that character think what you would think in any situation and that's that. :)

For an insaneworks type of character you sure make a lot of sense. I have my suspicions that you're not quite what you're pretending to be...I always thought that though.

I'm thinking I'll give the woman's perspective a go sometime. A follow-up post maybe...Part two. Maybe I could get you to ghost write it. Lol.

If I only had a brain. Do not let my occasional sentences that seem to make sense fool you.

I can't even tell you how many times I wished the same thing. Never comes true though.

So we better head of to Emerald city then. Just have to find the yellow brick road...

I'm happy to make the trip, but I think my noggin was designed around not including a brain...Not much room in there. I might have to get by on what I've got.