#My Quarantine Story | Within and above 14 days in Vietnam

in OCD4 years ago

I've seen post from both @derangedvisions' & @theycallmedan's initiative about impact of COVID-19 onto our lives and whilst everyone is also sharing how they're managing it, I thought I would also like to share mine. As such, I'm combining both initiatives onto one post.

IMG_20200204_095459.jpg
This is my daily look

What is my COVID-19 story?

The entire experience for me started on 24th Jan, a day before the start of the Lunar New Year. That was also my last official working day in Vietnam before I took the last flight back to Malaysia to celebrate the Lunar holidays with my family. All preparations for an easy going holiday turned topsy turvy with the turned of events and the emerging of COVID-19 cases in China. Though it wasn't all hyped up yet in Malaysia, but in Vietnam, the Government had made great efforts to control this.

The largest impact for me happened in early Mar when I returned back home to Malaysia to celebrate my eldest son's birthday. During that 6 days back home, it was the most worrying time for me. Everything happened so quickly and almost immediately, more countries were beginning to see rises in the confirmed cases. I should have bought a lottery ticket - I managed to leave my home country, Malaysia, a few hours before the lock down happened and arrived back in Vietnam a few hours before the lock down in Vietnam started too.

Some would call it a narrow escape between countries.

IMG_20200329_135205.jpg
This is me getting ready to take my COVID-19 test

Now, having said that, I've been on self quarantine since I returned back to Vietnam. You can read more about it on my post Ure quarantine, the police officer tells me. Unexpectedly, a follow up surprised occurred for me when I was asked to do the COVID-19 test itself. Check out my experience My COVID-19 test experience and the results is....

For me, the biggest impact occurred during the self-quarantine where I wasn't allowed outside my apartment. The local police even instructed the security to check on me and if I was to leave my apartment, they are to be informed. In addition, the security would take my temperature twice daily to monitor my progress. I never felt more like a prisoner of global health war, though I have to say I was much happier doing the self-quarantine at my own home rather than be send to the quarantine center.

Do I know anyone that has been effected with the coronavirus?

Thankfully, I do not know of anyone that has been affected by this deadly virus. Though, I have an ex-colleague who had to be quarantine at the center along with many others. This was mainly because she had returned after the isolation date. And for anyone returning after 18th Mar 00 hours will be send to the quarantine center for 14-days. Only after 14-days, if they are still tested -ve, then they will be allowed to leave the center.

How am I using this time to strengthen bonds with loved ones ?

One thing you should know is that I work in Vietnam in the service lodging industry and my family ( husband & 2 boys ) are both in Malaysia; and this has been the case for the last 12 months. When I left Malaysia on 17th Mar, Malaysia also started its lock down on the 18th Mar. Schools were closed for 2 weeks and then followed by another 2 weeks; not to mention social distancing, strict outdoors curfew and etc.

Being away from my family wasn't a new thing to me; after all with the technology that we have now, FaceTime, WhatsApp and etc allows us to talk and see each other daily. Even my parents have learned to use this technology to communicate with me.

IMG20200326WA0002.jpg
Social distancing in the lift

How is social distancing for me ?

Social distancing is of the highest level since it's a mandate in this country, only 222 confirmed cases as of today. Even then, before the mandate came down, as an employee for a Singaporean organisation, we have pretty strict protocol when crisis such as these happens. In a way, I'm glad I have best of both worlds because it makes us to be ready and always 2 steps ahead of everyone else.

IMG20200207WA0010.jpg
How we encourage our colleagues to stay safe & keep calm

IMG20200206WA0000.jpg
Sanitation stands for our residents

To further improve our efforts in social distancing, we have even initiated our Business Continuity Plans, where teams are split into 2; one is home base and the other works from home. In terms of protecting of residents, we practice social distancing by closing down the community areas such as pool, gym, residents lounge and even practice high level of sanitation procedures to ensure the safety of everyone in our service lodging properties.

IMG_20200402_075832.jpg
This used to be the local wet market and now it's empty because of the lockdown in the city

How is the world outside for me ?

There is no outside world for me anymore, in terms of physical aspects. I hardly see anyone unless deemed necessary. Then again, I do need to get fresh provisions such as meat, fish, vegetables, fruits and even dairy; this I would do it once a week when I go to the local wet market nearby my apartment. Even then, I would always wear a mask and ensure I distance myself 2 meters away from anyone else, which is easier said than done. Nevertheless, I try to take all necessary precautions for my safety and the safety of others around me.

You may think I'm being overly paranoid but in this country whereby Chinese and Koreans are our top arrivals not only because of it's attraction as a top holiday destination but also for commercial reasons, being at 222 confirmed cases only proves that whatever measures taken by the Government to contain the spreading works. When immediate new regulations such as closure of entertainment & food eateries, public transportation and cities lockdown are mandated down, everyone listens and follows without question. In some aspects, I do appreciate the communism leadership in China & Vietnam because at this point of time, such is required for the survival of the human race.

IMG_20200402_122308.jpg
My workstation at home

IMG_20200402_121745.jpg
During my break time, 3 screens to keep me entertained

It has been 70 days since COVID-19 first appear on our newsroom and it will still be here for another 70 more days. I only pray that a vaccine can be found soon before more lives are taken. It will probably take us at least 1-2 years before we can gain back our normality but for now, this is our new norm.

8gmrpewrxe.png


Sort:  

Stay safe sista !tip

Hey David.. Thanks so much.
You stay safe too..

🎁 Hi @ireenchew! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @davidke20!

@davidke20 wrote lately about: #Fitness2020 #Week14 #45Reps Day1Of5 - Sweat Bursting Out! Feel free to follow @davidke20 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

The TV is big..

ha ha.. its the little joys of being home.
No one to fight the remote control with me