QUARANBOOKS: Books I've Read During this Pandemic

in OCD4 years ago

InShot_20200907_210301221.jpg

Free time. It is one of the things that this whole quarantine gave to us. People are making the best out it and to some this drives them crazy in a sense that they don't know what to do anymore. For the first three months during the quarantine, I do nothing to kill the time. I just sit while surfing through the internet, eat plus watching tv and sleep at midnight. My routine is really boring and very unhealthy. I always told myself that I have to change this because I am wasting a lot of time. I wrote down all the things that I want to do but ended up not doing anything of it. Its me being me. Jenny being Jenny. Until I realized that I had enough so I started drawing and reading. Personally, I am not good in reading because I have a short reading retention which means that I have a hard time finishing a single book and ended up jumping books to books. As an excuse, I always remind myself that I still haven't found the right books. That's why I'm so proud to myself for being able to finished all of these. I enumerated the books according to what I read first. Dive in and I'll show you hivers!

hive dividers-04.png

Elon Musk: Tesla, SpaceX, and the Quest for a Fantastic Future is Ashlee Vance's biography of Elon Musk, published in 2015. The book traces Elon Musk's life from his childhood up to the time he spent at Zip2 and PayPal, and then onto SpaceX, Tesla, and SolarCity. I was truely captivated by his story and how he achieved all of these and became the owner of multiple companies.

hive dividers-04.png

AFTER SERIES

After is a 2014 young adult romance novel written by American author Anna Todd and published by Gallery Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster. It's first version though was published in wattpad. After is the first installment of the After Series which also has a movie adaptation that was released on 2018. It is actually a fan fiction of One Direction band but when it was printed they changed the names of the main characters. It is about the story of a heartless and ruthless man that was being dared to stole the virginity of a woman but later on he found himself completely and utterly consumed by her. While reading this, I told myself that its just another cliché teenage love story but as I go on, I genuinely find each of the characters interesting and their past stories. And I really love how the author revisited famous classical novels and impart it to her own creation.

images (2).jpeg

After We Collided is the second book of the series when Tessa knows that Hardin was dared to stole her virginity, she begins to question everything. She wants Hardin back in her life but she can't just easily forgive him. Tessa has lose many things. Hardin has nothing to lose until Tessa came into his life. A lot of dark secrets began to unravel when they decided to get back together. They aren't the normal couples that we see in the social media where they always cuddle, kiss and evrything is just perfect. Theirs? One moment they are making love and after a second they are yelling with each other. They are just so fucked up but I think that's also the thing that I like about them. They are a mess. They might be different with each other but they are also worst to be with other people. They are like a living paradox.

images (1).jpeg

After We Fell talks about different stories. Tessa's relationship to his father, and other darker stories. I think this book is one of the best in the series including the second one because its packed with drama and big revelations. You started to question why he or she was able to that or is he out of his mind. You'll got to think that the words and the actions of the same person is totally different and opposing with each other. At one point, you ship them but then after a couple of chapters you want them to break up because you think their relationship is toxic.

images (3).jpeg

After Ever Happy is the fourth book but the last book of the chronological order of the story. Frankly speaking, I don't like on how the author ended the story in an abrupt way especially in the last 10 chapters. It just seems that she wants to immediately give us that happy ending. If you have read the books before this you might ask yourself, "Why can't they just marry each other" or "When will this author gjve the readers what they want?" but when you reach there its just so fast. But I really love and enjoy the first chapters of this book.

images (4).jpeg

Before is the last book of this series which literally means the life of Hardin before he met Tessa and some of character's story. For me, the first 10 chapters were a bit boring because its just the same events from the first book the only difference is that its Hardin's POV. Later on, I actually enjoyed it to know what he's been thinking, his inner turmoil, his setback of being better or to stay like who he was. It's sad to think that the story of this fucked up couple has come to an end.

hive dividers-04.png

images (5).jpeg

Pride and Prejudice is a classic romantic novel of manners written by Jane Austen in 1813. The novel follows the character development of Elizabeth Bennet, the dynamic protagonist of the book and a rude and mocking man named Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy. I think its the most revolutionary feminist novel that I've read which a woman named Ms. Bennet at that era has a courage to reject Mr. Darcy when he treated her poorly even though he possessed a great amount of fortune which tends to be a big before. I also collected my favorite lines in the books below:

"I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! -- When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library."

"A lady's imagination is very rapid; it jumps from admiration to love, from love to matrimony in a moment."

"It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife."

"There are few people whom I really love, and still fewer of whom I think well. The more I see of the world, the more am I dissatisfied with it; and every day confirms my belief of the inconsistency of all human characters, and of the little dependence that can be placed on the appearance of merit or sense."

"I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that I had begun."

"Angry people are not always wise."

"Vanity and pride are different things, though the words are often used synonymously. A person may be proud without being vain. Pride relates more to our opinion of ourselves, vanity to what we would have others think of us."

"What are men to rocks and mountains?"

"I could easily forgive his pride, if he had not mortified mine."

"I must learn to be content with being happier than I deserve."

"I have not the pleasure of understanding you."

"I am the happiest creature in the world. Perhaps other people have said so before, but not one with such justice. I am happier even than Jane; she only smiles, I laugh."

"I never wish to be parted from you from this day on."

hive dividers-04.png

images (6).jpeg

The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Andersen is a tragic one sided fairytale love story. This version is really different on how the Disney portrayed it because the movie showed that they live happily ever after but in the book the Little Mermaid died because the prince didn't love and marry her. It is indeed heartbreaking but whats worst is that the Little Mermaid had given the chance to save her own life by killing the prince but she can't hurt him in any way. What has love gotten her? She lost her tail. She lost her voice. She lost her life.

hive dividers-04.png

images (7).jpeg

The Great Gatsby is a 1925 novel written by American author F. Scott Fitzgerald that follows a cast of characters living in the fictional towns of West Egg and East Egg on prosperous Long Island in the summer of 1922. Many literary critics consider The Great Gatsby to be one of the greatest novels ever written. As a reader, I am angry, mad and sad by this story because there are a lot and few things that happen. Confusing isn't? A lot in terms of the backstory of the male character how it changed him. He thought that he's going to get what he truly desire- a woman. Later on, I realize that his inlove with the idea of her the way she represented wealth and their distant past. Its also heartbreaking because he died at the end of the chapter because he tries to cover up the mistake of his love. This book will give you a roller coaster ride.
Hello once again! Heads up hivers! Jenny Mauring here! I am a lady with light in her eyes, love in her bones and a sucker of artsy and creatives. Come and visit my blog @jmauring to check out my content. You can also connect with me in my Instagram account, that's @jmauring too. Stay happy, healthy and crazy.
Sort:  

Congratulations @jmauring! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive UK Community
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day

Amazing work you have done. Same as me, I have gotten a couple of books and I was reading during this quarantine. I have Anna Todd's books in my library but I haven't read it yet. I also have the great gatsby which is a classic but I haven't read either. I am currently reading Kevin Harts book (I could not make this up)

Your selection is amazing.

Those are amazing books but I suggest to read the "The Great Gatsby" first. Wow, I didn't know Kevin Hart is an author. I actually love him because he is so funny.

He is. I guess i would read the great gatsby next then.
Thanks

The Great Gatsby is an amazing book. Thabk you for your recommendation I will add it in my library.