Why I am not a pilot!

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

222.JPG

Today I want to show you the true meaning of Grace!

First the reckless test and then 2 eye tests!

In some ways I am one of those reckless souls that sets my mind at times on doing risky things.

I was called up to perform my compulsory army service in 1970, but I doged a year, as I loved my life too much at that hippie stage. Long hair, jeans, t-shirt an my motorbike was more important than the army.
After "visits" by the military police asking about my whereabouts, I relented and enlisted the folling year.

151.JPG

I was super fit due to being a boxer for some years and I passed the army fitness tests with high scores, ideal for a pilot.
When the position was offered, I grabbed it, but first I had to do some eye tests and sadly failed due to colorblindness. I cannot distinguish between the different shades of colors.

121 (2)_LI.jpg

Today I saw the blessing about me not becoming a pilot.
You saw the light plane above and you can see the little yellow cross in the picture above?
If I was a pilot I would aim the plane at that yellow cross to fly through the cloud.
Imagine what fun that would be!

182.JPG

This is why I am not a pilot.
Entering the plane at that yellow cross would have been my last action on earth, as this mountain above was covered by that cloud.

Now I understand Grace!

First eye test!

Now for the sharpness of sight I have above average function.
Let me show you below!

335.JPG

What do you see in this green "Bottle Brush" tree above?

324 (2).JPG

This is what I saw, a little "Cape White eye" pecking around!

181.JPG

And that's not all, as here is a "Red Collared Barbet" singing a love song in the same tree!

Here's the second eye test below!

167.JPG

What do you see in this tall palm like tree?

164.JPG

Gotcha! Look what sits hidden in there at the top!

143 (2).JPG

For those that read this post, here is a Papillon (butterfly) for you!

So, according to my imagination, had I passed that eye test in the army, I would have died today, running that light plane into the cloud.
The Man up there obviously loves me and you know what?
I am thankful that I failed that test, but I also think that the heavens got tired of rescuing me every time.
Somebody up there said; "Him, fly"? "Never, as we have our hands full with him in any case"! hahaha.

And That's All Folks!

Note; all photos are my own, unedited and cropped for uploading.
Camera used: Canon Powershot SX60HS.

We hope everyone had a great day/night and that you enjoyed the pictures and the story here.

Thank you for the visit to a post by @papilloncharity

Sort:  

Hahahaha, I read it til the end! :D

Thank you and I am so glad to see a good reader.
Glad also that you liked the post dear friend.

Blessings!

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 28500 replies. Your next target is to reach 29000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Thank you kindly and we wish a good week to all of you!

You're welcome @papilloncharity 👍🙂
liz

I think everything that happens in life has a meaning and is good for something.

Was it coincidence that you have not become a pilot, or was it meant that many years later you can to tell a great story which makes an Austrian mountain goat smile, as @janton would say 😉

I loved your story, my friend, and you are right, I didn't see what you saw in the images 😁


Cheers and !BEER
!tip

So true Sir Johann, there are no coincidences, as everything has some or other reason.

That is a very true story my friend and I have files of the stuff in me head. Every time that something matches a file's reason, I close the file finally. Lol.
Jokes aside, things happen to us that we deem to be a nightmare at the time, but years later we understand that it was for our own good.

@janton has gone very quiet and I wonder if he is still on esteem?
I went back on esteem for a while after their change to hive, but my teplies were not calculated for some reason on Hive, so I pulled out until it settles.

Glad that I could get an old and blind Austrian mountain goat to smile. Hahaha

Cheers and thank you!

Sometimes I think of what could have been if I did only one thing different ... maybe I'd be rich and have a house at the beach, but then I might not have the ones I love most of all in this world and my family would be the family of someone else. No, I have done everything right and all that happened has lead me to where I am now :)

Oh, @janton is not really gone, he visits me from time to time and he's also on Steem sometimes. At the moment he is building up an own business and therefore he has no time for the blockchain.

I use eSteem only when I have no computer nearby and have to use my phone, but I didn't have any issues with it yet.

The Austrian goat is still smiling, because he's going to bed now - a busy working week will begin in a few hours 😉


Cheers and !BEER

I think most of think aboutv the different things that we could have done my friend.
But those are what I call useless illusions.
Wec are what we are and we am where we are supposed to be. Those that say that you can create your own destiny has not added in the surprises that life holds in store for each of us.

The saying is that; "you can make your plans, but then life happens"!

I know the janton also had his wife on his back about the time that he spent online.
Wish him only luck with his new business.

Yeah, Austrian goats nedd much sleep to perform at optimum hahaha!
By the time that you see this it will be the next evening lol.

Blessings and thank you!

That saying is good and very right - you have always to think that life might have other plans than you 😉

Yes, janton's wife has always had a look that he does something else besides commenting and posting on the Steem/Hive blockchain too 🙂

You are right, for me it's already almost bedtime again ;) Tonight will be a good night, because an hour ago it began to rain and cool down a bit.


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Now guess what!

At this late hour we now also have some soft rain. I think it is in preparation for the storm that's coming on Thursday.

Life can certainly prove us wrong on many occasions my friend. "I wanted to do this and then that happened" I am sure that you have this before lol.

Agreed on Janton's case. Miss his banter and his cowboy stories!

I will say a hearty good night to you here and hope that your dreams are lulled by the soft sounds of rain!

Ps. I still have some time to go as I want to talk to a friend that's 7 hours ahead of us. It's now 5:30am there!

Good morning @papilloncharity, or whenever you read this ;)

It rained all night long and cooled down, but in the morning the streets were almost dry and I can already see the blue sky 🙂


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !
Votet @cervisia for Witness

Thank you kindly Sir @johannpiber


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @papilloncharity! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @johannpiber!

@johannpiber wrote lately about: Knautia To Knot : Alphabethunt Feel free to follow @johannpiber if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you kindly Sir @johannpiber

When I saw the airplane for the first time, I asked my mom what was that she told me it was a big bird but fly by a human. I was a kid then and suddenly I told her I want to fly a plane... I always admire the Pilot profession and I respect them too...

My second professional choice was to become Pilot and 3rd was Airhostress... So if I haven't got the opportunity to study in architecture then maybe I would have tried for airforce.. :D

Beautiful pictures with a meaningful writing my dear...

Well, like I always say, there are no coincidences and everything happens for a reason. Imagine if you were a pilot, or an air hostess in a plane that fell out of the sky???
You wouldn't be here today my dear friend!

Blessings and thank you!

Yes, anything can happen... Life is so unpredictable according to me, I have no idea about tomorrow...
Have a nice day my friend...

None of us have any idea about tomorrow my dear friend.
That's why we have to do our best every day to make our tomorrows better.

Blessings to you!

Ahahahah. Nice that you avoided that career, then! 😄

Great photos, as always!

Amazing how life can show us the truth my friend.

Thank you for the visit!

Rather not see going into cloud like that, more like feel your way around. One trip back from Cape Town to Johannesburg many years ago pilot hit a pocket inside cloud, plane dropped about 3 stories high in 3 seconds flat, free drinks were issued immediately after ha ha....

Seeing in the distance is mainly what counts then zooming in to identify, great fun, yup we may yearn for wings but how good is the eyesight!

Have an awesome week Stephen.

Ah! How well do I remember those old army Dakotas. One moment you are flying and the next moment your stomach sits around your ears. But we got used to it and Dakota has one of the best flying records.
They called it the plane that couldn't fly due to it's design faults, but it surprised all.

Oh yeah, I am lucky to spot the slightest movement and you know the capabilities of our Canon's zooms.

May you guys also have a great week Lady Joan!