My Quarantine Story - Can I make a difference??????

in OCD4 years ago

Life Before Covid

This lockdown has been really getting to me. It wasn't too long ago I started doing client work to get me out of the house. Having worked at home for so long so I could be a full-time mum yet provide at the same time, lead to a situation where I craved social interaction. I missed having work friends. I missed being valued by an employer and colleagues. I missed adult company. I missed being appreciated. Everything I did was for my family and there was never anything for me. No time, no kind words, no help, no appreciation. I had no balance in life.

So in September, I took on some client work that would see me based in an office for one week a month. This was a perfect situation. I could still be a full-time mum most of the time and continue to work around the kids. Things didn't change much for them, childcare 1 week a month ain't that bad. But for me, it was a new lease of life. a new and happy balance.

Life during Covid

Damn Covid, Now I'm trapped back at home and I have been finding it rather difficult. Everything I was trying to change. I was enjoying my new set up so much. I feel bad that I am finding this all so difficult on a personal level when there is such a big problem in the world right now. I should be more grateful to have this time with my kids. My mum has pneumonia, which is not covid related, but she is at high risk. I can't even give her a hug. Before all this, I would see her daily. This could really change the world. Many people have died and many more to come. I am scared. how long will this go on? how many people will die? what about the economy? Everyone will be touched by this somehow. I shouldn't be so selfish wanting a more balanced life.

Can I make a difference?

At a minimum, most of the world is on some sort of social distancing. Many are on complete lockdown. All aimed at making a difference. Although it's hard, we are told it's making a difference. But if this difference is getting me down so much, there must be something I can do that could make a difference and make me feel good at the same time!!!

So I decided to try to do something positive, something that could maybe help. So I reached out to all the Excel Experts I know, and many I don't know and asked them if they would create an Excel course with me, where 100% of the funds will be donated to some sort of COVID relief fund. Nearly every one of them said yes. Many of them are Microsoft MVPs that would have a very large reach. Massive social followings, large email lists, and detailed student databases. I haven't got the actual figures but combined we could easily have a reach of over 5m people, if not more. I have top experts from all over the world, experts that often sell out conferences. 27 experts. And this course is priced to sell almost anywhere in the world. At only $10 it will be affordable and provide awesome value. I am hoping we can make a lot of money and do some good in this scary time.

I have a lot to do to get this going and I have set tight deadlines too. I am hoping it will be live by the first week of May. A lot of coordination is needed. Everything from the syllabus to whos doing what and when. the pressure is on. I don't think I have ever taken on anything so big. I hope I can make a difference.

masterexcel_sm.jpg

Stay safe everyone - stay well. we can all make a difference, even if it is only small.

It might be late, but I hope this post is accepted by @theycallmedan as part of his #QuarantineLife Initiative

Sort:  

What a wonderful gesture my friend. If you feel like that imagine how those feel that have actually lost their parents to this covid thing.
Imagine how many more is at risk and what destruction this thing is happily sowing.
Feel proud of yourself and replace the fear with a strong hope that your selfless efforts will contribute to the struggle to help others.
I take my hat off to you!
Well done!

May it be that you and yours will remain untouched by this scourge.
Blessings and take care!

I can not even begin to imagine how ot feel to lose someone due to this. The entire thing is very scary. Stay safe and thanks for reading 😃

Yep! It is a nightmare out there and I hope that the scramble for a vaccine will have positive results soon.
You guys also take care my friend!

That’s awesome! I’ll be tuning into the content for sure. Will you be posting it to the excel website? I think it’s excel for all, right?

If it’s something I can swing, I think I’ll give it a purchase!

That’s a much different thing to do but I think it gives you a lot of drive, doesn’t it? It’s daunting for sure but also kind of thrilling. Most I’ve reached is 100 people at once lol

It will be on it own website as it needs to be held within a course management platform. These tend to be expensive, but I got the company I use for mine to donate one. But I will for sure link to the course within the Excel for All community. Wait till you see the names I have enlisted. I was suprised myself so many said yes

I hope you are able to get this set up. It would be cool to check out sorry I can't help make it.

It will be great, the feedback from everyone about it has really been amazing. So much so I will be for sure pushing on. Stay tuned because i am sure i will be posting more about it soon

Some people have been finding it helpful to take a short drive or walk/jog/run daily to get out of the house. If that is something that is permitted to do in your area maybe that give a short break you need daily. It also still keeps people distancing by doing these activities.

Yea I have been getting exercise with the kids
I have never done so much in my life. But I am still really feeling all of this. Crazy times. Stay safe

I feel bad that I am finding this all so difficult on a personal level when there is such a big problem in the world right now.

What is going on in the world with others shouldn't, and doesn't, negate how you feel at this time or any other. All of your fears: Economy, the length of the virus, your mum...Are all valid and the same most are feeling.

Your feeling of selfishness? Nah, you're not selfish, just human, and that's ok.

I think any initiative around keeping the mind (and body) active in this time is valuable and it seems you are on the right track.

I'm sorry, my comment doesn't say much of any real import; It's simply a show of solidarity in this difficult time.

P.s. I wish the best for your mum, and all others around you.

Your comment IS important. Especially during these times of isolation. Thank you so much for ur support and for stopping by 😃

You're welcome.

crossposted this in the covid19 community*

Thanks for the cross post 😃

This is such a big thing. It's devastating. On so many levels as I have said in a couple of my posts. I am also glad you are able to do something. My little effort I the village was spurned in such a way that it left me feeling dirty and angry. People are very strange when they are scared.

Trusting your Mum recovers. May you and your family stay well.

Dear Paula,
bein a sort of introvert, I don't suffer as much in my self-imposed quarantine (at my age, a precautionary measure). I have not been to my studio (across town) since March 10th, but plan on it after Easter. What I do miss are the cancelled art openings, exhibitions where my work would have been shown, and meeting my artist friends at those occasions.
In the meantime, I have been adding Corona Virus information to my artist website and blog :
Corona Virus Resources
https://www.artofthemystic.com/corona-virus-resources.html
Good Health to you! Stay safe!