How I Got Downvotes for using the "Introduce Yourself " Tag

in OCD2 years ago (edited)

Good day, Hivians...

I was going through my notifications today and was really happy at the number of positive reviews I was having on my recent post. I was excited not because of the reactions alone, but because I am starting to see why being consistent pays.

But I was shocked when I went through my post from two days ago about my introduction to a community called Hive Learners.

Okay a little back story.

While exploring through communities to engage in 3 days ago I came across a community and the name "Hive Learners".

The community aims to enlighten more people about the Hive Blockchain. I quote the description from the community page:

Welcome To Hive Learners Community. We are aiming to create a friendly environment where we will learn, teach & improve our skill together and thrive in the Hive Blockchain.
We will be following a dynamic roadmap where every user will go through different stages of tasks & homeworks which will help them to gain more knowledge about Hive Blockchain and basic tips & ideas about blogging.

So I was excited about the prospect of this new group and when I subscribed, I saw a post that stated that every one in the community has to go through a verification process where you introduce yourself... I was like, that's fine...

I did my intoductory post and followed all instructions which included using the "introduce yourself" tag, my country and HL-INTRO. i was excited to join the group so what was the big deal about it...

But then came the downvotes on my post😌😢😰
Not one, not two but about 8 of them😩. I was extremely shocked.

Downvotes.png
I was shocked and wondered what could have warranted I received such many downvotes. I searched and searched until I came across this👇 in the community post about the introduction:

Comments.png

Little did I know that there was this rule...

What's more painful is I got a downvote from one of the few persons I respect so much in the Hive community @livinguktaiwan.

And that brings me to my main conversation for today:

Can we have a comprehensive list of the do's and don'ts around here?

Apart from the obvious rules most communities implement such as NO to plagiarism, restrictions on certain political and religious speeches, muting abusive users and so on...There are certain rules that not so everyone is aware of.

I was obviously not aware of the fact that one cannot use the "intoduce yourself" tag twice as it would mean spamming the communities for more votes. And I believe there are other rules that are implicative such as this one that we should all be aware of.

The Hive Learners Community is seeking to actually implement this but I believe it was a mistake on their part in the first place to commit. Although, that's why a community like that is needed to make many people know about things they shoud do and not do.

This is very important and I really feel it should be attended my anyone who has sufficient knowledge on certain things new Hiveans shouldn't do.

Thanks for reading.

26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqwtpNwDpGjEeTGazUPgVtYcoFGeTice28nrRRTwJZAwGC47HgcQ8LbnA895RwiAujDC6ASwwvnA2obo2jkxfpWMFTkfnwofeu9aEPfxwu1d4gn2.png

In my subsequent post, Ill be making a video on "The Basic Rules for New Hiveans". I'll appreciate if someone with a whole lot of experience on the Hive Blockchain shares a link or comment below on the things we all should take note of.

Follow me to keep in touch as I seek to enlighten while also learning.

Day 14 of Consistent Blogging.
26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqwtpNwDpGjEeTGazUPgVtYcoFGeTice28nrRRTwJZAwGC47HgcQ8LbnA895RwiAujDC6ASwwvnA2obo2jkxfpWMFTkfnwofeu9aEPfxwu1d4gn2.png

Sort:  

If you started a new job today, you would probably be asked in a Staff meeting to introduce yourself, which is expected. And while "on the clock" (getting paid for it), you would be allowed to talk about yourself for a few minutes so your coworkers would get to know you. However, do you think you would be allowed to "introduce yourself" again the following day, spouting he same information and get "paid for it" a second time? And a third time the third day? Every time we write a post on Hive, we are "expecting" to be paid (unless we "Decline Rewards" in Settings). That is why multiple introductions are frowned upon. You introduced yourself to the entire Hive blockchain last year, so why do it again and expect to make money on the re-introduction?

I don't know that we need a "You Should Not Do This" document to explain this.

For what it's worth, I also see a problem with the tags on your post...

First, you posted to the "OCD" community and you used OCD as a tag, too, so two of your tags were used trying to scream at OCD for attention on your post. Then, you also screamed for attention by tagging Appreciator and Curie. Tagging curation accounts in this manner is also not good, and a waste of tags. Do you really think OCD, Appreciator, and Curie will look at all of the 20,000 posts that tag them every day? Certainly not! It is "attention seeking" behavior, and accomplishes nothing. If your posts are really good, the curation accounts will find you, no need to stand on the roof and wave your arms at them.

Second, your tags are in the incorrect order. The first five tags are used to "index" posts on the blockchain, so those first five tags are the most important. Your first tags should always be topic-related, so "#30DAYBLOGGINGCHALLENGE" and "#30DAYCHALLENGE" should come first, followed by "#LEARNING." After topic tags, Community tags should come next, so that's where "#LOVINGHIVE" should go. It is odd that you didn't tag "#HiveLearners" as well. Last should come Tribe tags, as those are always applied, even if not indexed. You didn't include any of those here, so that's no problem. But, changing the order of your tags would be good, especially for finding posts again a few years from now.

"BRAVO! to you for wanting to learn and for the effort to blog consistently! 🙂

This is very helpful...

I'll take note on all you've said starting with editing the tags on this post.

Thanks once again.

I apologize for my errors.

Hey, no apologies necessary, as we all have to learn these things sometime! 🙂

some points learned here.. thanks @thekittygirl 🤗

All this coaching...And his very next post is plagiarised.

OMG, seriously...? That is very disappointing. 🙁

Indeed. @millycf1976 addressed it as did a few others, myself included. I have no time for it. Too many good people out there working hard and being minimally rewarded for me to tolerate people like this. I really want to zero out this post of his also...I might yet.

Thank you for letting me know!

People like this should be stamped out. It's not a good look for the blockchain...And he's talking about doing posts about how to do it right. Laughable...Only, not a laughing matter at all is it really? Make some examples of these types, and keep doing so, and they will disappear.

Yes. It certainly shows a person's true colours. I'm waiting for him to complain about the downvote and then...Well, we'll see huh?

If you want to learn from people on Hive, learn from those who know what they're doing. It seems The Hive Learner community has absolutely no idea what they're doing and is leading you all blind into a black hole. There are other more knowledgeable support communities around on Hive who are in a much better position to lead you. The Terminal led by @thekittygirl and @brittandjosie, and the Newbies Initiative led by @starstrings01 and @aliento both have a lot more experience in guiding newbies and yo will be in better hands with them.

Thank you for the mention! 😊

Ok, thanks for the advice...

@starstrings01 is a very close friend and I should probably have consulted him before making such a mistake.

And I'll do well to go through The Terminal, Newbies Initiative and @newbies-guide...

I apologize for my mistakes.

Hey brother! You know, I am only one call away.

Thank you so much for the mention 🤗

He can really do with some help, he's just been caught plagiarising. Can it get any worse?

Ah! Plagiarising 🤦🏻‍♂️ I had talked to him about that before and he had experienced the wrath of hivewatchers before he was freed so I thought maybe he understood what should and should not be done.

Still surprised he would plagiarize.

he had experienced the wrath of hivewatchers before...

...and then clearly continued to plagiarise. It's not a good look.

Thank you very much for the mention @livinguktaiwan, maybe he can join the terminal or indeed smile when he knows star.

We will have to see

Either way, he'll be in much better hands

"In my subsequent post, Ill be making a video on "The Basic Rules for New Hiveans". I'll appreciate if someone with a whole lot of experience on the Hive Blockchain shares a link or comment below on the things we all should take note of."

Before making a video, perhaps look through the dozens of posts for newbies collected by the @newbies-guide project. The collection was written by many Hiveans and contain a wealth of information. Many thanks to @livinguktaiwan for spearheading that fabulous collection of guides! Once you have read all those posts, you might be ready to make a video.

I'll do well to go through that. Many thanks for the guide.

The @newbies-guide is very helpful.

Never knew there was such a collection.

I think we already met in the comments at your intro, so goodmorning

In my subsequent post, Ill be making a video on "The Basic Rules for New Hiveans". I'll appreciate if someone with a whole lot of experience on the Hive Blockchain shares a link or comment below on the things we all should take note of.
I would say that after 14 days I would leave that idea. First learn and read as much as you can.
There are certain rules that not so everyone is aware of.
Did you read all that hive is? Or just the communities?

Again love the enthousiastic manner but use your time wise. Go for it , you will
Be here a long time

Thank you...

I'll do well to go through all the post and learn as much as I can.

His very next post is plagiarised...So, probably won't be around for a long time.

He probably won’t , thanks for letting me know. Hope you are fine

Those downvotes aren't really that big of a deal in my opinion. It's mostly because you dipped into the reward pool with the same content twice and it only removed about $3 in rewards in total.

Yeah...

But the reason for the post is about making people aware of these things...
I'm not too concerned about the downvotes but I'm mostly concerned I didn't know the rule.

Congratulations @profgabs05! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 13
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10

Please don't do this, you have no clue.

Screenshot_20220116-185146_Brave.jpg