Who is SunnySpooky

in OCD2 years ago (edited)

One of the first things you are supposed to do on Hive is write an introduction. Normally, I enjoy whipping up an article.

This post?

Not so much.

turtlesheell300.png

In the interest of stepping outside my comfort zone and addressing whatever fear I have when asked to talk about myself, I thought I’d give this a try.

divider30.png


SunnySpooky…what kind of name is that?

A screen name, of course. That isn’t precisely true, it is a combination of the two names I use most often.

Spooky

neven-krcmarek-2Ni0lCRF9bw-unsplash.jpeg

Spooky because of my love for Halloween.

What isn’t to like about a happy holiday filled with ghost stories, haunted houses, candy, and fun? Sidebar: I grew up in one of two known locations where it is common practice on beggars night to tell a joke at every door for you to receive your treat. Not until college did I find out the practice of having to tell a joke to receive candy wasn’t common everywhere. My favorite joke back then and now:

Best joke in the world


Sunny

Sunny is not part of my pseudonym because I like bright, sunny days. I’m not overly fond of that fireball in the sky because of the sunburns it inevitably leads to. No, despite what it may seem like after that complaint, “Sunny” as in a positive outlook on life and a strong belief the glass is half full.

Why put the two screen names together? Believe it or not, both Spooky and Sunny appear to be common names in games and on websites. Those imposters!

divider30.png


Spooky Pumpkin look familiar?

Occasionally, somebody will recognize my pumpkin profile pic. Over time it happens less, but years ago I covered a PC game being developed by Obsidian Entertainment for My.com.


They still have an interview with me if you are interested.

scary spooky pumpkinhalf.png


I ended up leaving Armored Talk behind because it was taking up too much of my time. Daily research and posts ended up being more effort and time-consuming than when I had a full-time career.

divider30.png


Why here, why now?

Good question. Even though I decided not to spend the majority of my life’s energy writing for a website, a part of me still misses it. Although it is a great feeling to have people rely on you for information and read what you write, it is also something I enjoy doing. People hated writing assignments in college. I was that sick person who thought they were fun.

On Hive, with no time pressure for the next article or a rush to get breaking news out quickly, it will be differing. I’m hoping to enjoy writing about what I want to write about when I want to write about it. What kind of topics should you expect from me?

  • Play to earn games
  • Gods Unchained
  • Fun facts
  • Positive news or events
  • Boardgames
  • ??????
  • ??????

divider30.png

What else do you do?

The most important thing in the world to me is enjoying the time I have left with the sweetest person you’d ever meet, my beautiful wife.

Beyond that, I’m one of several moderators of the iOS gaming sub on Reddit and a volunteer mod on a few official game discords. This past summer I started serving my second 7-year term on my local public library board of trustees. Hey, maybe the joke above was a premonition?

Staying healthy, eating right and remaining physically active have far-reaching implications for all of us, but this is an area that needs working on.


Boilerplate resume stuff….double majored in Mathematics and History, taught for a while, tried my hand at entrepreneurship, then spent a career in Information Technology. I might be retired from IT, or perhaps I’m just on sabbatical. I’ll let you know when I know for sure. For now, I’m continually tracking down the next opportunity to help my community, volunteer, or go on an adventure.

Oh! Coffee, I like coffee!!

This may have been a bit on the bland side for an introductory post that @traciyork & @lovesniper suggested I do, but that is alright. I try to lead a frugal and simple life, and it’d be my honor if you happen to pop in now and then to read something I write.


Image sources:

Shy Moon: https://unsplash.com/photos/2Ni0lCRF9bw
Encountering a shy turtle: https://unsplash.com/photos/Bv8ew2s-f4A
Divider: https://pixabay.com/vectors/divider-separators-colorful-design-2461548/

Sort:  

Are you kidding me? This intro was anything but bland - nicely done @sunnyspooky (and I gotta say since I didn't before - awesome handle!). I can't wait to see your posts on ?????? because it's one of my favorite topics... 😂

Seriously though, nice bunch of interests you've got so I don't doubt you'll never lack for content. And while I never wrote full time as you did (though I minored in it at college), I will say there is definitely a wonderful feeling to just write what you want, when you want.

Few more communities you might want to take a peek at, now that I know more of your interests -

Cinnamon Cup Coffee

Haveyoubeenhere Community

Blockchain Gaming

Last bit - not to be a stickler, but when you share images that aren't your own (even if they're "free to use"), it's considered good form on Hive to include a source link, or at the very least make mention that you don't own it (and if that's the case, it shouldn't be the main part of your post - like, sharing a professional photo and saying, "isn't this cool" which is so preventative on other social media). I'm probably overexplaining it (it's my super power 😂), but thought I'd shout out so you'd know & maybe edit the post before someone takes issue with that amazing Shy Moon photo (which matches nicely with your Shy Turtle find...lol!).

Oh, and for the record, I love Halloween too. 🎃 💛

Hey, thank you for the kind words, encouragement, and for reading! I've been on the Blockchain Gaming community but I will definitely check the other two out as well.

Also thank you for the heads up on the images. I was careful to select ones that permissions were set to free to use, even commercially. I'll have to look back over the newbie guide to see the best way of attributing these types of images in the future but for now added source links on the bottom of the article. Hopefully, that will be alright.

As for Halloween....how could anyone not like it is beyond me! ;)

You're very welcome, and links at the bottom definitely work! Sometimes I get fancy and link the image, but most times I'll either link at the bottom, or right under the picture like it's the caption - whatever strikes my fancy at that particular moment. 😊

And completely spaced asking before, but have you jumped onto the OCD Discord? You're probably already aware, but there's a channel there devoted to Gods Unchained that you might want to check out as well.

Oh, and speaking of Halloween love, even though it's a ways away still, figured I'd let you know that the always awesome @hivebuzz team offers a Halloween badge every year. How cool is that? 😁

Oh wow, yes I'll be all over @hivebuzz Halloween badge this year, thanks for the heads up!

The funny thing about the OCD Discord is I joined it for the tournament a little while back but didn't make the connection to OCD here on Hive right away for some reason. That is sort of embarrassing!

LOL! No worries - not like Hive isn't already a bit confusing without throwing Discord in the mix. Not surprising you might not make the connection. Feel free to tag me in general-chat if you ever pop in and have a question (or just want to say, "hi"). 😊

Welcome sunnyspooky!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Well, I'll speak for all #Hivians when I say we are as pleased as Punch to have you here in our humble ecosystem! 🤚 I'm personally trying to get more consistent with my content, but my #Hive life right now consists mostly of: curation, playing RISING STAR and DCity... and just generally trying to learn as much as I can. Life has made everything tricky lately though. I hope you're doing well overall, and that you grow to !LUV your time here. Cheers! 🙏

Thank you for the welomee! I haven't looked at Rising Star or DCity yet but I'll add them to my list.

While life has been tricky for many (all?) of us part of what makes it worth living is the variety it can throw at us.

Congratulations @sunnyspooky! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!