A discussion on reposting abuse

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Some time back, on what must be closing in on a year ago, @nonameslefttouse started the #Sunday-Showcase initiative - a call to repost old content that we as contributors consider repostable - I think I have taken part in about half to three quarters of them so far. I like the initiative as it essentially revives old memories and demonstrates some of the path that has led me to today - and it is fantastic to be prompted to go back and read the comments and reminded to check in on people who might have gone a little quiet. The worst thing about it is, all the grammar errors and typos I pick up, which I try to catch and correct.

line.png

Reposting has always been a bit of a sticking point on Hive as it is dipping into the rewards pool more than once and many, many more times for some people - who farm by continually posting the same content, over and over again. The problem is that there are times that reposts are suitable (in my opinion) as there are times that something from the past is relevant to whatever is going on now, something that benefits users today - but I see this as a rare case scenario that most don't need to employ - yet, some do far too often.


Here is a post called, To Re: or not to Re: from three years ago I wrote on the topic that cited these reasons for reposting.

  • Higher quality content should be seen
  • With an increase in membership it puts new eyes on good content
  • Authors did not receive the 'real' value of good content
  • It creates a view of increasing quality

But read the post if interested in a little more depth.


The death of #Showcase-Sunday?

This week, on my Showcase Sunday post, I got a message from Hivewatchers about copy pasting and reposting and how it is seen as abuse. Yes, it can be abused for sure, but is this particular usage considered abusive? Meh, everyone has an opinion, I am sure.

@Hivewatchers have a new bot that trawls the blockchain for similar content to uncover abusive activity - but I have no idea about what variables they use. This is a bit of an issue for any initiative that looks to unearth and reward past gems (something that is not easy to do with a search), as those who take part will be considered plagiarists or scammers in some way - regardless of intention.

However, after some initial discussions with a couple confidants, we came to the preliminary conclusion that it is better to potentially kill initiatives like #showcase-sunday than allow rampant reposting abuse. However, I do think that in doing so a lot of color and fun might be lost along the way, as well as new followers missing out on the best of an authors past, content that might engage them even further.

I don't know if there is a solution to this issue as something like tag exclusion will get abused and become contentious, author whitelists the same. Abuse is an area that has to be well thought out, but fighting it is treading a fine line between limiting the worst and stifling growth and for now, there is unlikely to be some perfect algorithm to find the line.

What I do know though is that being on a blacklist as a contributor isn't a great position to be in on Hive, as it affects audience perception and the audience may have no understanding of why a person appears there.

I dislike the reposting on other sites where every four hours the same Tweet gets recycled, as if it is a tickertape running at the bottom of the screen on a news channel - but, if a post is 3 years old and is evergreen content, that might be something different, as it is very likely I have never seen it before.

There has been a lot of talk about SEO the last week or two and I do not know how this affects it, but I do think that having a mass of content that can be consumed at anytime could become a significant percentage of the links into Hive as well as support engagement and audience growth - especially when there is decent content discovery mechanisms introduced. Perhaps at some point, there will also be a way to keep content "live" so that no matter when someone comes across it, it can earn residuals - SMTs?

As said, I don't know what is best for the ecosystem, but my past experience tells me that limiting abuse is very necessary, even if it might limit a portion of non-abusive actions. Of course, everyone is free to post and do as they please on Hive, but it generally comes with some level of consequence of action. In this case, I would err on the side of keeping abuse limited, rather than fight for the freedom to repost old work, even if I think there may be value in doing so.

However, it is very possible that there are other solutions that could keep "old post" initiatives alive without increasing the potential for abuse. So, if you have any ideas - add a comment below.

It will be interesting to see what kinds of topics come up around this.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

My original vision for #showcase-sunday involved reworking old content into something new. I have no clue why folks were simply re-posting but when I wrote that post describing my vision I did also say I'm not here to tell people how to run their blogs. There's also a lighthearted line in the post describing the vision I had stating "you're doing it wrong if you're just doing it to be lazy."

One of my approaches was to combine several old posts from a series I had created over time, plus adding commentary. At least two of those posts had over 10000 words once I was finished with them. A couple Showcase Sunday posts were ten or eleven posts combined into one, plus commentary.

I mentioned how some folks simply post one picture, no words, and call that a post, consistently. I suggested for showcase sunday something like, "Why not try a different approach? Take many of your favorite or best photos from the past, add some commentary, and showcase your talents?"

It was meant to be a highlight reel of sorts but at the same time I was hoping folks would be creative with their own approach.

There's also a huge difference between spamming and running a rerun. As a responsible content creator, you own your content and are allowed to do whatever you want with it. If you're an irresponsible content creator, you will repost the same nonsense nobody gave a shit about over and over, annoy your following, alienate everyone else, and end up going in reverse instead of advancing.

As a responsible content creator, you own your content and are allowed to do whatever you want with it. If you're an irresponsible content creator, you will repost the same nonsense nobody gave a shit about over and over, annoy your following, alienate everyone else, and end up going in reverse instead of advancing.

This is how I see it. I have enough content to repost 3x daily for nearly 10 years - but why would I do that?

The problem I see with a bot that is going to be somewhat insensitive to reasoning is, it will punish legitimate reposts in the same way as spam reposts.

BTW, The reason that I don't create a compilation is that each is so long adding a couple would become a novel :) I wouldn't mind doing some photography compilations though - but even then, I have never been the one-photo kind of person, as I see that the photos add to the words, not the other way around for my content.

What I have found through many of the reposts is that new followers connect with it as if it is fresh content and as long as it is decent, I don't mind that. It is kind of like discovering a great book from a long dead author... I am not dead yet though

Every time I curated that tag on Sundays, the content was always new to me. That was part of the point as well. I could put eleven posts into one post, someone comes along, all eleven are new to them. Sure, it's a long post, but at the same time, I pointed out how Sundays were typically slow and meant for relaxing anyway.

If a legit content creator is reworking old content into something new or running a rerun, how is that any different than a Youtuber creating a "best of" video? It's not. Many of the good ones run a clip show. Joe Rogan does it every week. Do we hear a song on the radio only once? Do we not see reruns on TV? Is that spam?

This #Showcase-Sunday initiative was only meant for responsible content creators. People who actually know a little bit about the industry. Sometimes I wonder if the content police know about the industry they police. I'm happy they combat spam. Reworked content and responsible reruns are not spam. I too have hundreds of posts I could be reposting irresponsibly. Why am I not doing that? Because it's fucking stupid. There's far more to this content creation life than posting and waiting for these goddamn rewards. Legit creators are not reward farmers even though some folks around here seem to think we're all amateurs and wouldn't be able to earn anywhere else doing what we do and we're only here to get daily visits from the crypto fairy who will sprinkle us with joy!

Why am I not doing that? Because it's fucking stupid.

exactly! :D

I think a very large audience would sort this out without much fuss, as an audience will quickly tune out from only rehashed or reposted nonsense, unless it is classic material - which depends on audience opinion anyway.

I see it as repost at your own peril as your audience will judge you. However, this is Hive and there are many ways to scam, so I am glad that someone is keeping an eye out. Again, perhaps a large audience would make their job easier.

My most recent one, which was two weeks ago, includes two old posts that ran back to back. It has somewhere around 1000 words and at least half of which was new commentary describing what I was actually doing. It was like a making of article in a way; a step behind the scenes. Remember watching movies, then watching the movie with commentary from the director, producers, cast? That's using the same content twice. It's commonplace in this world.

Artists and photographers can use their images more than once. I've seen the same damn images being used in memes countless times, nobody calls that spam. I've seen the same damn Pixabay images being used all over the place in numerous blogs, nobody calls that spam. I made my own damn image database with thousands of images that's free for me to use, so I will use it.

NoNamesLeftToUse  Don Disclaimer.png

Bottom line: We're allowed to use our work more than once. The folks doing it irresponsibly are only shooting themselves in the foot. It's not my job to hold their hands and teach them how to run a blog/vlog or anything responsibly either.

I made my own damn image database with thousands of images that's free for me to use, so I will use it

I think this is something relevant too. I think you see words as supporting your images, I see my images as supporting my words.

It goes both ways.

And see? I fucked up the tag this week, another reason why tag exclusions won't work :D

And see? I fucked up the tag this week, another reason why tag exclusions won't work :D

You also reposted this comment! BOOOOOOOOO! Burn the witch!

Accidents happen. Mistakes are made. Plenty of people screwed up that tag. #showcase-sunday.

I shoud start my own - #shitshow-sunday

I already did a shitshow for #showcase-sunday awhile back. I think rambled for about 500 words, then converted the post into what appears to be gibberish that turned out to be an actual language when translated. No idea how I pulled that off. Then the post turned into a joke about how to prepare a banana, for something.

I wonder if it would be considered "spam" if I located the endless supply of jokes I've written in posts and comments, put it all into one post, then published it. A comedian travels around telling the same jokes countless times. It's the same set over and over. Is that spam too?

A comedian travels around telling the same jokes countless times. It's the same set over and over. Is that spam too?

Not if they are funny :D

They don't know until they try, then get a reaction.

I'll bring the flame thrower. How dare this user presume to post the same comment twice. Lol.

I'll bring the marshmallows.

Lol...I'll bring my guitar and we can sing some songs...Have a rollicking old time.

Better learn how to play this one since that's all I want to listen to these days.

Having read all the comments up until my response, it would seem as if this is a one sided view issue. That people see it mostly as a content producer issue. in one respect this is true, I would however like people and the hivewatcher type accounts to also try looking at it from a genuine user point of view, by genuine user I mean someone like myself, that seriously enjoys reading and looking at and consuming the content produced.

I don't need to pay to read a book, I can vote on the book page/chapter part and actually be rewarded for reading the book. I bring the book issue up because that is why I first initially joined the steem block chain. To read for free. Books have gotten expensive for me, new books are $4.95 on up to $12.95 for a paper back version. The number of free books on Amazon Kindle are becoming fewer and fewer, Most other free book sites want all my info so they can track and spam me.

Everyday there are more and more new users on Hive Block Chain. Every time spam is brought up or reward pool rape is brought up, it is always put on the content creator. The content creator is the evil person. Not the person that gives the content creator day after day after day post after post after post, a big reward vote. Spam and piss poor content creators are going to be on Hive block chain until the groups like hivewatchers are able to apply their power to the Real spam enablers, to the real reward pool rapist. When a down vote system is created that allows for the down vote of the excessive rewarder,(disagreement on reward), against the plagiarist, or against the abuser, there will always be crap spammers on Hive.

An artist reposting a piece of art they created to a new community or a new group of followers is not in my own personal opinion Spam. A writer reposting a published book they still have the full rights to, for a new audience to read, or the old audience to re-read is not Spam. A singer reposting a song they have all rights to for a new audience to listen to is not Spam.

The people (content users like me), we know what spam is, we know when a post is over rewarded, most of all we know what we like. I have no problem not voting on content I don't like. Trying to control spam by only down voting one side is not ever going to work, you need to be able to down vote and have one effect against the person, or group that are up voting/rewarding the spam. The abusive up voters also need to be added to a black list. (and I hate the McCarthyism of black listing).

This is a very interesting perspective and I definitely think that it should be considered.

Content is a conversation between the creator and the audience and with a large enough user base, it would be much easier to mitigate abuse, as pretty much the earning content will be popular. At the moment, there are more creators than readers.

There are more creators than readers, however there are also more large voters, curation accounts, and curation trails than readers. The down vote system not only punishes the perceived spammer but the readers also in possible over looks because of bad reputations, low reputations and blacklisting, meanwhile the large voters, curation accounts and curation trails continue to reap the rewards of highlighting post that may not be that great, and driving viewership to post they want to be viewed. One of the reasons why I like the community concept so much, the hot and trending pages are becoming more and more useless everyday.

ne of the reasons why I like the community concept so much, the hot and trending pages are becoming more and more useless everyday.

Yep, I barely go there these days, unless I want to see what is happening on Hive :)

Easy solution is to not make it a direct copy paste. Add some new material or give context to what it is and when you posted it. Add a different picture etc.

This will stop your post from triggering the HW bot. I had to tell the members of my art community this because I encourage them reposting older content. I think I have a different view on the relationship between the reward pool and content maybe. I don’t see this as double dipping.

The reward pool isn’t a singular entity. Each user has a level of influence over the reward pool that they control. If I posted something months ago and users a,b, and c, appreciated it and upvoted it, great.

Then I repost it and this time new user x, y, and z upvote it, it’s not double dipping, it’s new users appreciating that content. Also if a, b, and c see it again and still like it or they still find it valuable, they can upvote or not upvote it.

But auto votes!

I see autovotes as our version of Patreon, where users are no longer supporting individual pieces of content and have transitioned into supporting the USER. In these cases I feel like people have proven themselves to be valuable enough that they’ve earned that trust and I think it’s something good, not bad.

Just my two cents.

This will stop your post from triggering the HW bot.

What amount is enough? I used to add context to them and add why I was reposting this particular one, but after some experimentation, it didn't really change the engagement levels - people still engaged with the posts themselves. In some way, the context is kind of like an artist explaining the work, rather than letting the audience interpret it - maybe that just annoys me though :D

The reward pool isn’t a singular entity. Each user has a level of influence over the reward pool that they control. If I posted something months ago and users a,b, and c, appreciated it and upvoted it, great.
Then I repost it and this time new user x, y, and z upvote it, it’s not double dipping, it’s new users appreciating that content. Also if a, b, and c see it again and still like it or they still find it valuable, they can upvote or not upvote it.

When I look back at the votes on some of these posts, I haven't seen some of them for years.

I see autovotes as our version of Patreon, where users are no longer supporting individual pieces of content and have transitioned into supporting the USER. In these cases I feel like people have proven themselves to be valuable enough that they’ve earned that trust and I think it’s something good, not bad.

This is how I have seen autovotes for a long time - sure there is a abuse and circles, but not everyone who gets autovoted is abusive - they might just have proven themselves enough that people with stake see it as valuable for the ecosystem to support.

Since its inception I've participated in almost each week of #showcase-sunday and have taken the time to rework the posts adding hundreds of words, making them time-relevant, more interesting, informative and better-written from a punctuation perspective. It's a little embarrassing to find so many errors in my past posts to be completely honest.

Having said that, the bones of the posts are the same, essentially.

I believe the concept of the tag is sound, allowing users to show some of their past posts which newer users will probably never see, and also creating more activity on a day where traditionally it would be a little slower, Sunday. It will always be open to abuse, as with everything else here.

Whilst I like the concept I think it will be doubtful I will participate again as ending up on a blacklist is not something I am keen to do; I think that would be quite damaging to my account, credibility and to my own feeling of enjoyment here. It's a shame that there is not a place where people can demonstrate their work to new people, other than nonames concept.

I also agree with @bashadow in that the voters, the ones abusing the reward pool, need to be addressed; It shouldn't just be on the content creator.

I recently posted a six-part series on #showcase-sunday about the Tobruk campaign in WW2. Each was originally some 700-900 words and when reposted I had added around 900-1200 words to each on average...That's bad though? That could end up with me on a blacklist? But what about the voter posting a picture of a Bittrex trading graph 10 times a day and self voting each one...They're all good?

I don't know the answer...All I know is that people will have to scroll back through three years of my posts to find my work...Which we all know won't happen. It's a bit sad as every now and then I actually feel i have presented something interesting to the blockchain.

Thanks @nonameslfttouse for the concept, I have enjoyed it and hope others have found something in my work they missed earlier.

It is amazing that the person who took the time to create a post can have their reputation destroyed because someone gave them a really big vote. I have, in the past on various discussion type post expressed my view when it comes to reward dispute then the voter is the one that needs to take the hit, not the creator. If there was a penalty borne by the voter for attempts at excessive curation rewards then we would have a more balanced down vote system.

Yes agreed. I admit I've not thought of it that way before until I read your comment on my brother's post but you're 100% right. If it's a circle-jerk then sire, but let's say someone likes guns, comes across one of my 2300-word posts about some shooting concept or another and the upvote big...Is that my fault as the creator? Nope. This happened recently and whilst I didn't say anything publicly I wondered what I had done wrong. (Clearly nothing.)

I wonder if there'll ever be any attention placed in the direction you mention...Probably not. All I do is try and produce decent content and whilst not everything is a 2300-word epic I add some flavour, passion, personality and effort to each...I hope to get good (big) votes, but sometimes worry about them too, you know?

I do understand the conundrum of a large vote, I am hoping after Hive is able to finish the break away from steem with the final airdrop hard fork, that we can get attention turned to correcting what I feel were some of the downfalls of steem and steemit. Namely the witness selection and retention process, and then the down vote issue. It is time for people to take a good look at all the issues of the down vote system and repair it also. Then we can get to work on-boarding people into a more user friendly place.

On-boarding, user-friendly and engagement initiatives need to be looked at for sure. I know there's a twitter thing going but many don't have it. I don't, or Facebook for that matter, so I think something else is required. Also, having people land on the trending page full of posts about hive...Hmm, not legit.

I would rather see people land on a page that was full of communities, a synopsis of each, so people could go where they wanted based on their interests...You know, almost like a directory. I mentioned this to Asher a while back who urged me to do a post on it...I'm reluctant though, because I'm really a bit of a hive dumb-ass.

If I was new and landed on that trending page I'd bounce out within seconds. It looks shit, although the peakd one isn't too bad, and all those hive-posts...Enough already.

Anyway, the sooner I never have to hear the word steem again, or read another post about it the better. Then the smart people here can focus on hive as you mention and knuckleheads like me can have a better platform.

It is always hard to find the balance between encouraging participation and discouraging abuse as unfortunately, no matter the area, if there is value, there will be those who try to get more than what they probably deserve for their effort. But, that is part of the "game" and something we have to be able to address and evolve with, as abuse doesn't stop evolving. It is kind of like a cat and mouse game.

Yep, agreed. It's a shame really, but I think I'll have to come up with some other way of showcasing my old work, not sure what.

One way to look it is just not simple copy paste. If you can use your old content to bring out something new is what can be an option. The good thing about this will be you can rework on the old stuffs and make it better by parenting it in a better way.

"Something new" to an account that is 4 years old, or an account that is two? (I am playing devil's advocate a bit :P )

I also feel that there should be a place for older content that is still relevant, especially when that content earned almost nothing when originally published because I was very new on Steem then.
An example is this post examining the vulnerabilities of Proof of Work and Proof of Stake blockchains to attack by powerful actors including nation states.

Steem's later experience with Justin Sun proved out this vulnerability.

I am in total agreement with this, lawyers rely on case law and if a judgement was made many years ago in a case similar to a current case, they are allowed to present it.
So why can members not refresh an old post, especially if it relates to a current situation and post it?
By refresh, I mean supply a reason for the repost and edit the post to suit its current application.

:D

Yours is May 3rd 2018

This one is May 5th 2018:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@tarazkp/discussion-to-change-witness-voting-procedures

I can't find the post where I talk about the stake attack from a large player, but more than one person told me I was crazy as no one would buy that much Steem...

I think if the objective to repost is to increase audience and views thendeclining rewards is the simplest solution. If one feels they were not rewarded with the real value of the content (how do you evaluate that anyway), why not rewrite the post? Then at least they have made an effort.

As with every thing else in this world, there's always some who abuse the system spoiling it for the genuine users. So unless there is an intelligent bot that can identify genuine repost vs abuse repost, then the only way is to stop it all together.

Fyi, recently I've seen established users repost content from not long ago and both posts got decent payout. This is exactly the type of scenarios that gives abusers justification to continue doing what they do best. Where do you draw the line? One rule for them and another rule for the rest?

If one feels they were not rewarded with the real value of the content (how do you evaluate that anyway), why not rewrite the post?

I don't get this? What is the difference other than typing more?

So unless there is an intelligent bot that can identify genuine repost vs abuse repost, then the only way is to stop it all together.

Which is the conclusion we came to as users, but nothing actually stops people from possting and trying their hand.

I don't get this? What is the difference other than typing more?

Effort. If one expects to be rewarded, then the minimum they should do is at least make an effort. Reposting is zero effort unless people are so generous and counts that as effort.

Some people may be incapable of producing quality or even decent output due to say language, skills or whatever, then that's another matter. I'd much rather curate some one who made an effort to write something that maybe doesn't flow logically or is full of grammatical mistakes, than some one who just copy and paste old content regardless of how good it is.

Depends what you consider effort and when it is relevant to produce.

The problem is for every good actor, there are dozens of bad ones. These things need strict guidelines to work.

I think people should write down the amount of effort they put into their post and the expected rewards, then they cam argue theybwere under rewarded. However the same thing goes woth being over rewarded, but there is actually a fix to that.

Then we run into the issue of people just timing things poorly. For example posting about a hot topic a week too late.

I guess it is all case by case.

I guess it is all case by case.

This is the challenge with using a bot, because the bot is going to treat all with indifference. However as you rightfully say, for every good, there are many bad actors - so some balance must be found and the errors that take place are part of the search.

The bots definitely need to be tweaked and improved with every reasonable feedback or issue that comes up. For the most part, it saves humans a lot of boring, thankless work. If we had to do everything manually, we would lose or require many more resources.

My thought is we can look at things like HP, account age, and rep (both the number and vouching) and require manual reviews of well knwon accounts. It could be an algorithm and a whitelist could be created for those unique cases. No one would be immune to punishment or moderation, but it would prevent an automated mistake.

If we had to do everything manually, we would lose or require many more resources.

For sure, this is why it has to be automated to some degree at the very least - but as you said, it has to be continually tweaked to both keep up with the abuse as well as make sure it isn't doing more harm than good, the last one is hard to know.

My thought is we can look at things like HP, account age, and rep (both the number and vouching) and require manual reviews of well knwon accounts.

THis is not a bad idea as I know that there are a "few" large accounts that have already been caught being pretty dodgy (to say the least) and there are quite a few of the "returned" who have immediately picked up their autovoter trails again...

No one would be immune to punishment or moderation, but it would prevent an automated mistake.

No one should be immune, no matter how much stake they have :D

I think reposting should only bring in front quality content which did not get proper appreciation at its time. Maybe an under the radar user, maybe something different. I think it would show a terrible lack of inspiration and creativity to repost things from the past only for the sake of having something posted.

I think it would show a terrible lack of inspiration and creativity to repost things from the past only for the sake of having something posted.

I agree.

However, I think that reposts can also be used when they bring something relevant to the conversation. People might talk about links to old posts, but they have a very limited reach in comparison to new posts altogether.

This is a big problem here as people presume that we are posting to a stagnant and captured community. This stagnant and captured community voted on the post 3 or 4 years ago and if it is reposted now, it will mean double dipping.

Now please come and reason with me.
Are we posting to the exact same community that existed 3 or 4 years ago?
How many members of the community saw and voted on the post 3 or 4 years ago?
Can a person's post be seen by 100% of the community?

Here is an example about viewership: Last week a post was sent out to state that the auto-votes had been reset and that members can now only auto-vote 2 times per week.
If they didn't like the new setting, they were welcome to manually restore to their old setting!

Many have not seen that post and did not know that their auto-votes were changed.
The result was a bit catastrophic for worthy entities like charities, as we lost many votes and communications.

I have not yet resurrected an old post, as I thought #Showcase-Sunday was meant for new stuff.
All that I am saying here is that it should not be a crime to redo an old post.

This is @midlet's argument too, the audience changes significantly over time.

Many have not seen that post and did not know that their auto-votes were changed.

Yes, most people who use the service don't follow the account, a good example.

Another example is that I used the hive tag on my posts.
Like I used to use the steem tag.
All of a sudden I get two red "scammer" warnings.
Me? A scammer?

My thought was that if I place the post link on twitter, outsiders that click on the link will see the hive tag on my post.

I quit the 'three a day travel challenge' because some of them were getting to feel 'reused'. When I did mine I chose 3 photos from a trip or a place and unless I were really unlucky the photos had probably never been published together before.

I really like the idea of 'recycling' long since really good posts (and this one qualifies). But I really dislike the abuse that goes with reusing. I have some really good previously published posts that I'd like to revisit, but I'll only do so with a serious rewrite.

So the short answer is "I don't know". I know that I appreciate the pursuit of the 'pro copy paste' people. I've had stuff I've written copy/pasted which really makes me crazy.

I used to take part in photography contests when I started, but as I began to get rewarded more, I stopped as i felt that the effort I put in wasn't enough to warrant the rewards from autos. I rarely post what I consider crap content, as I have spent far too long building up a reputation on the platform for being able to deliver quality or useful -and I don't mean the broken rep system numbers :)

I don't know either, but I think it should be up to creator discretion - and audience choice - at least to some degree. the problem is the separation as there is plenty of abuse that flies under the radar

You always bring up thought-provoking subjects. :)

As per Twitter, I can tell you that the reason tweets may be spread throughout the day, is because only a small part of your audience is online at any one time.

Example: if @theycallmedan sends out a newsworthy tweet, and it doesn't show up on my timeline when I'm logged in, I won't see it.

I rarely search for people on Twitter unless I have a question, so posting more than once is the best way to extend your reach.

Repurposing posts might work better when referencing an older article to make points on a current one.

The other way is a "Best Of" series, which I would do once or twice a year on Steemit to share informative posts with new people. Such as the one about The Station fire which nobody saw for 18 hours when I first published it.

As per Twitter, I can tell you that the reason tweets may be spread throughout the day, is because only a small part of your audience is online at any one time.

Yep, I get this, but it annoyed me so much a few years ago with everyone believing they had some large audience that I stopped using Twitter. For the big accounts sure, but if you have 43 followers - no thanks.

Repurposing posts might work better when referencing an older article to make points on a current one.

I do this often anyway, so Showcase Sunday was something different for me :)

It is good to talk about these things openly though, and at least have a chance to work out some pattern of behavior. The problem is that there is a lot of conflicting opinions, much of it with significant stake :)

I agree to some level that it is abusive. Duplicate the content that you already have been rewarded on, is often just to get easy rewards.

But, if you make a showcase post and put extra info in there that originally was not included, it should be considered OK. I have seen a button decline payout, I guess you give up rewards with that option? Or share it with a good cause and make it "Showcase for Charity" or something. Meh I dunno :) Not in a position that I have to showcase my posts.

Good luck in life, @ranky

I have definitely seen a lot of repost abuse over the years, but I think there has also been more other abuse in comparison.

Does the effort on the original post count? :D

I think good content discovery and a large audience would change the discussion a lot.

I think it's a shame too that it would be lost although I don't see how it could be filtered from the spammy repost n run mob. The thing am Amit showcase Sunday is that it is one day and posts (which aren't milking) should be clearly stated that they are reposts of older material with a bit of whizz band reworking.

It's a tough un!

I really enjoy searching and going over my old content and repairing it, as well as reading the many missed posts of others. I think sometimes, the context it brings from the past is invaluable.

I think it is hard to filter out the wheat from the chaff in this case.

Yes it is necessary but what "@hivewatchers" did was really inhuman... He must change the rules of his "rudeness"! If he will not change that, a lot of professional bloggers will leave and will not use the HIVE blog again. I have a lot of friends leave because of the inhuman decision of "@hivewatchers".

No it wasn't inhuman, other than the bot doing it :) they have a job to do and there is a lot of abuse

I believe in that but I hope he can change his rudeness words and the violation request? That was to much! Looks like the person is doing some very bad things in the world?! It's like putting the face in the mud because of one mistake... Warning is enough, then for the 3rd is the punishment if they really did it again... Am I right?

Lol no, firstly, I made no mistake.

Secondly, they are doing their job.

I think you are missing the point here.

May be I miss understood?

Maybe, not everything has to be filled with drama and not everything is a personal attack :)

I agree...

I think the problem is that it's hard to differentiate between good and bad use. Hard for those looking for the abuse and those trying not to abuse and knowing where the line is. But how you did here, linking to the previous post, may be the best approach. For a while I had a "greatest hits" list of links at the bottom of my articles. Now that I'm using a template for my posts (whenever I think of it) I should probably add that section back to my template.

... oh and yes, it does hurt SEO to have search engines find duplicates for an article.

Yeah, I figured it was bad for seo due to that, but it is kind of silly in a world of syndication.

Thank you, Taraz! The folks at HW are good and they do a thankless job. They are use support from all community members, especially prominent ones like you :)

I love to have a conversation about this. Also love to see how much recycling is going on, and how much of it is spam and how much of it is with good intention. As you correctly pointed out, it is not easy to determine that for a bot (at this point). But I am sure @abh12345 can come up with some data. He always does :)

There is recycling and then there are recyclers. I know that there has been plenty of photography posts that were getting "reworked" many times, and having their original edited.

Putting me on the spot again :)

It's tough going, especially with removing old photos and adding them again. Hivewatchers/steemcleaners/cheetah check for repeated text, over a certain % I believe.

Making an introduction for that old post, writing why you want to showcase that post again, maybe adding few important quotes from that post, and a link to it, could be a solution.

Yeah, I normally do, but it doesn't stop the bot picking it up I think.

they should maybe than rework their bot

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You are a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!