From the Hive Honeydrop

in OCD4 years ago

honey2.jpg

Drip. Drip. Drip.

Hive.io has arrived and there is no going back. As of Friday, the new fork will replicate the chain and then drip Hive honey onto Steem accounts.

Some will buy, some will sell. Many will dump post snapshot.

As was likely and even though contentious, accounts that openly supported the centralization of the Steem blockchain will not be included in the honeydrop.

While this will have social ramifications, from a purely speculative economic position, this means that the new supply could have up to 75 million less tokens, meaning that the Hive supply would be closer to 275 million, instead of 344M. That is one way to reduce 4 years of inflation - the biggest burnpost ever.

As the snapshot is on Friday, it means that the payouts on posts after that point will not be included in the airdrop I assume, and the open posts that get ported over will start from zero. I have a feeling after that point the payouts on Steem might not be worth so much. I will keep posting anyway, as it is what I do, price up or down - post Hive launch though, I am not sure if I will spend time on Steem at all. However, I am very interested to see if and how @theycallmedan approaches his continued discussion for the Steem blockchain, so will likely stick around a bit.

For 3+ years I have lived a lot of Steem and it pains me that in one fell swoop, a tiny group of people with the purchase of tainted stake was able to destroy all the work put in. I know it isn't technically destroyed, but I do feel the emotional loss of Steem the idea, that I have come to love.

I hope that Hive users will be able to shed the baggage and start fresh with lasting passion, regardless of the price and challenges faced. I hope old rivalries and egos can be put aside to actually build an experience of value. I hope that users of all kinds can find a place they love to call home. As always, I hope for a better world and work toward that end.

The place of work matters less than the type of work done.

I hope people are ready to work.

Drip. Drip. Drip.

Taraz
[ an original ]

Sort:  

I'm already seeing a few posts/comments where people sound like they want to burn this place down.

An emotionally immature stance to take.

I'm not a fan of this blockchain being overrun by greed and petty differences. There's no place for my style of content here at the moment, so I'll go where the people are. I'm not a fan of slamming the door as I leave though. No point in pissing on the carpet. I never liked those people who just went to parties to punch holes in the walls and get in fights.

As a people watcher, it'll be interesting to see how some folks will act like assholes on Steem and super happy friendly on hive. If that happens.

I think that for now, people will be dancing, but when push comes to value shove, many will continue to participate here. I know that for me, I have put a lot of effort into Steem, and while I will go where the people go, I will likely continue to do some work here that i think might help. If we aren't helping something, we aren't really doing anything of value, right?

For the next few days, I think I will be putting more thoughts on different aspects to consider for some people interested.

As a people watcher, it'll be interesting to see how some folks will act like assholes on Steem and super happy friendly on hive. If that happens.

Yep. Looking forward to observing it.

Business mind is telling me I'll be starting from scratch in one place and losing half or more of my viewership in another.

This has been hell but I consider myself lucky. I got back on the internet just in time. If I had signed in today to look around, like I did just over a month ago, I think I would have shut it off. My current mindset could be interfering though. Hype doesn't work on me. I'm a realist and in the now. These exciting recent developments don't take away from the fact what I worked so goddamn hard for is... yeah

Time to shut this off for the night.

Get some rest, but remember you aren't starting completely from scratch - you have relationships that you have built here and will endure :)

I know, dude. I haven't forgotten that part. Still a well timed reminder though.

I'm planning to keep my SP on STEEM, at least until the dust settles. Not sure what Dan's planning, but I'll set him as proxy and he can use my witness votes for it.

I am likely to do the same for at least part of my stake. I have a lot of admiration for Dan and will do what I can to aid him where I am able.

really looking forward to it and see already some honeyBEER at the horizon.

Sadly, we will loose a few people but I guess we will stay with HIVE promotions on Steem and I might post for a few days/weeks in both.

See you at #HIVE where we soo will have !BEER as well

There will be plenty of beer all round.

I think that many will migrate or use both platforms. I don't really blame people for it though, as there is a lot of effort put in here by many people and, an emotional connection.

I'm pretty sure the "drip drip drip" thing was in some horror/ghost campire story somewhere in my memory as that sounded ominous to me XD

Maybe we need to come up with bee themed levels. Egg > larva > pupa > bee > bee royalty? Not sure if that sounds as attractive as sea life XD

I had written the levels in, but I deleted them. There are soldier and worker bees too :)

I figure people should be able to be whatever kind of bee they want to...be.

image.png

XD

Also if there's soldier bees as well as worker bees I don't know how to tell them apart as all the bees in our hive look the same x_x (I assume the queen is bigger but she's somewhere all the way inside XD).

Just walked back after a day or two of posting without reading stuff. This is the most interesting find... I didn't about the Hive until two hours (which has been spent reading about it) whichever way, I go where the community is.

I hope this works out for all of us :)

Let's see how it goes. At the very least, it should be fun to be part of an exited community again. :)

!ENGAGE 25



@tezmel you have received 25 ENGAGE from @tarazkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

The pending payouts whose payout time is after the snapshot will be paid out in HIVE because all the votes given before the snapshot will be included in the new chain.

Yeah, I have heard the same. But I am guessing it has to be recalculated based on various factors of stake also.

Yep, but you shouldn’t expect to lose anything.

Nah, I am not worried about losing anything. Just wondering how it works.

Well, the votes and posts will have different rshares, because the voting stake distribution is different. Steemit, Inc's stake did vote on posts because much of it was delegated to apps.

Yes, I am just interested in how it will be affected as there will be some voting stake missing from the airdrop also.

Those of use who weren't involved in the Korean circle jerk and not voted by the likes of DTube will get a larger share.

This is a fresh start ... hope people don’t go the previous bad behaviors... with hive we must support new and upcoming people... only time will tell 😀

Yeah, will be an interesting process of transition to come.

I think, we should have a front end that would publish to both chains, at least for some time. It will help everyone, to get rewarded at both place.

Not everyone cares about rewards. However, I am sure there will be an option soon enough.

I'll have to check in on steem every now and then, I want to see the fallout of Trons first HF of steem, if they win the witness race. I want to see if they can handle it with out a glitch. I wonder if the sock witnesses will do any testing or will they just sign off on it and let it roll. Sometimes you just have to watch the train wreck, you just can't turn your eyes away.

I have read that the new community witnesses do not have Dev experience, so it is going to be interesting to see what happens for sure.

This thought just popped out. What if Justin Sun decided to join hive - directly or indirectly and mess with things there too.

Well, he would have to buy in and that would be great for price. Then he would have to powerup to affect governance which takes 30 days. Then he will have to have about 70% of the hive supply....

You think he is game to go for round two?

[ A Hive original ]??

Not posted through Hive. Soon

The original was for content, on Hive it will also be as an early adopter :)

Ahhhhhh. I always read it like the “original” meant earlier adopter not original content.

I never counted myself as an early adopter as I joined in January 2017. :D However, quality and originality have always been important to me here.

It's really great to new thing on our platform..

Posted using Partiko Android

And new platforms.

There really will be no point of continuing here.

Justin already stripped dapps of their delegations so you've already lost votes there. Most if not all curation services will leave.
You really think Koreans and the witesses that got bribed will vote anyone outside their own small group of people?

Steem will quickly turn into a farm for reward pool abusers.

I'll stick around only as far as to see what Dan does. Prolly only post links to my Hive posts.

Seeing Justin in control is a major deal breaker for me. Watching him do shady stuff.
Maybe it's my aversion to authority but I cannot stand despots. Having one in control of my assets and the blockchain I'm on is a deal breaker.

I do have concerns for those who don't know anythings about the governance situations and the reason for a new chain. Those who just like posting and doing their thing, completely unaware of the politics. I think I will be keeping my Steem for a while, My account is pretty small and I would just like to be part of whatever happens next sink or Swim but I will shift most of my attention to Hive.

I am likely going to keep some of mine too, but not sure about levels yet. I will work where the community is for the most part though, as it is has always been the sense of community that has value to me here.

Same for me too, But if there is still an audience here I will do what I can to entice them across to the bright side.

Yep, I will do the same if I find stragglers that fit :)

Hey @tarazkp I miss your engage token giveaway.
It's been long since I received some engage from you.
Looking forward to your merry surprise
!giphy so true

Posted using Partiko Android




giphy is supported by witness untersatz!


Hey @tarazkp, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.