Life electric

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

There have been a few issues with Hive-powered services today, with the chain playing up a little, but it seems to be getting sorted out. I notice that I get a little frustrated when these kinds of things happen, but it is not just here, it is when the router needs to be reset, or there is a pause in the livestream I am watching.

The "bane" of the modern world is having so much of our lives delivered on-demand, that many of us suffer from a lack of patience. This is further frustrated by having so much always available to consume at such a rate, that we have also grown accustomed to trawling through tweets, episodes, YouTube videos, Insta-posts, TikToks and all the other largely useless bits of random information that do not further our personal progression.

OI000150 (5).jpg

One of my friends the other day was saying how he is being more mindful of the way he uses his phone, as he notices himself automatically diving in at every possible space and tuning out of life. I am sure he is not the only one who does this and I have found myself reaching for my own phone too often also, setting me to do much the same and look to limit my interaction in an attempt to break the addiction.

One of the things that has become somewhat of a theme among my close friends since my stroke, is that many of them are taking the second-hand experience as a cue to evaluate their own lives and how they interact with the world. It has been interesting to be part of and I do feel a part of it, as they all ask questions that point toward where their head is at.

Some who have money issues have been talking more openly about their struggles and how they are trying to get their finances in better shape. Some who have been working diligently for years are looking to take some time, relax, spend more on the things they value - and they are driving discussions toward what may or may not be valuable. And, a lot of people are thinking about the relationships they have with the people around them and are looking to connect more.

Near death experiences have an effect on more than the person who experiences it directly and it splashes out and across the network. In many ways, it is like a trickle-down process, where people start to question their own mortality with those closest, diving the deepest into their reflections.

What has often come up in conversation has centered around personal habits and how many struggle to break them. A couple people have mentioned how they feel compelled to act a certain way and when I mentioned the idea of a "robotic life" they nod their heads and say, it is like being on auto-pilot. So much of our consumer life is this way, where we are given a cue, and our priming and conditioning kicks in to react, without thought, on intuition alone.

We are told to trust our intuition without considering that our intuition is a learned behavior, taught to us through repetition and training. From childhood we are told what is important to focus on, what is necessary to accomplish, what we are expected to have. Like Pavlov's dog, the bell rings and we start metaphorically salivating, chasing after what we have been told we have to catch, in an endless game with an endless supply of new balls thrown just past our reach, making us chase some more.

What is interesting is that while people are evaluating their lives, many realize that they are not really living a life, as they are making very few choices for themselves, as everything is a trigger designed to evoke an engineered response.

We think we are living, while we act like robots and it is never more obvious when their are glitches in the system and we lose power. Power that was never ours, it was always rented.

Our chance to live, may be when the lights go out.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

I seem to be resetting my router more now than a year ago, it’s weird tech is supposed to be more reliable now.

Yeah, I think my last two or three in the last 2 years (changing tech/companies) have been terrible. Before I had to reset my last maybe twice a year.

Just wanted to say I don't believe the chain itself has been acting up, more like some API nodes having issues. :D

Yeah, the chain doesn't do much without them :)

I haven't heard what has caused it yet.

In some ways I feel sorry for your generation, my children are right in that mix. There seems to me to be more pressure to success, to reach goals, I admire that, but at the same time I want all of you to just live life. Find pleasure in simplicity. Carve out time to just be. To breathe and enjoy those around you, as well as look up once in awhile, see your environment and appreciate being young in this beautiful world of ours.
Don't sweat the small stuff, as you well know, things can change on a dime.

It isn't easy to navigate and I think I am lucky, as I was a teen when the Internet started making an impact on society in any way. People in their late early 30s have never known different, under twenties have grown up with a smartphone as a constant companion, always pushing another product of some kind.

I think I was around 45 when the internet came into my world. I was so over whelmed by it's advent, we were given a crash course of it's use at my job. Then we were expected to use it for all sorts of tasks, talk about stress. I hated it at first. But as is with most things, the more you practice, the better the results.
Have a wonderful day, Be well.

Then we were expected to use it for all sorts of tasks, talk about stress.

I train software usage that replaces part of the normal computing process with something new - it is hard to give people a new mindset who have been doing something the same way for 40 years. But, as you say, with practice, the better the results and once that happens, there is no want to go back to the "old way" of doing it.

I have to admit, I learn new tricks about computing as well as what my iphone is capable of, everyday.
I have been studying crypto currencies also for a few years now, it took me awhile to even understand wallets and such but I keep plugging alone.

Like when you pull in the driveway and can't remember the trip home, and wonder if you ran any red lights because you have zero recollection. Autopilot.

It scares me when that happens. We should be more scared that most of our life is the same...

So many times, I have silently cheered when the power goes out. Time spent without the humming of the social media in the background or anywhere to be found.

Just for a moment. I have another house, it is on the Shores of Virginia, a few hours from here. I purposedly have no internet, phone, or cable over there. There is beach, sand, beauty and Mother Nature and all the people I love.

I love to be connected. I also don't want to be too connected. It is the mindfulness that brought me the correction in my behavior...

My kids have never known different and have survived with a smile most of their life when we are on silent mode. - and they lived to tell!!

I love to be connected. I also don't want to be too connected. It is the mindfulness that brought me the correction in my behavior...

It is so easy to get pulled into the idea that connected is so important it has to take priority, but the world isn't exactly better for it. We seem to not evaluate our results well anymore.

I wonder how many tantrums are thrown daily because of spotty internet access. By young and old.

The "bane" of the modern world is having so much of our lives delivered on-demand, that many of us suffer from a lack of patience.
This word got me thinking.
untitled.gif

I smashed my house up in rage at the hive issues. I now live in a tumble-down shack at the bottom of my garden lamenting my impulsiveness.

:D

But hopefully the decking was so well built it survived!

It will outlive me! ... A tad morbid. I hope it doesn't!

True, too much useless information we come across on the social medias. I think tiktok and insta reels cause personal regression. So many stupid videos there...

I think tiktok and insta reels cause personal regression. So many stupid videos there...

I haven't been on Facebook or Instagram for several years - never seen Tiktok. Don't see the value in it.

I completely agree, we are prey to the process triggered by technologies which distracts us from the actual values ​​of our life. We waste time looking for the golden lights of the technological drug without being aware of the possibility of the darkness of the night. Personally I take everything off when I paint and look for solitary trips like in my holidays, but I am a privileged one.

Personally I take everything off when I paint and look for solitary trips like in my holidays, but I am a privileged one.

A lot of people are under the mistaken belief that being connected and consuming more, makes them more creative. It is a lie - part of the conditioning.

Exactly so any intellectual or creative operation requires long introspective moments to elaborate a process where the part of humanity is decisive.

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 188000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 190000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation