Gaming and Responsibilities

in Project HOPE3 years ago
}



Do you know what sucks? Responsibilities. Do you know why it sucks? Because having responsibilities kills the thrill to any game that you're engaged in. To be fair, not all responsibilities hold the same kill-joy effect as some, so let me share a few responsibilities that will definitely take the fun out of any game that you may be engaged in. 

Kids Make Me Feel Guilty Playing Modern Warfare 

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare' Is The Best-Reviewed Game In The Series Since  2011 (So Far)

Image source

My children do make me feel guilty playing modern warfare simply because for every one I shoot, I get questioned about why I did so. I even get questions on why I would shoot someone unprovoked. 

One of my child is rather competitive. Whenever I lose a match, she would ask why I would fail and that I should try to "not die" the next time. The endless commentaries can really hamper one's focus on a game and that can sometimes feel like playing with a handicap. 

Have you ever been in a sparring match or maybe a Tennis match? Now imagine sparring with only one hand or playing tennis with one's other hand? That is how it feels like when I am gaming with my kids around. 

The endless questions and the constant commentaries can make even the best games feel.... challenging. As much as I love them, I just want to enjoy Borderlands 3 or Modern Warfare in peace. 

The Myth of Games and Stress

Stress and Heart Health | American Heart Association

Image source

Some used to say that with games, it can help us destress. I would motion that it depends on the nature of one's stress. Games are great if you have finish a long day's of work and need to unwind. However, if you have a lof work, then gaming is likely not going to help. 

I remember given a few articles to complete and after writing for a good few hours, I thought perhaps, a few matches on modern warfare would help. A few matches later, instead of feeling relaxed, I felt guilty for wasting my time. Responsibilities are such a pain really. There are days that I wish that I can play games the whole day.

Creating a Work-Game-Balance

I think that it is important to create some form of work-game-balance. As much as I, like many others have responsibilities. As such, it does take effort to have some gaming time. Unfortunately as we get older, so do our responsibilities. I know my gaming days are numbered. HOWEVER, before the end comes, I shall continue to game and hopefully, go out with guns blazing. 



Sort:  

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Hi @alvinauh

Certainly the vast majority expect to enjoy the games as much as possible and to get out as best as they can on that "not-so-anxious" day.

Hello @alvinauh
I must confess that I have never been one for video games. Rather I have been of playing guitar, reading, drawing, among other similar things.
I don't have the reference of games in a personal way, however, I can support the idea that many times responsibilities suck.
Perhaps that is the main reason why some adults continue to behave like teenagers, preferring not to assume the adulthood that necessarily goes hand in hand with responsibility, at least most of the time.

This post has been manually curated by @bala41288 from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Hello friend, certainly games can be very good in certain moments or situations, but sometimes our stress levels or responsibilities do not let us enjoy the rest of the things. Everything must be balanced, not everything can be work, we must also do activities that we enjoy to the fullest. I love video games.

Congratulations @alvinauh! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4250 replies. Your next target is to reach 4500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Saint-Nicolas challenge for well-behaved girls and boys
HiveFest⁵ badges available in the HiveBuzz shop
The new HiveFest⁵ Attendee badge is waiting for you