You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cardio, weights, or both? What do you do?

in EXHAUST2 years ago

When I get into an empty gym, which is often in the small gym in my building, if I am not working on a specific muscle group that day I will have no breaks and constantly be switching things up for something small like 8 minutes in a row. By the time I am done my heart is probably beating as fast as it would be during a jog and while I have no proof that this is actually working the same way, I feel as though it has some cardio benefit as well. I take a 2-3 minute break and then do it again. After 5 repetitions of this I am actually achieving an elevated heart rate for a longer period of time than if I had gone for a run. There has to be some benefit to this.

Sort:  

Yeah, that sounds very intense and cardio :) No breaks between the series or high rep series gets your heart beating like crazy. Just doing 100 squats makes me feel like I just finished a marathon :D