Cardio, weights, or both? What do you do?

in EXHAUST2 years ago

For people involved in fitness on some level they seem to normally go one way or the other but only people that probably rank a bit higher than what I consider myself actually do both on any meaningful level.

For me, I much prefer weights over cardio.


image.png
src

I would much rather have an empty one of these than an empty park to run or cycle in and both of these scenarios are very unlikely to occur where I live. I prefer weights because of a couple of reasons and one of them is a lazy reason. In a weight room you are at the start and finish line at all times whereas when I go for runs I can sometime lose motivation and still be a long ways away from home. This is lazy on my part and I am aware of this. I always end up pushing through though.

On the other hand I prefer lifting weights over cardio because of the fact that I can see the changes in my own body a lot more noticeably. With running you need some sort of tracking device or app to even know if you are getting any better, whereas with weights you can track your progress with just a piece of paper and a pen.

I also notice physical changes such as tightness in muscles a lot more rapidly after a weight workout.

For overall health, a combination of cardio and weights is ideal, but most people don't do this. I do a workaround with the small gym that is in my building on lazy days simply by not taking breaks and if you do this, take not of the fact that your heart rate is definitely staying up. The problem with this method is the only way you can really accomplish this is by doing lighter weights, which isn't ideal if you are trying to make any gains.

It's all still better than sitting on the sofa or going down a YouTube rabbit-hole.

There are a lot of beefcakes at my gym that are probably on PED's that NEVER do any cardio and avoid doing it because they are trying to bulk up. I fear for these people because although they look great now, we have seen countless examples of how this results in disaster and many problems with internal organs later in life, especially if they are on some sort of juicing cycle.

So how about you? Do you go for looking better from weights or do you go for cardiovascular health by doing cardio?

Sort:  

Interesting topic. I used to run a lot during my "calisthenic era" and I liked that but the more you bulk up through lifting, the less convenient and enjoyable running gets... These days, my cardio mostly consists of walking (but I walk a lot) plus some workouts like a high rep series of push ups (I still do them, every training) also keeps your heart rate up :)

When I get into an empty gym, which is often in the small gym in my building, if I am not working on a specific muscle group that day I will have no breaks and constantly be switching things up for something small like 8 minutes in a row. By the time I am done my heart is probably beating as fast as it would be during a jog and while I have no proof that this is actually working the same way, I feel as though it has some cardio benefit as well. I take a 2-3 minute break and then do it again. After 5 repetitions of this I am actually achieving an elevated heart rate for a longer period of time than if I had gone for a run. There has to be some benefit to this.

Yeah, that sounds very intense and cardio :) No breaks between the series or high rep series gets your heart beating like crazy. Just doing 100 squats makes me feel like I just finished a marathon :D

Well you know I'm mainly a runner. I do some body-weight exercise to build some muscle, but I've not been in a gym in a long time. My son is all about bulking up for now, but he's young with different priorities. He's looking at being a fitness trainer and working as a lifeguard for now.

!PIZZA

you aren't just a runner, you are a consistently good one. I tend to go back and forth, like last month I did mostly just running, this month I have done almost entirely weights. I probably have enough time to do both in the same day but I can't do them back-to-back.

When I do exercise, it's definitely cardio. The reasons are that 1) exercise for me is mostly to stay healthy and I feel cardio is the best thing for that and 2) I don't own a weight set and have no desire to go to a gym.

Exercise for me usually involves running (I am not a fan and haven't been doing this of late) or biking (I enjoy this a lot more). Generally I will be pretty good about getting out on my bike every day for several months then for one reason or another, I'll fall out of the habit for a few months. But then I'll pick it back up again...it goes in cycles (pun intended).

goes in cycles... ha! Yeah, i don't know why it is but I end up feeling the same way. I try to cycle to as many things as possible but it is also winter here now and since I live in a very urban area, cycling isn't really possible in a non-stop way unless I first make my way to the bike path which is either covered in snow or other cyclists. In spring time we can get out of the city and hit some nature paths and this is a lot more enjoyable. The only real problem I have with cycling is that it is easy to be lazy because of the technology. Unless you are trying to push yourself, having 28 gears or whatever can turn this exercise into almost no work at all.

Cardio and core exercises, that’s what I do since young

that's probably a very good way to do it!

I do heavy cardio - running & cycling & swimming.

I love running, it's like a therapy, cycling is okay-ish, I love it outdoors, indoor is boring. Aand not really enjoying swimming but it helps with different muscles, so I do it once a week.

Regarding weight lifting, from time to time I follow some programs heavily (three times a week) but I always get bored and stop it at some point. :)

I totally agree with you about indoors being boring but as far as weights are concerned that's really the only option. I basically refuse to use stationary bikes are treadmills though. If I'm running, it's outdoors cold or hot, doesn't matter.

Congratulations @normie.fitness! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 900 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 20
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I am a cardio person first and weights second. I prefer to be toned rather than muscly if you get me. More of a footballers body. I went a bit mad on the rowing machine before xmas and got two hernias from it. It's crap because it interupts my routine with weights. I am mostly doing upper body weights now that keep away from the abdominal. What do you recommend for someone with a hernia?

yeah i have encouraged hernias from overexertion as well. It's a tough one to avoid in bodybuilding. Once I was bulking and started getting cramps or stitches just from trying to put my shoes on in a standing position.

As far as ab exercises are concerned I am not a medical professional so please take this advice with a grain of salt but I prefer leg lifts from dip machine, or one of those roller skate things where you lunge forward. Sorry but i have forgotten the actual name of it.

I don't EVER do traditional situps because there is so much that can go wrong, especially for someone older like me or someone in your situation as well.