Strava2Hive Update - 4

in EXHAUST2 years ago

S2HLogo.PNG

8 Users Have Now Been Onboarded On Strav2Hive.

Once again it is great to see users accessing the service and getting their activity posted through to Hive.

The week has basically been spent closely watching the service and making sure I can get on top of any problems when they arise. This includes a small but embarrasing issue with a group of users having their most recent activity reposted in Hive a second time. It is actually great to see so many posts coming through the system and glad that something like this did not cause any major impacts to anyone. I have put in a small fix, but will look to add some more permenant checks in the coming days.

If you are interested in accessing and using this service, there is still a bit of work to be done, but you can join up and start using it by looking through the following link:
https://hive.blog/hive-176853/@strava2hive/strava2hive-update-3

A Quick Note About @run.vince.run


Hopefully there is no confusion here, but if you get a response from @run.vince.run when you actually want to speak to @strava2hive, they are the same people and sorry for any confusion. If you are getting answers to questions from @run.vince.run it is simply because I am answer questions from my smartphone and am a little lazy and don't want to switch accounts on my smartphone.

Tagging Your Activity


Using the strava2hive service, you are able to accept the default tags we set in the code, or you can set your own tags. Currently, we are setting the following tags for you by default when the Hive post is created:
#hive #strava2hive #runningproject #sportstalk #health

If you would like to add your own tags to your posts, you can do that with the first line of your description in Strava. Simply add between one to five tags, including the hash(#) symbol, at the top of your description, then add your description in the next line. Strava2hive will take these tags and add them to your Hive post, instead of the default tags we have mentioned above.

Pictures From Strava


Strava allows you to add images and pictures to your activity, and the strava2hive service will use the main image and add it to your Hive post. Strava has made a lot of changes recently to the way they add images and I will make some time to allow more than the first image to be added to your Hive post.

Question For Users


Ok, I am currently setting up the Hive post with basic information gathered from Strava and your description.

Is there anything that could be added to the post from the data, or do you think there is anything missing?

Work To Do(Feel Free To Make Suggestions)

  • Verify your service has been posted already by querying Hive directly
  • Count users activity for the week or month
  • Set up code to have strava2hive automatically comment in posts
  • Setting up monthly challenges for users
Sort:  

Once I get back to some running I will be trying this. You're doing a great job.

!PIZZA

 2 years ago  

Thanks so much @steevc I hope you are not injurred and just taking a break from running?

I've had COVID and my breathing is a little impaired. I want to get over that before I run again.

!BEER

 2 years ago  

Oh no @steevc sorry to hear that. I hope you recover soon mate.

I've linked up the service and done a Strava post. I was actually walking rather than running. Will that get picked up?

Ah, I see it looks for run, so changed the activity type. I'll check later to see if it came through.

 2 years ago  

I think it will pick up walking as long as you are using GPS.


Hey @run.vince.run, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

 2 years ago  

Thanks for reaching out on Strava, @run.vince.run -- I'll see if I can't get set up w/ this and participating later this week.

Cool to see you bringing this to life!

 2 years ago  

Nice one @mstafford starting very small and slow, but hopefully be able to build up soon...Just like with training I guess. If there is anything you think should be added, let me know.

Loading...

Oh and another question, this time regarding curation and voting.

Are you going to set up a curation trail? I'd happily follow it, even though I suspect I probably already follow (and auto vote) most of the users from when they posted via Exhaust.

The other option would be for users to delegate HP to this community account so you could give out a bigger vote...?

 2 years ago  

Yep, curation trail is something that has been mentioned a couple of times and will look at that in the next day or so as it was not something I originally had as a priority.

Too late to vote, but this looks great. @bingbabe is a Strava nut but the fact it reveals her real name means she won't use it. Is there a way to disguise the name and just add the banner to the HIVE cross-posts?

 2 years ago  

Thats fair enough. I am happy to adjust things to what people need as it is still small and can customise to what people want. If @bingbabe needs something specific, I would be happy to help, eg For her specific account I am happy to even change the screenshots or links back to strava if she needs it.

She's a very active runner but I can't get her interest here whatsoever. She's happy to post on Strava, but HIVE.. forget it! I asked her about changing her Strava name to 'bingbabe' but she's very well known in the local community so doesn't what that either.

 2 years ago  

Thanks for the info @slobberchops maybe there is a private option I can create for users that want it. I don't think it will be too hard.

Congratulations @strava2hive! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

NFT for peace - Thank you for your continuous support
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@steevc(1/5) tipped @strava2hive (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Definitely going to be giving this a try when I pick running back up! Been rehabbing a back injury and haven’t ran in a while so all my Strava workouts have been indoor walking and weightlifting lol