Sometimes, Ignorance Is Really Pure Bliss

in HiveGhana3 months ago

Life is too big and it’s really not everything you have to know. There are problems we could have avoided by being unaware,instead we ended up getting involved in situations because we wanted to know things. Don’t get me wrong, it is a very good thing to want to know things. To learn and unlearn, to find and unfind but my little advice for you today is that, sometimes it is way better to be clueless.

I’ve heard stories of people who became accomplices and were legally convicted because they knew something about an issue they werent supposed to know. Other times, knowing certain things affects the relationship you have with people.You tend to see them in different light which isn’t supposed to be the case because nobody is perfect. Weeks ago, I got to know something about someone and I wish I could find a way to unknow it. It put me in a tight corner and also gave me so many responsibilities that I was never ready for.

She was a close friend but started being distant for a while. I asked if everything was fine. She said yes and “if there was something I needed to know she would have told me”. There and then, I should have folded my mat and minded my business and looked forward but I kept on asking a lot of questions. I was so shocked to hear what I heard. After getting to know the whole issue, I now had an urgent sense of responsibility towards her. I was even unable to enjoy my goodnight sleep because the whole thing was scary. I could have avoided this if I just “sat my somewhere”.

She kept on telling me that she was a grown woman capable of making her own life choices and there was no need to help but I didn’t think I could just watch on and do nothing. Then again, I think that’s what I get for not minding my business.After remembering when she said “if there was something I needed to know she would have told me”, I just wish I didn’t push further to know. I already had my own problems but from that day I got to carry an additional burden of hers.

The fact that she also expected me to keep it a secret was the main problem because from all that she told me, she needed immediate serious help but she wasn’t ready for that. If only I could go back in time to try and not get involved in all of this. Knowing what I know now didnt add anything to my life rather,it has drained me emotionally and financially which I was never ready for. How I wish I didn’t even know after all, according to her she was doing good without me in the first place.

Sometimes it’s better to watch and pass than to go searching for things that might end up being detrimental to you yourself.

Sort:  

Sometimes, it's good to pretend as if you see nothing.
One proverb says What you don't know cannot kill you

Thanks for sharing

Exactly, you just watch and pass

The sad truth is, we can't stop caring.

I agree that sometimes, it's better not to know some things, at the same time, your conscience won't let you do nothing when you see your loved one worried or sad. It's just life.

After losing my goodnight sleep, I have learned my lesson please 🤣

You were just being a good friend and I bet if she said more harsh words you would still care about her.

Never again 🥹🥹

We don't really have to be curious and inquisitive towards somethings in life. You may end up regretting . Atimes trying to know more pays

You know right

That’s a tough position and I know how it feels. But some people need help so looking away nigh end badly. I’m sorry you felt that way tho.

Yeah that’s what I was trying to do and I couldn’t
Thank you 🥹

Sometimes ignorance can be a serious setback ooo

I don’t think you read my post sir😊

I did, but overall it's good sometimes to have knowledge of some things that are necessary but the ones that are not it's just best to ignore.

I think that’s exactly what I said in the post😊

Anyway thanks for stopping by

Thank you very very seriously, nice post you wrote there.

You’re welcome sir😊

There is a saying in Igbo language that , the day a child begins to ask about what killed his father' that day the child has begin his journey to an early grave.
so I concur, sometimes ignorance is a bliss

There’s a similar one in Ghanaian language too.
And yes o, it’s just better to not know somethings sometimes

Truly and she didn't even want to bother you, but you insisted. I know that will add to your regret but it's well, at least you cared for your friend and I believe you have learnt a lesson 😁

Yes, I learned a very great lesson

I wonder how you would feel and what you would do if things go horribly wrong with her situation—hopefully not—and you only realise the truth afterwards.

Personally, I would say you were doing what good friends do by going all out for the ones they claim to love and care about.

In reality, people handle situations differently, and some hold out too long not seeking help that they really need. Ever watched 13 Reasons Why?

But, hey, I am not saying that you should or shouldn't have gone a little further inquiring about her well-being. You were genuinely concerned, and perhaps you would have felt haunted by the thoughts of your friend needing help and holding out on you, and so you...

Notwithstanding, I agree that it's better to not know in certain situations—and maybe this is one of such. Wholesome words, Abena.

Yeah, the actual mistake I think I did was caring

Anyway I’m just done though, let someone also care for me🥹

Honestly, I can really relate. Sometimes it’s better to be in your lane cos your own problems are enough. You’ll now go and look for another problem to carry on your head.

Some people really need a listening ear because their cases are tangible but other put themselves in a bad place and later come acting like the victim. At the point, all you can do is be there for them and help them in your own little way.

Yeah, and it’s sad because if it happens like that the true people who need the listening ear might not be listened to because you would have learned your lesson by then.

I get your point. It shall be well.

With 10hbd🥹

😂😂😂yes

🤣🤣

Indeed ignorance is pure Bliss, sometimes you just have to mind your business the moment they tell you to, don't force it.

Exactly, you just mind your business

I was reading seriously to know what your friend said that could make you say all these, whatever the case may be I want you to stay strong dear.

I will stay strong but I’ve learned my lesson🥹

Ignorance indeed is a pure bliss
You were only trying to be a good friend.
It happens sometimes.

Yeah sometimes it’s just bliss

Lesson learnt.

Sometimes, knowing too much can kill, I have an experience pertaining to this, it was dreadful. what we don't know may likely not kill us.

Exactly the point

Oh I’ve been practicing this for a while now. I haven’t asked anyone what’s wrong with them for a very long time now. Sometimes I feel bad about it but I’ve got my own problems and I’m finding it hard to cope

I’m sad for your friends 🤣
But as long as you have your problems to deal with and nobody is asking you how you are
You just move

I think you had that push because you needed to know, maybe to help the lady, but wish ever way, your conclusion is right because we would not want to put ourselves in harm's way because of someone especially someone who has refused to see the right even when they are pointed towards it or even carried to the place.

One truth we have to accept is that we are not just responsible for ourselves in this world, we have a responsibility to look out for others, but unfortunately, the world has turned, so many are looking out for themselves rather than others.

Yeah I also think I had the push for a reason but now I don’t think the reason was tangible

Yeah, maybe. 🤷‍♀️