How I Spend my Leisure Hour

in HiveGhana9 months ago

Hi friends. It is thrilling to share how I spend my leisure hours. First, I will share how my typical day and week looks like. I lead a very busy life owing to the job I do. I teach in a private school Mondays to Fridays, 7am to 4pm (WAT). That take 9 hours of my day. Returning from School at 4:00pm (WAT) leaves me with the few options of preparing meals for the evening and some days I would have to attend an evening service in church since I consider my spiritual health very crucial.

I sleep at 10 pm to 4am (WAT) to have good sleep. As such, I'm left with few hours between 7pm and 9 pm to rest and those are the times I consider as leisure hours. There are exceptions however during weekends (Saturday and Sunday) as I intentionally create some four to five hours to rest, recreate and catch some fun. The few hours left for my rest are very dear to me as a young African female and I maximize the time to escape the hustle and bustle of life. Here are a few things I do during my leisure hours.


Image made from Canva


  1. Reading of Novels & Motivational Piece
    My love for reading dates back to my teen days. My favourite novel themes are love, family, culture. I also read motivational and spiritual books to sharpen my thinking. I'll always look out for novels that capture any of those themes. Recently, I'm getting drawn to cartoon stories perhaps since I will have to use some of those stories to teach my kids at school. Reading books help me to explore different cultures, words and share with people with different life perspectives. This helps to ignite my imaginations.


2. Culinary Experiments

I love good food and traditional ones at that. For me, cooking is a labour of love. During weekends, I experiment several African traditional recipes and share the meals with my neighbours and friends. That helps me build friendship and strengthens our bond of unity.


3. Embracing Music and Dance

I was raised in a typical village setting where we gather at evenings for folk music, play and dance. This makes me embrace music dearly. During leisure, I listen to music and dance to the rhythms. The dance is therapeutic for me and it helps me burn calories while also relaxing my mind for creative thinking and good sleep.


Tying it up, my leisure hours are a crucial aspect of my life. This is because during those moments, which I give in to reading, music, dance and cooking, I find joy, balance and personal contentment. Those moments bring me at pace with my identity and it refreshes my life from the cramps of work. Growing up to see myself intentional about my leisure activities gives me fulfilment that I'm in the right path of life.
Thank you for reading.


This is my entry to Weekly Engagement by @hive.ghana

Posted Using LeoFinance Alpha

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/kingswill/re-kingswill-2rko9p7th
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( kingswill ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Well done @kingswill! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2023
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 8
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 7

Interesting piece. Good that within your very busy schedule, you can pull off to prioritize rest and leisure.

@centtoken.

Thank you for the replies and curation.

Well done @kingswill! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2023
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 8
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 7

It's a good thing you have really map out ways to relief yourself from stress from your busy schedule. Nice one

Very important. Anyone not intentional about rest does so at his own peril.

Yes o, rest is very crucial in ones life. Thanks for reading through

Looks like you have very good activities planned for your leisure time. Next time you try a new dish, just give me a call so I can also have a taste of your delicious meal.😅

Thank you for that warm reply. I know how it feels having a workload of day. I really need to relive myself.

Next time you try a new dish, just give me a call so I can also have a taste of your delicious meal.😅

I will send them via the blokchain.

I’ll be patiently waiting

Well done @kingswill! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 9
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2023
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 8
Well done @kingswill! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 9
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2023
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 8
Well done @kingswill! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 12
Be ready for the August edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 10
Well done @kingswill! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - July 2023 Winners List
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 12
Be ready for the August edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Well done @kingswill! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - July 2023 Winners List
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 12
Be ready for the August edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Well done @kingswill! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - July 2023 Winners List
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 12
Be ready for the August edition of the Hive Power Up Month!