Entering Turkey by bike.

in Cycling8 months ago

A huge red flag in front of me, a white star and a moon. Turkey. I can’t believe I am here riding towards that border by bike.

After we had quit Bulgaria and quickly passed through Greece, we are now cycling in a small driveway of no-man’s-land towards the Turkish border. Armed guys on each side, barbed wire, walls and cameras.

Soon there are rose bushes planted on each side of the road. Trees and lush grass in between. Every wall seems to be built in black stone.

No doubt this is the prettiest border set up we crossed so far, or maybe ever.

Few kilometres later, we cross a huge bridge on a wide and empty road into Edirne. The first town after the border.

Greeted by waving people horns, traffic, mosques and lively streets, we understand very soon, that this country will be a very exciting one to discover.

Making our way through town cycling the bikes on busy roads, lifting them over countless curbs to finally push them through buzzing streets, we reach a lovely guesthouse around a, what seems to be the only quiet corner of town.

Tired, happy and excited we stroll through town. We try food in every corner until we are too full to keep on trying.

Our departure the next day gets delayed, by a lot of good advice, conversation and a very extended breakfast with our lovely host.

We leave late. Towards our next stop Lüleburgaz. Our cycling path is the rescue lane of a road, that has every resemblance to a highway. It is not, that’s why bicycles are allowed, but it feels like one.

Rain is showing up. Wind blows and never leaves, even after the rain calms down and ceases. Switching between dusty paths and the main road we aren’t really sure if we will manage to cycle todays planed 80km.

While the wind is trying to push us off the road, each truck passing pulls us forward. We pedal at a speed that feels like 5km/h even when it goes down.

Quick stops at petrol stations. A dog crossing the road.

When my brain turns off it becomes easier. Only forward. The traffic doesn’t exist anymore.

Lüleburgaz. We made it.

Why we are here?

Because one guy in Serbia told us to go to Lüleburgaz, there was some bicycle stuff going on there. We heard rumours of free accommodation in the “Bicycle Academy” a place where all the cycling travellers go before making it into Istanbul.

At the entrance of a bicycle park, a guy is waving at us, pointing at a building, telling us it will be our home for the night...

...and indeed, it is. An unexpected refuge, a taste of turkey’s hospitality, for all the people who are crazy enough to cycle all the way there.

Thank you for stopping by, have a wonderful week!

All photos and words are my own.

Sort:  

Congratulations @kesityu.fashion! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2023
The countdown to HiveFest⁸ is two weeks away - Join us and get your exclusive badge!

I wanna eat all that food, too.

Istanbul! I can't wait to see!

I think it's impossible to stay hungry with all those choices:D (meanwhile very possible to gain weight, even while cycling, lol)
Getting there soon!

You're not gaining weight, you're just saving it for later.

😅 Winter is coming!!

Hi, welcome! You should eat shish liver in Edirne as well as köfte in Tekirdağ if every pass by.

Thank you:) Oh I tried the Köfte next to Tekirdag, was really good!! I passed on the liver, maybe I missed something... but there is so much to try!

You're amazing! I was in Turkey last week and I was very sad that my vacation was over. Now I am very happy to hear about Turkey from you. I also wanted to go to Edirne but we didn't have the chance to go. fried liver is very famous there, I couldn't try it, but you should definitely try it. Have a safe and enjoyable trip.🚴‍♀️☀️

Thank you, that is really nice to hear!!😊 Yes it is a wonderful country, from everything I have seen so far!
Where have you been?
Unfortunately I missed the liver, but there is so much food everywhere, so I can not really regret it😅

I was in Istanbul, Canakkale, Antalya this summer. Yes you are right enjoy it!

Just found your post about Istanbul after that:)
I bet you had a great time!!

You reached to Turkey! You traveled to really far away. And I enjoy seeing your photos of snacks. Then here comes Baklava. I want to have a bite with a cup of bitter tea or coffee as you did.

Enjoy cycling! I wish you a safe and fun travel.

It's insane how good Baklava is!😊
I am very surprised myself, I have made it so far (in a good way)
Thank you😊 it's lovely to have you stopping by!!💛

Wow, youre already in Turkey!
I wonder where this wonderful trip will end!
Enjoy the views and the food!

Upvoted by the Cycling Community

Come join the Cycling Community and share your rides, bicycle, maintenance, news or any other cycling related content!


image.png

Supporting the Cycling Community

You can help the Cycling Community to support cyclists on Hive by delegating Hive Power or following our Curation Trail (via https://hive.vote: @hive177745)
You can select the Hive Power you like to delegate here:
25 - 50 - 100 -250 - 500

I wonder as well where all this is going😄
Thank you, it's a real pleasure to share this trip here!!
I will🙃