HOME DOESN’T ALWAYS HAVE TO BE PERFECT.

in DCooperation2 years ago (edited)

img_0.825958323551888.jpg
source

If you asked me about my country a few months back, I wouldn’t have had a positive answer and I could have probably given you a million reasons why I hated Nigeria but I have realized that home doesn’t have to be perfect and Nigeria is my home.

Growing up in Nigeria wasn’t something that I considered easy especially since I didn’t grow up with money, I had so many struggles, and at a very young age, I realized how unfair life could be.

I saw many opportunities being handed to undeserving people and I saw how corruption triumphed over good with nothing being done and my goal while growing up was always to leave the country as soon as I could but with time things have changed a bit and I will tell you why.

I won’t lie the major reason my opinion on Nigeria has changed is because of the potential I see here, as much as I will like to bash so many sectors and the country in general, I realize that if you don’t earn in naira, living here would be way easier in comparison to other countries especially first world countries, for example, taxation in Nigeria is way cheaper than other countries which reduces your expenses if you are earning in dollars.

img_0.6093061292385707.jpg
source

There are also other perks of being Nigerian and staying in Nigeria like our culture, the way we live, our music, and especially the food; eating Nigerian food is a heavenly feeling that I can’t resist, and who can forget one important factor that makes a home which is my family.

img_0.40732118477440216.jpg
source

Regardless of these factors and home not being perfect, I wouldn’t advise anyone who has the opportunity to leave the country to stay because clearly, things are getting worse, like @eminentsam4856 said in his post titled: Nigerian government plans on fuel subsidy removal and the monthly $12.106 (5000.00) transport stipends: what’s your take on these? and I quote from his article;

My take on these is critically looking at the living condition in Nigeria and the state of the economy and knowing that this will only double the trouble of the average Nigeria making a living.

Things are clearly not going to get better in this country which is sad because Nigeria has so many potential and as much as I want to have hope, I rarely do.

While home maybe not be perfect, you do have the choice to walk away from that home when it gets rough and that is what I plan to do soon enough.


This is my entry to the DCC contest and you can also participate here.


THANK YOU FOR OPENING THIS BOX OF PASSION

Sort:  

Congratulations @khaleesii! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 3750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 4000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 3
Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I remember a very old poem we recite then in school.

Nigeria is my country
A place of Joy
A place of pleasure
Where mummy was born
Where daddy was born
No matter what happens
Nigeria remains my country.

Well, it seems like the joy and pleasure are slowly fading away and it's so sad.

Joy and pleasure faded years back if we were being honest, right now it is getting to a point of pain.

I told myself that when i hit it big, I'll still build my life in Nigeria but in an inconspicuous way. While Nigeria isn't as developed, the culture, costs of living and morals rivals that of many countries. It doesn't mean I would not leave to see if there is anything for me out there. Wo, even when i give birth, I'm bringing my kids back to their roots😆

I understand the appeal of living in Nigeria, things are easier here but mehn safety is very important and I don't think we have that here.

If I had my way ill leave and then we will visit during Christmas 😆

True sha. I just have this feeling that my Destiny is here. In fact, when i think of leaving Nigeria my spirit rebels. My grandma had already processed my Visa when I was 14. Passports were ready but I couldn't go. It was like a force and i repeatedly cried no.

Your village people are holding you, be there aunty.

My village people no fit see me abeg. Lol. I'm covered with the blood of Jesus. 😆

When you no wan leave this country pave way for us.

If I can earn in dollars right from Nigeria, I don't see any reason for me leaving the country. A dollar to naira is still on a good side and so I can surely build an empire for myself here in Nigeria. If others can live big and make it in Nigeria, why can't I?

There is no country that don't have its problems. Its all depend on the mindset we have towards making things work for us..

Earning in dollars in Nigeria doesn't mean safety which is very important to me.

I get the financial part but there are other parts, also every country has issues but the countries are actively working on it.

I understand the part of my safety not being guaranteed but how guaranteed is it in other countries?...

Na God dey save us sha...

Omo you can't compare abeg.

Lol.. I understand your point of view.. But this isn't something we can debate here..

It's alright.