Journey So Far | Let Support #Story: DCC tag Contest

in DCooperation2 years ago

baby-foot-blanket-newborn-119604.jpeg
Pixabay

This is the story my mum told me. It is about my journey from the beginning of.my life till now. I was born into the family as the first child when the income of the home was low but peace and joy reigned. I later had other siblings and life continued.

In those days, to be registered in a primary school, your right hand through your head must touch your left ears, was the criteria for enrolment. But in my case, I was enrolled because I joined our neighbours going to school, as I had cried throughout the other day.

My mum and dad agreed that since it was what I wanted, the registration should be done officially. It wasn't like I was mature to begin school but my enthusiasm made them take that step.
Fortunately, at the end of the school year, I was promoted to the next class having done very brilliantly and the rest is history.
Though, there were other learners like me, those who were under-age but still found their ways into the classroom. We had the same experiences with the older folks.

After primary school, I was quite small to begin secondary education yet qualified. At the graduation of my senior secondary school, I wasn't able to gain admission into the university because I wasn't sixteen years old as stipulated by the constitution of the university commission.

Staying home idle is one thing I don't want to do. Just sleeping, eating and watching movies and whatnot. It would not do me any good. So, I applied as an office attendant in a pharmaceutical producing company in an industrial estate. During my interview, I was given some mathematical problems to solve, more of which was in measurement like kilograms, litres, grams, metre and so on, thank goodness that the measurement table was still fresh in my head.
I took my time to divulge the answers. We were about 30 applicants for the job but I got it at the end of the day and a new chapter opened to me.

I did my job with much vigor. Since I was still pursuing my admission to the university, I was only going to stay on the mob for a year or at most, two. In my first year, I got an award for the most dedicated junior staff with a prize of a thousand dollars. That was one of my happiest moments till this moment of writing this piece.

The fund was kept to see me through my university. Of course, I wouldn't be able to spend all that money for my university education. Those days, the values of the Nigerian Naira and the US Dollar we're at per.

pexels-photo-4560083.jpeg
Ketut Subiyanto

When I finally left for the university to study history and graduating with a fine result, had the compulsory one-year national service and sought the job, settling down to family life and building a career took over me
Over the years, I have come to realize that no matter the level we attain in life, we should constantly look back where we started and know where we are heading. And never to lose guard for once.

cigarette-smoke-embers-ash-70088.jpeg
Pixabay

In any case, my greatest regret had been my choice of friends at some point.in my life. I feel that if I hadn't met with such friends during my younger years, I may have attained more heights in life than now. But it's not all bad.

I will like to promote @meesterboom
Skull Dogs

              I turned the glass in my hand so that the amusing horned skull nonsense on it was fully visible for the Jefemeister.

I do have a weakness for a nice glass it must be said

His love for designer cups is second to none as his companions observed him critically to have always used such cups at their hang out for preparation of the coming week.

Sort:  

Did you know I also picked a job after my secondary School? I worked in a bank as a daily pay collector. Hahaha. The hustle started a long time ago. Great story

We have been on the hustle for quite a while and we are grateful for coming this far.
Thank you for coming around.

May God bless our hustle bro

Oh my, does everyone else notice how smooth your journey through life was? I feel you were lucky. And you used every lucky opportunity to your advantage too. Well done boss, and congratulations on everything.

Ahaha. You think so? Well, one man's food is another man's poison. Thank you for coming around.

That is a nice heartwarming story of success... glad you have settled down. We all have tha things we regret when we are younger now worries on that.

wish you a lot more success

A thousand dollars is a huge amount of money. I bet you had no problems scaling through the university since you already have finance that is enough to see you through..

I really don't want you to start regretting about the past or your choice of friends in the past. I believe people cross your path for a particular reason and in one way or the other you must have learnt something from them. So use that as a lesson learnt for a better tomorrow.

Thanks for sharing this story with us.. I loved it..

@dreemport

The world is just advancing every single day as technology advances rapidly, the things we consider as culture or procedure to follow are likely the opposite these days, infact people act weird or call you abnormal... whenever anyone does something consider ancient to few and funny to some.
Quite interesting article...via @dreemport

This is so inspiring, you had what people would call hurdles but you were very successful.

Thank you my seat friend. List is a multi-faceted coin, when tossed once, it opens one face and another toss, a new face.

Exactly, life gives you what it wants but you can change it to what you want.

Another awesome post @mrenglish, but your right hand had to touch your left ear??? I never heard that one hahahahaha!
This post was obtained through Dreemport.