Curation - An important factor for growth.

in DCooperation2 years ago (edited)

Hive is one platform that has got a whole lot of original and quality content creators so much that some of these good writers seem to be swallowed up by other good writers especially if they weren't early adopters on the platform. Some of these early adopters are excellent writers with great penmanship but unfortunately their great works do not get enough recognition.

Just as @heyhaveyamet said in this post

Often we get stuck in a rut and tend to only look at what is in our feed; this causes us to miss some amazing posts. What's even worse, we miss those introduction posts of new people who are just not being seen.

I love this initiative because it is all about finding the quality content creators on time right from their introduction posts and shining the light on them before they get swallowed up in the ocean of fishes.

photo-1604933762023-7213af7ff7a7.jpeg
Daniel Thomas

This is what curation is all about

Curation is simply the act of recognising a quality and original post and supporting it through upvotes and positive comments. The amazing thing about the hive platform is that everyone has the right to curate. Curation isn't compulsory but it is necessary as it not only encourages others but also benefits the curator.

How do I personally curate

Unfortunately, I do not have enough hive power to create a significant increase in the money earned by a post but I believe in little drops making a mighty ocean. I belong to a lot of communities. Everyday I choose a community to visit. I go through the posts of various authors, check for plagiarism using the various plagiarism tools online, then upvote if found to be original and of quality.

Also, like I said earlier, curation isn't only about posts but also comments. There is a reason why the comments have the upvote button. Personally, I appreciate good comments on my post through upvotes and replies.

How should curation be done by a community?

It's no secret that a community who curates her authors has more authors creating more content in that community. Every community has moderators. It's important for these moderators to have a curation team charged with discovering original and quality contents and supporting them through upvotes and great comments. The community can conduct contests to discover and encourage original and quality content creators who deserve the spotlight to be shined on them with a weekly post highlighting these awesome content creators and encouraging whales and other members of the community to grant them their support.

Communities can also create front-ends just like Dreemport where writers can have their post get more visibility. On Dreemport, original and quality posts are ranked by other writers in the community with the top five posts of the day getting the spotlight on them. This serves as a great motivation for other writers using the front-end.

What would I do if I was a whale?

Being a whale shows that you've been accumulating, powering up and not selling your liquid hive. It could also mean that you could afford to buy lots of liquid hive for power up. If I was a whale, this high amount of hive power would not be used to curate my posts but the posts of others. I will specifically watch out for newcomers on hive. This is because new hivers usually come on board with so much enthusiasm and when they get little or no support, they get discouraged and a few of them stop writing. I will seek out the new onboarders and discover the original and quality content creator amongst them and bless them with high votes and good comments. I will support communities with great contest topics and also support communities which have great vision but little or no support for their community members.

Importance of curation.

The importance of curation cannot be overemphasized. Curation does a whole lot for the platform such as

  1. It helps to encourage original and quality content creators
  2. It helps to support newcomers on the Blockchain and give them a reason to keep writing.
  3. It helps to stand as a motivation for the low quality content writers who see the need to improve on their writing in order to get good curation.
  4. It helps new communities to grow and expand.
  5. It helps community members to be encouraged to participate more in community contests.
  6. Curation helps people earn which is the major reason while most people are on the platform. On hive, both the curator and the curated to earn free tokens.

photo-1519337265831-281ec6cc8514 (1).jpeg
Kenny Eliason

Tips on how to find great content creators

Finding great content writers requires a great deal of time and patience but this can be made easy especially if you are a community owner. Having a discord channel with a room for links can be a great way to start because it streamlines your search for great content writers.

Also, using a particular tag can also be of great help. Searching for content creators on a particular tag or niche can help you focus as a curator and know exactly how to reach more content creators using that tag and on that niche.

Organising a contest just like this is another way to discover hidden talents from amongst the participants of the contest.

There are so many great content creators on the platform. I wish I can name them all but then here is a few of them @samsmith1971 @dreemsteem @davidbright @warpedpoetic @gone-hive @khaleesi @amirtheawesome1 @olawalium @princessbusayo @hopestylist @ahama.merit @kenechukwu97 @khaleesi @tengolotodo @baby.magic @ayesha.malik @writermaximus and the list is endless.

Sort:  

well laid out... one thing. Speaking from experience, a channel in a discord for dropping posts in is a magnet for people to drop and run. You either spend time and effort setting guidelines to get people to look at the content and interact or it becomes a dumping ground. I had one in my discord and eventually closed it.

You are absolutely right. I've seen a lot of communities complain same on discord. Well I've never really owned a discord channel but I believe there just might be a way to make it work. And if it doesn't, the community can always have a tag through which they discover original and quality Content writers.

The tag is likely the better approach .. one that the members agree to visit.

I feel honored to be mentioned among these wonderful writers

Thank you so much💙

And yes, the importance of curation cannot be emphasized enough

I've personally written some posts that I poured my heart into and it got basically zero engagement

So I completely understand how discouraging it can be...
And that's why I'm always appreciative when my posts get curated

Even though I'm also relatively a newbie, I've seen some newbies get discouraged and just quit
Which is why I try to leave sincere comments on as many posts as I can

Lovely write-up zyzy
Learnt a lot🙌🏻

You are doing a great job. I've seen quite a few or your writing and I'm amazed at your penmanship.

True words youve said, pouring your heart out and not having any curation on the post can be quite discouraging. Let's hope the whales see this beautiful contest and realise the need to curate more especially newbies.

Thanks dear

You are doing a great job. I've seen quite a few or your writing and I'm amazed at your penmanship.

🥺🥺🥺
This means a lot

Thank you💙

Stay buzzing 🙌🏻😤

You've said a whole lot about curation, curating and curator and once again, I've learned something new. It was really educating reading through this post.

Thank you for the mention, I'm most grateful for your thoughts towards me, I really appreciate it. All the best for your entry.

I'm glad you found this post quite educative. Keep being a beautiful writer.

Thank you so much for the mention, darling. Deeply appreciated. I love the idea about being a whale and you watching out for newbies. It's always harder on newbies and making it easier for them goes a long way.

It's always harder on them. Just like a foreigner who finds himself or herself in an unfamiliar terrain. A little guide and support always goes a long way.

Absolutely... It goes a long way...

Curation isn´t a simple task but needs time and patience to look out for great content creators. I think this is why the Newbie Initiative was created to help the newbies grow their accounts and navigate to understand more about the platform and it is indeed good as a whale, to recognize these people who are struggling to be known with their quality content to get reached out to.

Curation is indeed important especially to keep encouraging those ones who are almost giving up so they can keep doing their good works. Thank you ma for the mention 🥰

The whales hold the key. I only wish more of them will be dedicated to supporting other smaller fishes on the platform

I totally agree with everything you said. I remember how i almost stopped blogging because i felt it was hard to get curated..Thanks for recognising me as a great content creator...my head is swelling

Yes you are a great content creator and good at engagement also. Keep it up

Thank you so much

Thank you for including me in the list.👍 I didn't know I was a great content creator.🤔😅

It depends on what you mean by great content creator. By my standard, you are. 😜

Haha.. I can say the same thing to you.😀

Wonderful post on curation @zyzymena ... very helpful piece for newcomers to Hive especially and it's great to see how you go about curation too, with a good sense of responsibility, and fairness, and that you are looking out for those new Hivers landing in #heyhaveyamet 🙌❤️ !LUV !ALIVE !PIZZA

Thank you so much Sam! We all have a part to play in everyone grow on this platform.
Thanks for the gifts♥️

@zyzymena! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Been supporting newbies the best way i can with auto curation you can beep me up on whatsapp with thier names for me to add them to the trail cc kayceefresh

Alright. I'll do so. Thank you so much for all your support.

sam.jpg
Upvoted on behalf of the VYB Curation Project

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@samsmith1971(4/10) tipped @zyzymena (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Thank you zyzy for the mention, I am not sure I would say I am content creator but I do try:)
You are pretty darn good too!
Have a wonderful weekend:)

Awww.. thanks for the mention beautiful one. I appreciate it.

Always ♥️

HeyHaveyamet is a project that we have been doing for years its soly curating newly introduceyourself blogs. Because hive can indeed be daunting in the beginning.

You can say that again. I remember when I first started. I almost gave up because of little or no support. Having this initiative support newbies is quote honourable and recommendable as it will go a long way to help then settle in faster.