Skeet, Trap, and I Need A NAP!

in Daily Blog22 days ago


IMG_2227.jpg

paw divider transparent.png


You'll have to pardon any weirdness or strange grammar in this post, I don't think I have thawed out from Sunday yet.

For this past Sunday I got to attend and watch my very first American Trap Association shoot at our local skeet and trap club.

IMG_2222.jpg

Honestly, it's kinda funny that it was the first time I had watched an ATA shoot, but in all honesty, even though my kids have shot at many ATA shoots and are members of the ATA, I have been very busy for the last couple years. With them being big kids, a lot of the time, they would head to the shoots while I was somewhere else doing mom things. You know how it goes.

But Sunday was different! I have less obligations now, and I was super excited to go watch my son blast clays out of the sky.

I only wish it had been slightly less Arctic outside.

We are way below normal temperature-wise, and after nine hours out in the wind, my lips were cyanotic (no joke), and for three hours after I got home, not even my rice bag and a hot toddy could restore warmth.

But it was worth it.

IMG_2253.jpg

Our son crushed it. He won junior singles. And not only did he win that, he outshot everyone there in singles trap with a 97.

He also shot three perfect rounds of trap and earned himself some mighty fine patches for his shooting vest. I thought it was cool.

Well, I would have thought that, but my brain had iced over.

Not only did the boy do amazing, his whole team, including his coach did a bang up job. ATA shoots are an all ages affair, and I have to admit, I am intrigued.

IMG_2223.jpg

We are building our own skeet and trap field, and the two times I have shot trap I have absolutely loved it.

Plus, it gives me an excuse to buy myself a sporting clay shotgun (Hello, Beretta Silver Pigeon Vittoria!). (Like I needed an excuse).

The boy's coach said we are having a team picnic in August and the parents get to shoot too, so I guess I better get practicing.

In all reality though, shooting a clay pigeons aside, I am super, super proud of all the work my son has put in. He's gearing up for Shotgun State which is three weeks, and I am just so excited for him. The day he shoots a perfect hundred in trap and skeet is out there on the horizon, so you can bet your last shotgun shell that I will be out there watching him.

Even if the weather is more than slightly frigid.

Thank the ling cods that one of the parents had a little propane heater.😉

IMG_2224.jpg

Also, big shout out to the grilled cheese guy who was beyond genius and had $1 donuts for the heathens to demolish. You sir are a gentleman and a scholar!


paw divider transparent.png


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's still giggling at how this one old dude yelled PULL iPhone.


Sort:  

I’ve never had an ATA shoot before
I’m sure it was fun and your kids had a great time

It was very fun and I hope you get to enjoy a trap shoot someday, it's a pretty good time!

!PIZZA

Congratulations @generikat! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@generikat(1/15) tipped @rafzat