The Bearskin Hoodie Encounter

in Daily Blog6 months ago


IMG_1130.jpg

paw divider transparent.png


Now that I am starting to feel a bit better, I have found myself playing a bit of catch-up. You know, catching up on all the things that had to be put on the back burner while my malfunctioning immune system tried to un-alive me. I kinda like catch-up.

Here's the rub though, thanks to the invasion of the Gray Locusts, I really try to avoid going to town as much as possible. It's not good for someone who's supposed to keep their stress low to dive into the fray of imports that are currently swarming the area.

That said, I actually adore people and get a kick out of seeing them in action, and with me being a bit of a fruit loop in regards to taking it easy, I decided the best thing to do was to hit all my catch-up destinations in one day. Cause smart.

You see, my hubs had his weekly Tuesday rifle team meeting last night, his kids had to shoot a postal match, and I had a meeting scheduled for that day with my future college, so I thought to myself, Well, let's just a make a day of it.

Rural people do that a lot, by the way. If you have to go to town, you might as well make it count.

So the hubs and I went to nine stores. We got everything from bathroom paint to plexiglass to retinol. It was one of those trips where we replenished many odds and ends that had ran low due to the main logistical expeditor languishing for the last couple of months.

So even though our neck of the woods is swarming with a bunch of creatures who hail from a culture that I am not super fond of, a culture that doesn't appear to have an appreciation for politeness, community, frugality, or authenticity, I decided to make an attempt to put my biases aside and look for the fun in the fracas.

I found it.

While in a big box hardware store that rhymes with Foam Beepbo, the hubs and I found ourselves rolling our big orange cart down towards the aisle that contained the stencils (he had to make range markers for his club's upcoming rifle match this weekend). My head was swiveling about taking in all the sights, smells, and behavior.

As we rounded a curve, a man firmly in the Boomer demographic of generational classification, strode right in front of us and got right in the space of another man of his generation.

"Is that an authentic bearskin hoodie?" he blurted to the creature whom he had accosted so forcefully.

Now, I must admit, right before I turned away in what I am can only describe as a fit of bemusement, I caught a glimpse of the other man's countenance, it was alit with what could only be described as a slight bit of alarm followed by that smug look of satisfaction when we are pointed out as the cool kid amongst all our peers.

However, it was my husband's face that did me in, so much so that I had to spin and walk away as I burst out laughing, for a person can only express so much disgust and outright contempt before causing an international incident.

IMG_1011.jpg

Tactical and tannerite both start with T!

You see, I grew up around rough and tumble, hardworking men. You know, the kind that would gather around an old beat up pickup truck and stare at a freshly blasted bull elk. The conversation of admiration might go as follows,

"Nice bull."

"Yup, took him up on Baldy."

"Approving Grunt"

Men in my childhood would never comment on each other's clothing, let alone accost a stranger about some designer hoodie. Not that tactical clothing or designer clothing isn't nice or functional, but I mean, if you are out in the bush do you really want to rip a piece of your pricey outerwear to wipe your flintlocks split?

Now, being the curious sort, today I looked up this bearskin hoodie. It's actually properly referred to as a Baerskin Hoodie and it's supposedly tactical! It has more features that a late model car! Truly a wonder of textile architecture.

And apparently it draws men like a moth for public fashion query and commentary! I mean, it's like a super hero costume!

All mirth aside, I'm just happy I witnessed such a pleasant interaction amongst members of the public, as there are far too many episodes of the other, more rude displays all too often.

Plus, they make Baerskin Hoodies for women too, so who knows, maybe I will don one and head out into the wild for a bit of a socializing safari!

IMG_0985 (1).jpg


paw divider transparent.png


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's non tactical but ever so practical iPhone.


Sort:  

Glad to hear you are on the rebound. I think your side of the hill has much more noticeable of a geriatric influx than our side. On this side they tend to dilute in the masses but with fewer people there the percentages are a lot higher.

And apparently it draws men like a moth for public fashion query and commentary! I mean, it's like a super hero costume!

This is the general response to my kilts when i wear them in public. They are a magnet for comments, stares, and questions. Those hoodies look pretty slick and are 67% off right now.

It’s definitely been noticeable, I’m truly concerned for a large majority of them as winter is rolling in, I have a feeling there will be a lot of stories!

Speaking of stories, I’m super excited you wandered over to check out the the tactical baer-wear! It is a nice discount indeed! Are you going to rock one with your kilt? A kilt is such a functional piece of apparel, yet I’m betting you have more than your fair share of impertinent and honestly curious apparel inquiries under your belt!

Thankfully with it winter I am not keen to freeze in my kilt so the curiosities are more seasonal for me. I actually went looking at the Mountain Hardware soft shell pants I need another pair of and they cost the same so it is a toss up... I need warm pants more than torso layers as I have oodles of them.

This morning was a good portent of the chaos on the roads with the freezing fog, there were slide offs all around the region.

Ooh, I have been looking at pants such as those, not bulky yet warm, weatherproof, and toasty! I have just been making due with whatever is around for the last few years, I probably should explore some new clothing options lol, you have inspired me!

The roads are still chaos....I'm up to almost ten inches of snow here lol

!PIZZA

I got my pants when I was in Bozeman for paragliding training. It was uber cold and windy and I was SUPER happy to find these. They're what I have been searching for for years, for a reasonable price. My second pair will be here this next week.

We have totaled at 8 inches but this is the forecast for the week..... Welcome to el nino.

Capture333.JPG

There is the concept of the gray man who blends into the crowd and avoids drawing attention from wrongdoers and authorities alike.

And then there is the tacticool meal team 6 boomer in baerskin and 5.11 garb that screams "I'm carrying a gun, and it's probably a 1911!"

Heh.

I mean, I get it, we all love to check out the cool gadgets and such, I just find it super amusing how excited people get about tacticool accoutrement.

I think it a lot, but we definitely do live in the most interesting of times!

!PIZZA

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much!!

Ha funny. I never even heard of a Baerskin Hoodie till a day ago an ad for one popped up on a YouTube video. I just now looked to see how much they get for said tactical hoodie, and I believe I am need of oxygen. I do believe P. T. Barnum was right lol. No the only highfalutin brand seen much around here is Carhart. As for full disclosure, you can call me a wimp too coz I have sawed for 40 years without them, but I broke down and bought a pair of Husqvarna chaps. I admit I am getting soft in my old age.

Right? The on sale price of that article of clothing about seized my ticker too!

Chaps are cool and I would never look down on ya for donning some safety gear, the hubs says I need to wear a padded suit just to walk to the barn due to my proclivity to become injured, so I am all for wearing wear that serves as obstacles to being maimed.

That said, I am definitely not a sage when it comes to highfalutin wear, never have owned a Carhart anything, and the only thing bear and skin related I've been around have been hides😁

!PIZZA

Visiting nine shops were quite a lot but I’m sure it is good that way
You had a busy day
Make sure you rest when you’re free

I did! I rested! It was glorious!

And today it is snowing, so I am going to go out and have some fun in it lol!

Hope you are having a glorious weekend!

!PIZZA

I had never heard of a Baerskin Hoodie. So I learned something new just now.
I know what you mean about squeezing as many errands as possible into one trip to town. I have overdone it a time or two. I have an appointment tomorrow, and hope to accomplish 4 errands before I give out.
Glad you are feeling better!

Isn't amazing the things one learns over the course of a day! I now know of the existence of tactical hoodies and I shared it with others! Eureka!

And thanks for the well wishes, I am feeling more like myself, hope the SAD isn't getting you down!

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
generikat tipped jacobtothe
generikat tipped rafzat
@generikat(3/15) tipped @scribblingramma
generikat tipped old-guy-photos
generikat tipped flemingfarm