Shadows and reflections contest entry: @deerjay

in Shadow Hunters3 years ago

This is my entry for the Shadows and Reflections Contest by @galenkp! You can read more about the contest and how to enter HERE!

I took all of the following photos while I was on the Stocksdale Trail and the Sweathouse Trail which is at the Central Area of the Big Gunpowder Falls State Park in Baltimore County, Maryland. This area of the Gunpowder Falls State Park is located at approximately 10092 Belair Rd in Baltimore County, Maryland. My photos were also taken during different seasons but they definitely have one thing in common in that they feature either shadows or reflections. A couple may even feature both!

shadowsandreflections7-31-2021-1ok.jpg

shadowsandreflections7-31-2021-2ok.jpg

Pretty much all of the trails along the Gunpowder River are quite scenic! Looking for shadows, reflections and even birds and interesting rocks kinda' makes you slow down and take notice of things that you may not otherwise notice. Like a leaf slowly floating down the river and the reflection or shadow that it may have tagging right along with it.

shadowsandreflections7-31-2021-3ok.jpg

The water here may look green but the green is from the trees overhead with their green foliage. It looks almost magical sometimes.

shadowsandreflections7-31-2021-4ok.jpg

I caught some sun flare in my next photo! I don't mind some sun flare every now and then. Sometimes the colors that show up are pretty. When I look at this photo it reminds me of one that I could've taken years ago while on a walk with my siblings but that is just an illusion but it does stir up memories of long ago.

shadowsandreflections7-31-2021-5ok.jpg

I'm glad that I got to take this next photo when I did! This part of the park had been closed off for about a year and had just re-opened. Since I took this photo the park has planted trees and plants which would make getting close to this part of the waters edge a little harder.

shadowsandreflections7-31-2021-6ok.jpg

The shadows on the trail can leave some lovely designs as do shadows on the trees. When there is a breeze the shadows almost put on a dance for anyone to see that will take the time to notice!

shadowsandreflections7-31-2021-7ok.jpg

shadowsandreflections7-31-2021-8ok.jpg

Sometimes I get to see different kinds of wildlife while I'm out on the trail. This is the first place that I saw the periodical Brood X Cicadas emerging en masse.

shadowsandreflections7-31-2021-9ok.jpg

It's a good thing that I stopped to take a photo of this shadow on the trail because after taking a closer look there was more than just tree foliage shadows on the trail.

shadowsandreflections7-31-2021-10ok.jpg

Some shadows are very obvious and some are quite subtle!

shadowsandreflections7-31-2021-11ok.jpg

I zoomed in to get a photo of this fishing bobber stuck on a branch. It wasn't till I got home that I noticed the crazy reflections in the water including the fishing bobber and branch.

shadowsandreflections7-31-2021-12ok.jpg

These stretch along the Gunpowder River does offer some beautiful reflections ...

shadowsandreflections7-31-2021-13ok.jpg

... and sometimes you can find both shadows and reflections! 💖

shadowsandreflections7-31-2021-14ok.jpg

Thank you @galenkp for hosting this contest!
Thank you @meesterboom for judging!
Thank you @galenkp and @tarazkp for providing the prizes!
and
Thank you @melinda010100 for the Shadow Hunters Contest!
Thank you @annephilbrick for the Reflection Hunters Contest!
All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

Sort:  

You have some really nice pictures there. Must be really beautiful when all the trees are in their fall outfits :)

Thank you very much @tarazkp!! It is so beautiful! It seems like often when the Autumn colors arrive we get a big wind storm here but I did catch some lovely colors last year as the winds left some behind. 😉

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you @pinmapple!! 💖

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 67 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
9

Thank you so much @pixresteemer!! 💕


Hey @deerjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I love it when you share photos from this beautiful park! You got some great shots! Good luck in the contest.

Thank you so much Melinda!! It is awesome to see so many great entries! 💕

@galenkp and @meesterboom are going to have their work cut out for them! I'm certainly glad that I don't have to pick. I have so many favorites!

There's some 31 entries so far...Luckily Boomy has to do a the hard work, not me. That's why the guest judge thing was a stroke of genius! 😆

Lol..good play on that one! Key words "so far"! It will be interesting to see how many there will be in total. I saw that more than one entry was allowed and haven't noticed if anyone has submitted a 2nd entry. I thought about doing a silly story as a 2nd entry. Hoping to pull it together in time! 😉

There's only been a couple of double entries so far. The focus will be on quality, interest and originality and the shadows or reflections, through the judging process so if a user can put two really good ones together then there's a better chance of earning a placing.

It's been a long time since I did a silly story because..well..I've had a lot going on for a while which makes me feel like people don't care so much for a little silliness and my own frame of mind has not been in such a great place. Maybe a little silliness is what some people need right now though including me. I'm definitely working on that 2nd entry though but I have to feel like it is right and try to do the thought process in my head right and get it finished in time. 🙂

There's only been a couple of double entries so far. The focus will be on quality, interest and originality and the shadows or reflections, through the judging process so if a user can put two really good ones together then there's a better chance of earning a placing.

Yep! I think I would have a hard time being a judge especially with so many great entries! 🙂

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you very much @ecency!! 💖

Hi, I have manually curated your content as you have posted a photo that I found interesting. Your post will be included in my Photophile series of posts and let me share you some !PIZZA and !BEER for the curation!

Connect

Trade


@deerjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @photophile.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)

Thanks so much @photophile!! Much appreciated! 💖

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

You captured some lovely reflections and shadows on the Stocksdale Trail and Sweathouse Trail Dee. 💕 Such a great area for a walk.

I’ve been in a bit of a slump this past week as I lost Sunday Cat. He was lethargic for a few days and suddenly died. Red who is much older at 13 is still going strong but lonesome now. I was thinking of writing a post about Sunday but can’t bring myself to do that yet.

For some reason the tip wouldn't process but I will try later.

Thank you very much Jo!! 💕
Oh no! I'm so sorry Jo!! I thought perhaps you were visiting your sister and I'd rather that was the case! I know how you feel Jo, I still think of Friendly and miss her so much still. You should write that post though when you are ready. I cried the whole time as I wrote about Friendly but I think it helped. I believe we will see our furry family when we go and I know Sunday knows how much he was loved! Much love and hugs to you my dear friend!! 💞

Thanks Dee.💕 We know our pets don’t live forever but it still leaves a big hole in our heart when they must leave us and go over the rainbow bridge. It always helps to talk with other pet lovers. 🌸

My older cat Red seems to be better this week. I know he was lonesome for Sunday too. I’ve given him extra attention.

Much love dear friend. ❤️

You're most welcome Jo! I'm glad that Red is doing better this week! 💞

Gorgeous shadows and reflections Dee, I find it really exciting to see such lovely pics and even more exciting to take the photos and then the fun sharing. 💗

Thank you so much Angie!! Both of the walks that I took these on were a couple of the nicest walks. The weather was perfect and always surprises to be found be it pretty colors, wildlife, lovely reflections or cool shadows! Not being able to get out sometimes makes me appreciate these times even more! 😊💕

Those make me want to go for a walk right now :) ... I also like how you noticed the toad - good observation skills :)

Thanks so much @wrestlingdesires!! I've come too close a few times lately of stepping on a toad. I know I would feel awful if I were to do so. Often times my husband will spot one and let me know but once in a while it is the other way around like this time. Good thing the shadow was there to slow me down some and take notice. 😉

I'm glad he wasn't hurt :) Of course you would feel bad, but you can only do your best to be alert. And maybe make noise, they usually run :)

Congratulations @deerjay! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Congratulations @deerjay! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Thank you so much @hivebuzz!! I'm always happy to get a Power Up Day badge! 😊

You're welcome @deerjay, that's always a pleasure 😊👍 Have a nice day!!!
See you soon.