Shadows and reflections contest entry: @deerjay

in Shadow Hunters3 years ago (edited)

This is my 2nd entry for the Shadows and Reflections Contest by @galenkp! You can read more about the contest and how to enter HERE!

This is my second entry and I thought I would tell you a silly story with photos because with everything going on in the world today I think we could all use a little silliness and laughter!

An Infestation

Well, it seems I have an infestation problem here in my home! Not an infestation of ants which I've had but this new infestation is these little monsters!

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-1ok.jpg

I'm not talking about a couple of little monsters either. It appears to be an entire family of little monsters!

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-2ok.jpg

I thought it was bad enough having ghosts ...

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-3ok.jpg

... and my two little alien friends! Some of you may even remember me writing about them! My alien friends just happened to be visiting the same time as these little monsters showed up so perhaps they came visiting with them. Did I ever tell you that my little alien friends like Life Savers candy. Actually, they like most candies and, of course bacon! I don't mind sharing my candy with them though and told them they were welcome to have some.

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-4ok.jpg

When I asked if they had brought the little monsters with them they didn't really give me a direct answer. You can imagine how startled I was when I heard faint rustling in my room and turned on my light to find the two larger of the little monsters on my light. I believe they are the parents of the little-er little monsters.

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-5ok.jpg

I keep a couple of bottles of water next to my bed and I even caught them partaking of some of that water. Ugh, and I drank some after them too!

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-6ok.jpg

I did briefly think about ..shh.. exterminating the little problems.

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-7ok.jpg

But I didn't have the heart to do it as, in all honesty, they were kinda' cute!

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-8okgif.gif

Then I had a great idea or what I thought was a great idea. I could start a youtube channel that would feature the little monsters. I explained my idea to them and they were very keen on the idea I think.

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-9ok.jpg

First I had to come up with a catchy thumbnail. You know the kind! Mouth wide open and clasping the face! Here is one of my little alien friends demonstrating for you and the two larger little monsters.

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-10ok.jpg

They gave it a try but couldn't get it quite right.

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-11ok.jpg

The orange little monster continued trying till he (pretty sure that was the male) bit himself and let out a yelp! Maybe it is best that I nix that youtube channel for now.

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-12ok.jpg

Thank goodness the younger little monsters rushed forward and were so fascinated by the mirror that I brought out a larger one so they could see their reflections as well. I was able to enlist help from the little aliens to hold the mirror so I could take a couple of photos. They had eaten every one of my Life Savers after all so it was the least they could do!

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-13ok1.jpg

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-14ok.jpg

Okay! Let me just go ahead and address the "elephant in the room" now! I know you are probably thinking .. hey @deerjay, how can a ghost make a shadow? Well, your guess is as good as mine! I can tell you this and that is when I laid the mirror down the ghost flew across the mirror and as it did I sneaked a peek up the sheet and, trust me, there was nuthin' under the sheet. So if you figure it out then let me know!

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-15ok.jpg

Anyway the younger little monsters were getting restless and found a few of my sons old toy cars to play on. Mom and Dad little monsters weren't too happy about it though and stopped them right quick.

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-16ok.jpg

Instead the parent little monsters brought the children little monsters back into my room and into a circle to play (what I thought) a game of "Ring Around The Rosie".

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-17ok.jpg

Only their version was slightly different and they called it "Ring Around The Walrus"! Try saying that five times fast!

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-18ok.jpg

I just shook my head in disbelief and coaxed them out of my room by offering a snack of some cheetos and ginger ale.

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-19ok.jpg

While they had their snack I snuck in some sips of a beverage also as I felt a major headache coming on.

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-20ok.jpg

I gave them some dice to play with so I could finish my beverage. It was a full pint and I'm not ashamed to say that I drank the entire can!

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-21ok.jpg

It was definitely time for my nap so I promised them that I would take them outside later to play in the garden but in the meantime they could explore the basement. There was lots in the basement that they could get into and keep them occupied without making too much of a mess.

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-22ok.jpg

Now it was my naptime but I was feeling like I had a lot on my plate already without having to worry about a little monster infestation in my home. I lay down anyway but still couldn't sleep as my mind began to wonder .. where, exactly, did that walrus go?! 😏

shadowsandreflections8-2-2021-23ok.jpg

THE END

(for now)

Thank you @galenkp for hosting this contest!
Thank you @meesterboom for judging!
Thank you @galenkp and @tarazkp for providing the prizes!
and
Thank you @melinda010100 for the Shadow Hunters Contest!
Thank you @annephilbrick for the Reflection Hunters Contest!
All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 68 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
12

Thank you very much @pixresteemer!! 😘

A giant leap into the imagination of @deerjay! I was completely entertained, wondering where those little monsters would take you next! I do hope there is a part two.

Thank you so much Melinda!! I'm happy you found it entertaining..lol! It was great that there were 47 total entries for the contest! Shadow Hunters is an awesome community!! 💖

Hahaha Dee, what a lot of fun and laughter with little monsters and aliens. I agree we do need to laugh more these days and not take life too seriously. Just visualise the laughing Buddha fat, round and jolly. 💜

Thank you so much Angie!! Lol..that is a terrific visualization!! 😂

Here is a card of Lord Maitreya aka Buddha from the Ascended Masters Oracle Cards - it emanates joy.

484FE019-605F-45E1-A2C5-3A83FBDB7BA5_1_105_c.jpeg

ps: I love your crystal lamp.

Thank you Angie! It is a beautiful card and definitely joyful! 🙂

A fun post Dee. 💕 The infestation of these little monsters was hilarious.

For some reason I’m unable to put my tip for you through Peakd and have to go through ecency to do it.

Thank you very much Jo!! I'm so happy it made you laugh! I will have to get with you on discord to find out how you do it through ecency. It was easiest to do it the way we originally did it with the exclamation! Wishing you all the best!! 💞

I’m unable to do it the way we originally did it with hivesigner. It was much simpler with hivesigner

When in Ecency go to your points page and click the downward arrow beside the amount of points you have. A ‘gift to someone’ will show up and click that to type in who you wish to gift. Another screen will appear where you fill in amount and if it’s Hive, HBD or points you want to gift.

Thanks so much Jo!! I will try it out soon. So far, peakd is still working for me. 💕

I don’t know why peakD isn’t working for me for tips. It was much simpler to use. It keeps going through the process and then says transaction failed.