Show Me A Shadow SMASh 232 - What's In A Shadow

Hello hunters of shadows! So happy to be able to submit an entry for Round 232 of this very popular and long-running contest, the Show Me A Shadow or SMASh Contest hosted by @melinda010100. You've missed a lot if you still don't know about this yet. Check out the contest post here and hopefully you can join us in the fun and become a shadow hunter as well.

Shadows are fascinating. So many quotes and sayings have been created through time and these have only served to increase the enigma that is the shadow. One of my favorites is from Aesop, the famous writer of fables. He said, "Beware lest you lose the substance by grasping at the shadow." The photo below probably best illustrates this.

IMG_20220816_200745.jpg

This was taken during my daughter's visit to the Berlin Zoological Garden, Germany. It's actually just a part of the whole picture that I zoomed-in. It shows a shadow of what seems to be a wooden fence on some sort of a wooden walkway. It kind of looks very ordinary and wouldn't call that much attention until I let up a bit on the zoom in and show a bigger part of the same photo.

IMG_20220816_200902.jpg

Ahh, now it gives an entirely different perspective of the object. What looked like a wooden fence in the first photo is actually a wooden railing on what appears to be a wooden bridge. And those three small blobs turned out to be three blue herons perched on the railing.

And here's the actual picture. Welcome a fourth feathered friend on the left side. Wonder why he chose to perch across the others. Too crowded?

IMG_20220816_200818.jpg

Since I have joined this Community, I have grown to appreciate shadows. They are fascinating. But I have also learned to appreciate more the discovery of what's behind the shadows. For indeed, it is in knowing the substance that we do not just grasp and trust the shadow.

For my entry to this Round, I am submitting the photo below.

IMG_20220817_003033.jpg

And that's all for now. Keep SMAShing my dear friends and continue to be amazed in the world of shadows. Many thanks to our sponsors and benefactors, to @good-karma and @ecency, @pixresteemer and #archon and lastly to @annephilbrick for tirelessly judging this contest. Good luck to all participants. Stay safe and may peace be with you all.

Oh by the way, before I forget, allow me to greet @melinda010100 a belated Happy Birthday 🎂🎉🎈 last August 11. May you be blessed more and always, my dear friend 💕🌹🥰

Sort:  

My pleasure 😊

Congratulations @gems.and.cookies! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 5750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war

Thanks for keeping track. Appreciate the effort. 😊

You're welcome @gems.and.cookies! Have a nice day 😊👍

Aww, thanks for the birthday wishes! I love that you chose that quote to help illustrate this series of shadow photos! Love those perched herons, too. Great shadow post! ♥️ That was me, Melinda, commenting from the wrong account! 😂

Didn't want to miss this week as I wanted to greet you. I enjoyed doing this post and am just glad you liked it 🤗 Made my day!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you for the support. 👍