SMASh 187 - Training For The U.S. Open

Welcome to SMASh 187 my dear Shadow Hunters. The Show Me A Shadow Contest is hosted by the tireless bundle of pure energy @melinda010100. If you still do not know about SMASh click here for the link to the contest post. Join us and have yourself a smashing experience!


I was going over my old phone's gallery, looking over the photos I have stored in cloud there and I came upon these pictures of my grandson taken in 2018. He was still 2 years old then.

received_388598149341227.jpeg

IMG_20210912_010019.jpg

Sunday is mass day for the family. However, since my grandson was still not ready to attend mass we had to go in batches. The first batch was composed of my two daughters, one of whom is the mother of my grandson. They attend the 12 noon mass at our regular parish church. I drive them to church together with my grandson. The second batch is my wife and I where we attend the evening mass. And while the mass is on during the first batch, grandson and gramps spend time at a tennis court just across the church. We would walk or run around the court, sit by the scorer's or umpire's chair, slip under the tennis courts' nets or just sit on the bleachers. I actually love sports and I was also thinking that could be one way to get my grandson interested in tennis. Afterwards we go to our favorite watering hole, 7/11, and have our regular doughnut and Gatorade Big Gulp.

IMG_20210912_005825.jpg

He always loved to run around the court and looked forward to 7/11 when he got tired from all that running around.

IMG_20210912_010139.jpg

However, all these had to stop when COVID-19 took center stage and the city went from lockdown to various levels of quarantine up till this day. I thought I was going to miss our Sunday bonding with my grandson but that wasn't the case, really. You see with the quarantine and all I was forced to stay home and I discovered I had more time to spend with him now that I wasn't working and going out as much during weekdays. Beyond the grim reality of the pandemic it turned out something good actually came out for me and my grandson. Although his training for the US Open will have to be put on hold for the moment.

(All photos are mine.)

Sort:  

Your grandson must be a favorite.
It's is great to be living with everybody!
Families should live that way....
sometimes, hehehe!
Great shadows @gems.and.cookies!

Yup, he's the clear favorite. He's the only grandson I have, yet 😄😄

I have learned from experience that living with family is great. But never with the in-laws. Best for married kids to live apart. Even if it means seeing less often the grandkids 😊

Hehehe...
Wise 😊

He is a bundle of energy that I could not begin to keep up with! Great shadow photos! I'm glad you found these again. Thanks for entering the Shadow Contest.

You're welcome @melinda010100. Now that he's older and bigger I find it harder to keep up with him. He outruns me now when he jogs with me and he's only 5 hahaha. Just realized growing older for him is completely the opposite of growing older for me 😂

5 yes. Yeah, just wait. It only gets harder from here! My youngest grandson is graduating from High School this year and is touring college campuses to decide where he wants to go on to school at next year. Now all I can do is watch and remember when I was that age and had that kind of energy!

It would be an extremely wonderful blessing if I get to see my grandson graduate high school. I'll be considered ancient by then 😂 So very fortunate of you to get to watch him and all your other grandkids at this stage of your life. I just pray I be as fortunate as you 🙏🙏🙏

I would love to be around long enough to see some great grands, My mom is 88 and has 5 great grandchildren. One of them is married and could make her a great great grandmother! Although I don't see that happening soon.
Enjoy each day with your grandson. They grow up far too quickly!

You said it @melinda010100. They do grow up much too quickly. Sometimes when I think about him growing up I already miss him! 🙁

I completely understand. When Andrew walks in and throws his car keys on the table there is still a huge wistfulness for the little boy that used to sit on my lap so that I could read him books. The books are still on the shelf, but the boy has moved on.

Nice shadow hunters entry. There is nothing I love more than spending time with family. My grand children keep me young. Always on the go when they visit us on the farm.
It's nice to hear that despite this covid virus some positivity prevails, enjoy your grandson.

Thanks @farm-mom. You said grand children. How many do you have? I only have one but he is making me feel my age lol. There's so many things he would love me do for him but I just have to say no for my own safety 😂

Yes, I am enjoying him while he still thinks I'm the coolest person in the world.

Thanks for the visit and the upvote. You are very generous. See you around 😊

Hey @gems.and.cookies I have to remind myself to slow down some when I am with the kids. I have six granddaughters and one grandson, quite a happy crew.
I'll be around.😉

Seven grandkids! WOW. Must really be a riot when they're all around. Yes, do slow down a bit when they're around. We're not as flexible and agile as we would like to be 😂

You've got that right, I wish I was as agile as I once was.
Oh, such is life.