Egyptian inspired stuffed peppers and zuchini

DSC_0305.jpg


Hello Hive friends.

Today I'm recreating a dish known as "Mahshi". This is commonly eaten in Egypt. This dish is made by stuffing vegetables, though I am pretty sure that stuffing things is done almost everywhere in the world. It seems that peppers are a popular item for this purpose. Eggplant and zucchini are also popular.

Over 15 years ago, Marc and I went to Egypt on a whim, hoping to thrill ourselves with the ancient pyramids and a culture completely extreme to what we had ever known.

DSC_0156.jpg


We looked forward to adventure and great food. We found that it was easy enough to eat vegetarian food in Egypt. We were pescatarian in those days but we ate mostly vegetarian food.

We landed on New Years eve 2008, in the evening, in the middle of Cairo. Our ride did not show up at the airport. It was supposed to be included with the hostel. We took a taxi and got dropped off in the middle of crowds. The taxi driver had no idea where we wanted to go and neither did we. We were lost. It was exhausting trying to figure out where the hostel was.

After a long while we found it, and settled in. Now hunger was driving us to go to the first restaurant that looked inviting.

We found something close by. The server was dressed in a traditional robe which is a common garment for many people in Egypt. We liked that and were excited that we were having dinner in Egypt.

We were not sure about the menu so we safely ordered falafels and hummus. It was not bad. The falafels and hummus were not as good as at home in Canada.

We found out about a popular restaurant called "Felfela". We were excited to have some good Egyptian traditional food. There was a vegetarian dish of stuffed vegetables, so we ordered it. We were happy to have a nice hot dish while dining in a cozy rustic and ambient environment.

We liked it but it was on the bland side. Our taste experience in Cairo, was nothing to write home about.

We took a trip to Aswan south of Cairo. We were sure we would find tasty food there when we saw all the spices in the spice markets.

2257_61295262641_1883_n.jpg
We took this above photo in a restaurant, on a docked boat, by the river Nile. Great atmosphere but bland food.

DSC_0138.jpg


After finding a package of long sweet peppers for a good price, I decided to stuff them with the intention of making them taste the way I would have wanted them to taste when we ordered them in Cairo, where they came with stuffed zucchini and stuffed eggplant.

DSC_0159.jpg


I hollowed out the peppers after cutting the stem off. I also hollowed out zuccini using a vegetable peeler. At first I thought I would leave them long but I opted for the easier way. I cut them in half.

DSC_0187.jpg


This was the first time I stuffed a smaller zucchini. I have cut a larger one in half before. In order to mimic the veggies that I had in Egypt I used smaller ones. Everything that came in the dish was small and slim.

DSC_0184.jpg


I twirled the peeler around and around scraping out the middle as much as I could leaving a wall of flesh to be cooked. I left around 1/4 inch. It's a matter of preference.

DSC_0192.jpg


A traditional "Masha" would most likely have minced meat in it along with rice and seasonings. I happened to have a good amount of organic textured soy mince which comes in a bag dry. I bought quite a bit when I saw it on special. I could have used lentils but I wanted to use up the soy mince.

I added random amounts of items but I've written down the basic amounts that I used.

Stuffed peppers and zucchini
1 lb peppers
3 small zucchini
The filling
3 cups rice
2 cups soy protein onion
1 onion
2 cups chopped tomato
4 to 5 cloves garlic
2 long hot peppers or to taste
1/2 cup vegetable broth
2 cups chopped fresh mint
2 cups chopped fresh parsley
2 cups chopped fresh dill
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon allspice
Salt to taste
1 half lemon
Oil for frying

The items should be added in amounts that suit individual taste and adjust. These are approximate measurements since I don't follow recipes exactly.

DSC_0209.jpg


The fresh herbs, in my opinion change this stuffed vegetables from the standard stuffed peppers that I have had throughout my life, to a more Mid East taste.

DSC_0233.jpg


I started with cooking the onions and peppers in hot oil until tender.

DSC_0242.jpg


Then I added the garlic and spices on medium heat.

DSC_0250.jpg


I added the soy protein without soaking it, as instructed. I knew it would cook in the liquid from the tomatoes and the broth.

DSC_0252.jpg


After adding the tomatoes I stirred and covered on medium low, letting everything cook together.

DSC_0255.jpg


When the moisture was almost absorbed and tomatoes cooked down, I added the broth.


DSC_0262.jpg


When I cooked the rice, I used a little less water then usual so that the rice would cook further in the moisture of the mixture. It would also cook further later in the vegetables.

DSC_0265.jpg


The herbs were added at the end so as to keep the flavor fresh. I prefer it this way.

DSC_0267.jpg


I am a fan of lemon juice in Middle East dishes. Plus I opted to cook these without tomato sauce, which is what I've done in the past with stuffed peppers. I wanted a little acid. The Egyptian ones were not cooked in sauce from what I remember.

DSC_0275.jpg


After taking the mixture off the stove and cooling a bit, I stuffed the peppers and zucchini any way that I could. It was not easy for me, so I didn't take photos of the mess that was made. I have never stuffed skinny peppers before.

DSC_0283.jpg


I don't have a proper baking dish suitable for such things. A crock pot would have been good. I also didn't want to do it on the stove.

I happened to have a deep aluminum pan so I stood everything upright and poured a little broth to the bottom.


DSC_0289.jpg


I covered with aluminum foil promising myself to check on it in 15 minutes of cooking in a 350F preheated oven. I put it on the middle rack and crossed my fingers.

When I checked them it had been around 20 minutes and the peppers and zucchini were too firm for my liking.

With these vegetables I prefer them either well cooked or raw. Mostly referring to the peppers.

I didn't time it but I'm sure it was at least 40 minutes. It was checked a few times and turned around in the oven.

This is often done on the stove top. I thought the oven would add some extra heat to our apartment, since I'm not going to turn on the heat until clothing won't keep us warm anymore.


DSC_0291.jpg


I served them with some potatoes boiled in broth. I don't usually have rice and potatoes together but somehow this seemed fitting.

DSC_0314.jpg


There was around 2 cups of the mixture leftover which I put in the fridge to add to a soup or eat as is.

DSC_0299.jpg


If this dish would have been flavoured this way when we were in Cairo, I would not have said that everything we ate in Egypt was bland.

I'm sure that there is awesome food in Egypt, but we just didn't find it.

DSC_0310.jpg


It may never be done to have hummus on the side of this dish but I did it and I liked it. It would probably annoy a pro chef to add balsamic glaze to this, but I like it. I do what I want. Shhhh don't tell.

DSC_0303.jpg


Thanks for dropping by and have a good day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Photos taken with a Nikon D7500 and are of my ownership

Sort:  

Here, I have never found long-shaped peppers.

Inspired by Egyptian dishes, I immediately imagined grilled dishes.

However, it's cool that you put rice in your paprika, and it definitely tastes really delicious!

Even here I only see them sometimes and in certain places. They are nice to look at but the bell peppers are really the same taste in my opinion.

Thank you for your visit my friend.

I stuff peppers in a very similar way, but I have never stuffed zucchini. Sounds like a great idea though!

And I also don't serve it like in a restaurant 😂 You served this meal so beautifully! I would definitely order that at a restaurant.

Oh, and I only serve this with tomato sauce as rice is already in the pepper, so I find it strange to have 'another' side dish 😁

I tried to recreate the Egyptian stuffed veg that I had which had no tomato sauce. All of the other times that I've stuffed peppers has been with tomato sauce. This is why I put tomatoes inside. I also used Mid East spices to make it more interesting to my palate. The ones I had in Egypt were under seasoned and bland.

Thank you so much for your nice comment.

Wow! Nice photos! Looking very yummy and colourful. Never had any Egyptian food either! Love to try some without chili! 😂

Thank you. The chilies were not even noticeable. The food we had there was not great. It was not bad either. It was just food. I have a feeling the non vegetarian items would be where the seasonings go.

A totally gourmet meal ♥ What a delight!

Thank you for your kind words!

"Mahshi"

Interesting Egyptian cuisine like its very delicious also photos that invite my appetite continue to fill very delicious like his I dream is eating this dear mother

Yes but this food is made in many places all over the world. It just is spiced or seasoned differently. Thank you my dear.

Cooking dishes like this one should bring back so many memories for you especially since you've been in Egypt before and tasted the real origins! <3

Yes it really does bring back memories, but for the most part, Egypt was not a great experience. It had it's moments.

Wow how wonderful friend, to be in Egypt and replicate a meal of a good walk is to relive those times, those peppers that you have used I get it easily in my country.

I will encourage me to make your recipe, I love the result, the plating invites you to taste it.

Thank you for bringing us a little piece of your trip and this delicious food.

That's interesting that you can get these peppers. They are not the most popular here, which is why I sometimes buy them if I see them.

I'm sure you could make these in an interesting and unique way to suit your taste.

Thank you so much my friend.

Thank you very much to you, my beautiful friend, for always sharing excellent recipes with us.😊🤗

This recipe looks very, very tasty, buon apetitte,,,, njamiii

Many thanks!!!!

What a tasty meal!! I guess it have different tones in the flavors! I love the quality of the pictures, they are very professional!!

You are so kind. Thanks a million for such a lovely comment.

I love stuffed peppers! Yum! 😋

It's one of my favourite ways to eat them. Best wishes.😊

hello, my creative global chef I admire you and your recipe. so nicely you did. It reminds me I make some things like that often in India. I think at last travel I made something but couldn't find photos yet.
Nice to see your recipe thanks for sharing. A hug :)

Oh I would love for you to do this your way. You always give me great ideas with your delicious food. Thank you my friend.
Best wishes.😊💚

I would love to try these stuffed peppers at your table and with every bite travel to Egypt....

I would love to have you at my table my friend. Thank you for the visit.

Beautiful presentation. I am also sure by looking at your spice list that your version will no be bland at all. Now I am hungry but it's almost dinner time here. yeahh. Have a beautiful day 💚

I have to admit, it was better but I don't understand why the spices weren't used over there with spice markets full of spices.

Hope you have a wonderful day and thank you for your lovely words.💚

Your stuffed vegetables sound delicious! I love how you used fresh herbs and lemon juice to give them a Middle Eastern flavor. I'm sure they were even better with the hummus and balsamic glaze on the side. I'm always up for trying new things, so I don't think a pro chef would be too annoyed by your creativity. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

haha thanks. Pro chefs can be really picky and pretentious. I liked it and that's what matters in the end.

Have a great day friend.

Hi, I have always liked stuffed peppers with rice, especially the red ones, but I have not tried stuffed zucchini, it must be delicious, this vegetable is one of my favorites. Thanks for sharing this recipe and for showing us these delicious combinations. Greetings.

Hi, I really liked the stuffed zucchini the best but the peppers are always good too. Thank you for your comment and visit.😊

You always make me laugh, my dear friend. For me, hummus is always a good side 🙈

I almost missed your post; I've been working like crazy. You know what that is like.

Stuffed peppers and zucchinis is wonderful. I don't know why I don't cook this more often. Stuffed eggplants are, perhaps, my favorite. But I guess it depends on what you use to stuff them.

I wish you can go back to Cairo someday and find delicious food, just as good and beautifully presented as your amazing dish today.

Big hug. Stay happy and healthy you and Marc ❤️

I hope you are resting well. I work only four days a week but those days end late so bed is in the morning when people start the noise. I feel like I'm tired all the time.

You know what? I never want to go back to Egypt. It was the worst travel destination ever. Even the pyramids were annoying. The attempt to scam was relentless. I'm not talking about general pan handling. I could tell stories forever about it.

Anyway it's always a pleasure hear from you. I wish you the best. Hugs my lovely friend.❤️