Green Adventure Salad

in Plant Power (Vegan)2 years ago (edited)

This week on Plant based challenge the theme is "make mine green."
(I am editing this right now to tell you that the theme is about soup but I didn't see this so apologies for making a salad. True humiliation but I hope you all have time to participate in the green soup theme.) I went blind at the word soup. This is a topic that inspires us all to incorporate greens into our diet. I know myself, I should have more greens, more often. Some people think that plant based diets are nothing but lettuce. It can be as junky as you want it to be.

DSC_8582.jpg

I just came back from our second camping trip. Like two weeks ago it was only for two nights on our days off of which we thankfully get three of. That time we took our little tent which was a challenge with no mat to lay on. It was still a lot of fun and we made a decision to do it again.

This time we took it to another level and rented a ready tent which seems to be popularly called "glamping". This particular campground doesn't have vehicle access. If you drive to the park you need to leave your car and walk for 45 minutes. We don't have a car.

DSC_8623.jpg

Fortunately we found a better way to get there then last time, when we got Marc's senior parents to drive us and pick us up. We found that a ferry takes you there in 35 minutes.

These are large tents with a mini fridge and kitchen supplies. There's even a dining table inside, not that we would ever use it for anything other then keeping our things on it.

It's popular, even with plantbased camping to bring such foods as hot dogs, and things you grill.

Knowing there was a fridge, I brought salad ingredients. I vowed to eat better then typical camping food. Don't get me wrong, we did grill some veggie dogs.

DSC_8477.jpg

I brought some kale because of how well it keeps but I knew that a raw kale salad would not be super thrilling.

I had brought some green pepper and parsley so as I chopped that up to add. I was making this up as I went along. At the last minute I decided to grill the kale on the campfire that Marc had going strong at this point.

DSC_8467.jpg

Before putting the kale on the grill, I tossed it in a little oil, and added salt and black pepper.

pepper.gif

I wasn't sure how much I wanted to wilt the kale. At first I thought it would be fun to have crispy kale but changed my mind.

ezgif.com-gif-maker (13).gif

I took it off when it was still dark green and wilted.

DSC_8551.jpg

Earlier that day we had taken a boat to the shore. This town is small but we found a large supermarket and bought some spinach. This would be the base of the salad and kept raw.

DSC_8569.jpg

Green Adventure Salad
1 bunch kale
5 or 6 cups baby spinach
1/4 cup toasted walnuts
Sprinkle of toasted sesame seeds
1 chopped green onion
1/2 green pepper chopped
3 tablespoons nutritional yeast

The dressing was simple and light.

Dressing
Juice of a lemon
4 tablespoons cider vinegar
1/8 cup olive oil
Pinch of garlic powder
Pinch of onion powder
Salt and black pepper
Shake of Italian herbs
Splash of agave nectar

DSC_8495.jpg

I tossed the spinach alone in the dressing first.

ezgif.com-gif-maker (14).gif

In order to make this salad even more satisfying, I roasted some walnuts and pumpkin seeds on the propane stove included with the site.

DSC_8470.jpg

I had randomly brought sesame seeds as well so I toasted them up to add. The toasted nuts and seeds would compensate for the bitterness of the kale. I don't really find kale bitter but it isn't the easiest green to bite into as is.

DSC_8475.jpg

After tossing the spinach with the dressing, I topped with the kale, and drizzled with more dressing.

DSC_8581.jpg

I had brought some nutritional yeast with me and sprinkled that on in place of parmesean.

DSC_8587.jpg

We really enjoyed this and vowed to eat our greens more often.

DSC_8592.jpg

It's not everyday for the two of us are surrounded by greenery and eating it as well. Some people around the world have a setting like this all the time. They may take it for granted. I envy them.

I would like to invite @sreypov, @lizelle, @blackberryskunk to join in if there's time.

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

Hahahah. Very funny! You made salad instead of soup! But it looks very yummy!
That’s a very nice camping experience which is good for your ribs! You must be feeling much better now!

Have fun while you can!

I truly truly am feeling better but the mosquito bites are the price I paid haha! Yeah I said to Marc, we have to do what we can before we aren't allowed anymore.😌

Oh! Glad to know you had a speedy recovery. No! You have mosquitoes there too!! Should spray some lemon grass water around and on your skin too!

Yup! Winter is going to be tough. Must make the most of these nice days as much as possible!

It's great to watch you cook, with a delicious salad menu that combines several vegetables that are easy to find.

Thank you for sharing with us @carolynstahl

You are very kind. Thank you.🙏

Thank you! Im gonna try this out and give you a review!

That's great and please do.😊

That looks insanely gorgeous and I bet it tastes great. Fabulous pictures. Marvelous recipe. 🤗❤️💕❤️❤️🤗🤗

Thanks so much but I didn't realize this was about soup. I didn't read it properly. I am extremely ashamed.

Don’t worry. You’ve been ill.
Anyway, it a super great recipe. I love the way you twist things up. 🤗❤️💕❤️❤️🤗

Actually I was not ill I was injured but it didn't stop me from doing what I always do. I have no excuse for such a stupid mistake. I feel like sticking my head in the ground and hiding but I need to keep going. I'm sure everyone was thinking what a dummass I was.

I really thank you for trying to excuse my being an idiot haha.

I'm soooo glad you left the city again and went glamping this time around! I like your gifs, makes me feel like I'm right there camping with you:)
Your food looks delicious as always Carolyn...toasted nuts...yummm!
Thanks for the invite, I'd like to enter, hopefully the closing date is not today.
Have a great day further xxx

Thank you so much keep in mind I didn't read the rules and was just told that it was about soup. I screwed up so if you do it, make soup!!!

LOL, I saw that when reading this week's theme but your story was really nice and the salad looked really good!

Lovely to see you in this post my dear Carolyn! You look so refreshing in your summer top. Your surroundings are so nice to look at, it´s like I am also camping with you! Maybe wild but you have the fridge and that makes it easy to prepare the food. And your Salad Adventure looks delish! I am coming to your dinner!!!

You're always invited for dinner and it would be a pleasure my friend. Thank you for your kind words. I messed up and made a salad for a soup contest. Stupid me.

Thank you my dear. I am coming soon!

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you and apologies for not reading the rule about soup being the contest. I am deeply horrified that I was so careless.

Wait, did you say FOOD? Foodie is in town on #HIVE!

Yum! Your post would look great with the #foodie tag. You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of @FoodiesUnite. We are a tribe for the #Foodie community with a unique approach to all things food and we are here on #HIVE.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Well, at least if something looks appeal it more than often is appealing. And by the looks of it id also eat my greenies everyday if they were as good on the eye

I would be happy to make you a big serving. Eat your greens everyday!

Congratulations @carolynstahl! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @erikasue!
Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war

Thank you so much!

You're welcome @carolynstahl.

BTW, we need your help!
May we ask you to support our proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Your support would be very helpful.
Thank you!

I just found out that I read wrong and this challenge was about soup. Sorry for being so careless folks. I'll read the rules more thoroughly from now on. Hard core embarrassment on my part. Whoops!!!!

Nature provides for us to try to serve the necessities of life that are delicious and healthy, the vegetables can be tasted even though they can't be enjoyed directly, a vegetarian like me knows exactly that this is very good for the body.

Yes it's true. I need to eat more vegetables.

I love the name "Green Adventure Salad" as it sounds so fun! 😁 I love salads! Kale and spinach are a good base for one, too! So glad you were able to get away again and recharge!

Thank you @thekittygirl. Because of this salad I'm craving more salad. I have been a little bad lately haha.😏

Hi @carolynstahl! I see that you have edited, don't worry, anyone can make a mistake, especially these days when time passes so quickly. However, I will tell you that your post is great! I really liked your recipe and how you have detailed it. Really, that camp was an adventure, how cool!

Cooking always involves experimentation, and not all experiments are successful, just like you did with kale, but the end result of that delicious, crunchy salad turned out great.

Thank you for participating in the vegan challenge, greetings, and I hope you have a lot of fun on your next camping trip.

Haha, I'm still feeling like a goof but life goes on. I appreciate your words and your comment all the same.

Next time I'll be careful but anyway this inspired me to get out the greens and now I'm addicted to green stuff and more conscious of keeping the flow of it in my diet thanks to your topic. I saw the word "green" and ran with it before I could see the next word haha.😏

Hahahahahaha, that's great! I'm sure you'll make other great recipes with that inspiration. Have a great Saturday.

This dish looks great and delicious, I loved the way you prepared it, an adventure @carolynstahl

I appreciate that. Thank you!