Malaysian inspired savoury fruit and vegetable salad - Rojak/Rujak

DSC_4002.jpg


Hello folks of the Hive realm. I have finally sat down to finish this post. I was going to do it the other day when I was off work, but the sun came out.
Marc and I bolted to the park and sat for a good hour and a half, before dark clouds spoiled everything. That's okay. At least we felt the warm sun for the first time in 7 months, aside from the odd day when we walked to work or the store. It's ugly and grey again.
Before this I had prepared a salad type of dish . This is inspired by the Malaysian, Indonesian and Indian mixed fruit and/or vegetables salad.

There are so many versions of this throughout Indonesia and Malaysia, that it made my head spin. This gave me license to do it the way I want. It basically resembles a Malaysian fruit "rojak/rujak" The one thing it seems to have in common, is the spicy, sweet, salty and peanutty sauce that is slathered on top. It commonly has shrimp paste in it as well, but I omitted that, since I no longer consume those things.

I know many of you are experts in this area of food, so cut me some slack for being a Canadian explorer of International delights.

Salad items
600g pineapple
200g apple
400g mango
150g chayote
200g cucumber

Extra items
250g potato
350g tofu
80g beansprouts

DSC_3849.jpg


At first I was only going to use fruits, but I noticed that some recipes have proteins and starches added, such as deep fried elements. I thought this would be a good way to bulk it up. I did not deep fry but I did shallow fry some tofu.

DSC_3876.jpg


I splurged on some tropical fruit, which is always a mystery, whether it will be good or not. This is why I avoid fruit most of the year. It just isn't good as an imported item. Actually I do consume fruit in my smoothies but they are frozen.

DSC_3883.jpg


The only mangoes that seemed ripe were the small thin yellow ones that cost a lot. They taste like heaven so it's worth it.

DSC_3884-Trim-ezgif.com-optimize.gif


I added apples that were in the fridge to use them up. I also added an English cucumber which I deseeded, and a chayote which gave a nice crunch.

Chayote and cucumber are usually not considered a fruit, but they are actually a fruit.

DSC_3872.jpg


It seems that the more popular way to cut the items for this salad, is larger, chunkier and more rustic. I like that as well, but I opted for a smaller dice. I wanted the sauce to cover every bite.

DSC_3945.jpg


The sauce is something that many westerners would not understand, as an accompaniment to a fruit salad. In Mexico fruit is most often consumed with lime and chilly. In many parts of Asia it is also a popular way to eat fruit.

This sauce is extra special including more items, particularly peanuts which seems to be the star of the sauce. I happen to love peanuts and anything made from it. Combined with spice, and acid and savoury items, it becomes my dream sauce. I would use this for anything.

Peanut sauce
2 cups peanuts
1/4 cup tamarind paste
2 tablespoon miso paste
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 tablespoon peanut butter
120g onion
30g garlic
15g ginger
1/4 cup raw cane sugar
20 dried chilies or to taste

DSC_3861.jpg


Let's talk hot peppers. I put the amount that I did, but I assure you that the average person that I know here, would not handle it. Of course the amount of heat you put in is a personal thing.

The hot peppers were soaked in hot water for around 30 minutes.

DSC_3886.jpg


The peanuts were already dry roasted but you can use raw peanuts and roast them. I ground up half of them to add to the sauce and roughly ground the rest for a garnish.

DSC_3867.jpg


Saute onions until translucent.

DSC_3892.jpg


Add garlic and the rest of the ingredients.

DSC_3907.jpg


Simmer on low for 10 minutes or so.

DSC_3920.jpg


After simmering set aside to cool for blending.

DSC_3911.jpg


After adding the items to the blender I decided to add a tablespoon of peanut butter to make it more smooth.

DSC_3959.jpg


I added a little water to the blender to blend it more easily.

DSC_3970.jpg


I had seen recipes of this dish that included fried fritters, deep fried tofu, sometimes potatoes and sometimes noodles. Although potatoes and/or noodles seems strange to me to add with a fruit salad, I did add potatoes which I forgot to show. Oh well I think boiling potatoes can be easily imagined. I cubed the potatoes and boiled them.

The tofu was cubed and browned in shallow oil, instead of deep fried, which is more common.

DSC_3950.jpg


Another strange item to put on a fruit salad is bean sprouts. I guess because the dressing is savoury and spicy, it really isn't that strange.

I blanched the sprouts for around 30 seconds.

DSC_3948.jpg


I had seen the odd salad of this sort with an egg that was boiled and cut in half. It seems less popular for the fruit forward versions but I happened to have plant based egg which I decided to add.

DSC_3956.jpg


This makes a scramble or omelette that is quite convincing.

DSC_3973.jpg


I crowned the dish with the egg after mixing a portion of the fruit mixture with the sauce.

DSC_4014.jpg

The amount made could have easily fed 4 people but we had it again the next day.

DSC_3979.jpg


Not mixing the entire thing with the sauce kept it from getting it watery. The juices of the fruits would have mixed with the rest of the ingredients if left in the fridge with the sauce.

DSC_3977.jpg


This was a super way to get the day started. It seemed like a strange combo at first but it tasted like a long lost friend.

Can you believe that I never came across this dish after a week in Kuala lumpur and Bali?

DSC_4011.jpg


Thanks for stopping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Photos taken with a Nikon D7500

Sort:  

The mixed salad of fruits and/or vegetables is very tasty and nutritious. In Venezuela we also make it with olive oil, and if it is olive oil, it is better. I wish you much success, my friend @carolynstahl and I will always be grateful for your valuable visits to my publications.

Thank you for your visit my friend. I will try olive oil sometime, Sending you good wishes.

Olive oil is a good digestive and cleanses the body. I like that you use it a lot, I also recommend coconut oil, which is very medicinal, even taking a teaspoon daily is very healthy. From Venezuela, I will always be grateful for your visits to my publications. Hugs to you and the family.

wow.. Rojak is one of my favorite, especially fruit Rojak. Thank you my dear @carolynstahl for your delicious recipe. I am sure yours is yummy! :)))

Thank you for your approval. I love this stuff!

Dear friend, we miss you very much, I needed your excellent recipes, the wait was worth it because this one is excellent 😍

Awww what a wonderful thing to read before going to work. Warms my heart. Thank you my friend.

Happy and beautiful day dear friend 😊🤗🤗✨

What a rich salad!!

Thank you for your kind comment.

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Oh my! This is so tempting my friend. What a combination of fruits for a salad. Excellent recipe for healthy living 🥗.

Thank you beautiful 😍 for this wonderful yummy delight. So inspiring.
Sending love and hug ❤️🤗.

Your lovely compliments are so appreciated my friend! ❤️

Always a pleasure beautiful 😻. Enjoy your weekend. Hug 🤗.

I know this recipe and Indonesia also has it, it's even very fresh. I always ask my wife to make it, especially if our mango tree bears fruit. fresh with peanut sauce poured over vegetables👍

Oh wow a mango tree would be a dream to have. I could live on peanut sauce haha. I hope you have some soon.😊

Hello friend, how are you? I could I have some of your food right now.

Hello my friend. I hope you are well. I wish I could share. 😊

Hello @carolynstahl
It's good that the sun has risen and you went to the park to enjoy
Even a girl like me would sit at the table when she saw the presentation of the dishes, it looks really exquisite.

I would love to have a girl like you at the table. Thank you my friend.😊

Ohhhh amazing 🩷

Wow! Very yummy combinations of fruits and tasty sauce. Love to have a bottle of this sauce!