Plant based grilling- picnic in Montreal

DSC_8573.jpg

We are getting to the end of summer so now is the time to grab a day with good weather and do something outside. Last week we stuffed our wagon with our barbecue and supplies and went to the park nearby.

It feels sad to say goodbye to the summer. I am reminded of the old trauma from childhood of knowing I would have to go back to the child prison, they call "school". I still have nightmares about it.

DSC_8355.jpg

We choose to walk through the alleys where possible, to avoid people that line the sidewalks. It's a little tough to wheel a wagon in the downtown streets, although many people do it.

I feel sad looking at Marc pull the wagon like a slave. Oh well someone has to do it. It's not heavy.

DSC_8362.JPG

We finally got to the park and realized that it was "tam tam" when the drum circle takes place. The park is transformed into a mini Woodstock and everyone is everywhere getting crazy.

DSC_8486.jpg

Fortunately at the edge of the park away from the percussionists, we got lucky as a table became free. We were a good distance from the group next to us, but Marc still made us move our table farther away. We like personal space.

DSC_8379.jpg

I had brought a few items from the fridge and decided to do all the prep outside at the park. The main course was tofu.

DSC_8424.jpg

Some think, that people that don't eat animal products/ vegans, eat nothing but tofu and avocado toast. Well that's not entirely true. However in the case of this barbecue we had put tofu on the grill.

I know some people that hate tofu and hate the people that eat it. I can't help it, I liked it long before I stopped eating animal products. Could it be my Asian genes? Perhaps. Marc comes from a German background, having grown up only eating meat and potatoes. He likes tofu as much as I do.

DSC_8426.jpg

The key is to marinate the tofu for a while which is what I did. I wasn't sure at the beginning what I would do. I brought some peanut butter with me so I thought a peanut sauce would be good.

DSC_8380.jpg

Marinade
1 cup soy sauce
Juice of one lime
3 tablespoons of vinegar
1 tablespoon agave
2 cloves garlic minced
1 inch ginger minced
3 tablespoons peanut butter

DSC_8387.jpg

The peanut butter that I used was infused with chili so it had a spice kick.

DSC_8388.jpg

I am one of few people that brings a whisk with me to a city park picnic. I was prepared.

DSC_8409.jpg

Actually I was not prepared the way I had planned. I forgot the skewers. My plan was to make skewered tofu and veggies. I just put slices on the grill in larger pieces.

DSC_8429.jpg

Instead of the original plan to cube and skewer, I made the tofu into slabs, or steaks or fillets.

DSC_8446.jpg

I had a yellow zucchini which I was going to cube but without the skewers I just cut them in half and put them on the grill this way.

DSC_8449.jpg

I found that the yellow zucchini from the organic market, was not as moist as the green ones. That was okay by me. It just had to come off the grill sooner.

DSC_8453.jpg

Red and green peppers would have been cubed as well but I kept them in larger pieces.

DSC_8456.jpg

I brought along some cremini mushrooms and cherry tomatoes which were going to be skewered. This plan changed as well. I stuffed the cherry tomatoes with the mushrooms. That was Marc's idea. That's why they look silly.

DSC_8469.jpg

I used to make skewered veggies and meat in a commercial kitchen and we always marinated everything before we grilled it including the vegetables.

DSC_8463.jpg

The marinade was made at the park with items that I had brought.

Marinade for veggies
1 cup olive oil
Juice of 1 lemon
Fresh thyme and oregano 1 or 2 tablespoons each chopped
2 cloves minced garlic
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
Salt and black pepper to taste

The veggies were drizzled with the marinade and left to sit for a while.

DSC_8473.jpg

For some reason I brought all of some chilies that I had in the fridge. What would I do with them? Put them on the grill straight up.

DSC_8481.jpg

Our barbecue is one of out best purchases ever. It folds up flat and takes little space. When it's folded you can carry it like a brief case.

DSC_8530.jpg

After the food was prepped and covered with marinade, we sat to enjoy the rest of the sun. It was starting to set.

DSC_8506.jpg

The whole time the sound of many percussion instruments was pounding and echoing on the homes and bounces off everything around. It felt like there was an ancient ceremony in the distance and if we get too close we may end up in a sacrificial situation.

DSC_8569.jpg

When the coals were hot and white, we laid everything on the grill.

DSC_8558.jpg

Everything was flipped except for the mushrooms which surprisingly cooked well and was a good little vessel for the tomatoes.

DSC_8560.jpg

Earlier I had cooked some mini potatoes that I had splurged on. They cook fast but I could have just cut some larger ones. This was a convenient treat.

DSC_8525.jpg

I had brought some vegan frankfurters that are so good they're addictive. We try not to consume too many of them. I wanted to experience them on the grill but they don't have the fat of the regular meat ones so they can't be on too long.

We sat by the barbecue and picked at the stuff on the grill without sitting at the table and having full plates. It got too dark to take photos of a plate.

I saved some leftovers for the next day for brunch.

DSC_8571.jpg

There wasn't much left but it was enough.

DSC_8605.jpg

The leftover tofu marinade was saved and heated then poured onto the tofu.

DSC_8576.jpg

I made a mistake and bit into one of these chili peppers. It seems when they are cooked whole they can bite you back.

DSC_8585.jpg

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Photos taken with a Nikon D7500 and are of my ownership

Sort:  

So nice to be in the park with your set of barbecues! That grilled tofu looks yummy!
The park is still very green and pleasant. That small wagon seemed very handy!

Wow you're still awake. You're like me up at these hours.

Yeah I wish I could go again soon but today we have to get our butts to see the old folks across town. Boring!!!!😄

https://leofinance.io/threads/omarrojas/re-leothreads-7blvtjht
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( omarrojas ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Thank you very much.

Taking advantage of the end of summer to prepare meals outdoors is a good idea, before winter or cold take over. My dear @carolynstahl your barbecue food looks very exquisite, I hope you taste it very well. I will always wish you success from Venezuela, winter began here but with great heat. Hugs my friend.

I wish I could have a winter with heat haha. Thank you for your kind words my friend. It's always a pleasure.

You had such great time preparing this meal.

Tks for sharing your marinate recipe.
I Always like to include vegs on my bbq

Thank you. Things are always special when they are barbecued. 😊

Agree! Smokey tasty is awesome

!luv

What a beautiful and irresistible barbecue! I'm happy you can enjoy the last days of summer even with the percussion in the background. The park looks lovely and you two look happy.

I loved the child prison, ha ha ha. But now I struggle not to the office. I'd love to get paid for reading, talking long walks in beautiful places, meeting interesting people, watching good movies, and meditating by the sea...

Marc has brilliant ideas, ha ha. The mushrooms stuffed with the cherry tomatoes look so delicious; I don't think they look silly at all. Let's say they look cute, like tomato heads with mushroom hats on.

Tofu is nice, by the way. I'd wish I could find all the varieties here so I could try your recipes. This one with spicy peanut butter strongly called my attention. I need to try that immediately!

Happy rest ofthe summer, my dear friend! 🖤

Why don't they just pay us to do all of those things you mention. I would like to get paid to lay in a hammock haha.

Okay I'll give the mushrooms a "cute".

We are getting a heat wave for the fist time this summer. I will have to try and catch some of it while I have days off.

Thanks for understanding my sense of humour. It doesn't always go well.

Have a great day my friend💚

The place they visited looks great, it's great that they got a free table and they were able to set up to make this great barbecue. I appreciate dear friend @carolynstahl that you shared the recipe and the ingredients
beautiful photos, thank you very much for showing us
happy start to the week

Thank you my friend. We have very nice parks here in the city but in winter they are not useful anymore except for people that like the snow haha.

Have a wonderful week.

Hi, I am very glad to see you both having a good time at the park picnic. very nicely done dear friend.
I am not a tofu lover but when I saw your grilled tofu I felt like to have it. Very nice as always a perfect chef. Hugs to you both 💖😊

I understand why some people don't like it. Some people love it haha.

I appreciate your visit my friend.💚😊

What a great meal for a picnic, good ingredients and the result looks even better.

I really appreciate that. Thank you.😊

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Vote for our witness @sagarkothari88

Thank you very much.

I'm a massive fan of tofu yet Jamie hates it. I haven't had a bbq for ages - might have to do one asthe weather warms up. I can taste the chargrilled peppers now - SO good.

Yay we got 1 for the tofu!!!

I think it's something that has to be understood hahah.

Again, my mother remembered me to go to the kitchen with my mother's recipe

It's really deliciously decorated in your garden amazing @carolynstahl

Thank you my dear. Have a great day.😊

Thank you very much back, I hope you are always healthy there dear mother 🥰

Wow, so delicious plantbased recipes. Your presentation is always good. Your all dishes were so tasty and yummy.Thanks for sharing friend

Thank you very much my friend. I appreciate your kind words.😊

That is a lovely spread. Let's hope we have some more warm days ahead. I think wrapping some potatoes in foil and putting between the coals is one of my favourite BBQ foods. I like potato and gherkin salad too, I didn't eat any tofu though.(at a bbq). Great to see Marc out and about with his Peaky Blinders cap on. I also enjoy pulling the Bollerwagen, it is so practical.

Tofu is really good on the grill actually but yeah potatoes in foil is great. Now I need to do that since you mentioned it.

We didn't know the name of the cap. I love it. A man dragging a Bollerwagen wearing a Peaky Blinders cap haha.

brings a whisk with me to a city park picnic

😍

Haha. It was the first time.😊

Beautiful moments while breathing fresh air accompanied by grilled dishes!

I am hungry!!!
They are very tempting! It cannot be denied, grilled dishes are indeed one of my favorite foods.

You probably can grill more there then we here. You are lucky. The flavor of fire cooked foods is always good.

Thank you for your visit my friend.

Wao this is simple and delicious @carolynstahl

Grilling is so simple and makes everything fun to eat. Thank you for your visit.

If there is any meal I had like to taste on this summer with you is the tofu, I can't help but imagine how it will taste like😊
You got amazing recipe and ingredients. Thankyou for sharing this

Oh how nice of you to say. I would gladly share.😊

Hi @carolynstahl, the vegan sausages look good, nothing like setting up an outdoor grill and watching the scenery enjoying delicious food.

Cheers!

Yeah we don't do this often enough because summer is so short but we should try more often.

The vegan sausages are truly the best but I think this brand is only found in Canada.

Thanks for your visit!!

I read this while traveling yesterday, I couldn't comment on it then.
Sounds like a great picnic except for the noise around.
Grilled tofu and chilies sound like fun. I grill paneer since I am not a big fan of tofu.
The next time I do this I will grill some chilies with it, I think the hubs would love that.
The mushroom with the tomatoes looks like dessert.
I am glad you enjoyed your picnic as you celebrated summer!
Lovely images too!

Oh hello @sofs-su. It is always nice to be outdoors instead of our dingy apartment. Soon it will be too cold.

Grilling chillies really gives it a nice smoky flavor but they were even too hot for me when I bit into it haha.

Thank you so much for your kind words and visit.

You are so welcome @carolynstahl
Enjoy the sun as much as you can.
Chilies are a part of our staples, I guess the hubs would love it.
Have a beautiful day!!

Have you tried Waves in Ecency App yet?! You could post one photo! It’s a bit like twitter! Try it out!

I'll check it.

Hope you have a go at this new feature.

t sounds like you had a great time, despite the loud music from the drum circle.

I love the idea of marinating the tofu in peanut butter sauce. That sounds delicious and would definitely help to give the tofu more flavor. I'm also a fan of your idea to stuff the cherry tomatoes with mushrooms. That's such a creative way to use up both ingredients.

The photos are incredible too!

Yeah marinating makes tofu better but for tofu haters it wouldn't help haha.

Thanks for your visit and nice comment.