You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cajun spiced tempeh with spicy avocado cream

It's funny because I have nightmares of working at the company, for various reasons including political. I just know that they know what they're doing, when it comes to the manufacturing of tempeh.

I have to disagree with the millionaire theory. I assume you are not a millionaire because you said that. I have seen countless beautiful plant based dishes that you have created. You have also access to fresh things that we get imported. The best thing to eat for vegans are the cheapest things, like beans and rice. I am not suggesting that you go vegan. It's not my thing to do that. I'm just referring to your comment which is a very popular theory.

Tempeh is something that can be made easily if you can get your hands on spores/ tempeh starter, in a hot climate, ideally 30 C and humid. I know that tempeh spores/starter can be purchase online. I have also heard that some people use crumbled raw tempeh to add to the cooked soybeans and the existing spores in that tempeh will ferment it. I haven't tried it because it may fail in this climate without an incubator. In Indonesia it's wrapped in banana leaves.

I appreciate your comment my friend and hope you can try it someday. ❤️😊

Sort:  

Yes, there are many myths.

Beans and rice are cheap here, but fish is a lot cheaper, for example. Believe it or not, fresh vegetables are not cheap here, and we also get a lot of imported foods thanks of our failed economy--long story. Anyway, at the moment, with two jobs and etc., I have little time (and energy), but I try to make vegetable dishes everyday, vegetable milks... Little by little, lifestyle changes for the better if you put your mind to it.

Thanks so much for the tip on tempeh. I'll look into it ❤️

I know you guys have been put through the economic grinder. It's so sad. How tragic that you have to get so many imported fresh items. The people of your country are some of the strongest with the warmest hearts in the world from my experience on Hive. I hope sometime things can turn around and you can forget at least one of your jobs. I am tired with just one. Thank goodness for your talent in the kitchen that you can make some things from scratch.

I'm going to attempt bread soon inspired by your method. Crossing my fingers.😊